[OFFICIAL] 小娘惹之翡翠山 Emerald Hill - The Little Nyonya Story, Debuts 19 March 2025, Every Mon - Fri, Channel 8, mewatch & Netflix

flowerpalms

As for why I brought up Sheryl Ang and her fans extreme behaviour here is to let those fans whom I presume read edmw know that their violent threats are exposed on a public platform like this, to urge them to put a stop to their actions. It has been going on for months and their obsession is seriously abit... It was also the case with Gini Chang last time but not as extreme although some also sent death threats (although more like just cursing) to Chantalle and Xubin when gini lost the best cp award to them at SA2023.

With their horrific acts exposed on public platforms where every1 can see, they will most likely stop what they're doing. If no one talks about their acts, it will just keep going on and it will likely get worse until someone actually gets hurt, or the victims of the threats get mata involvement. I can tell they don't actually have intent of hurting anyone and are just desperate to see their idol succeed.

As for Sheryl Ang new drama, let's put an end to the convo here. I'll continue talking about it when the thread for that drama is ready. Right now just focus on this show first.

Speaking of Jesseca crying scene, deleting her scene literally make it v wasted. Jesseca would be like: So I cry so much for nothing uh.
Whatever they film , director cut or not only editing time will know. Is also a very difficult decision for the director as she know that this scene is important to the story. As much as she want to keep it i think alrdy tried best.

Cowboypp3

Whatever they film , director cut or not only editing time will know. Is also a very difficult decision for the director as she know that this scene is important to the story. As much as she want to keep it i think alrdy tried best.
Really unfair for Jesseca. Her acting is better than the others.

Cowboypp3

Tbh older artistes are much better than the younger ones. Even if not famous they also won't take to heart, their fans also very 随性.

Unlike the new gen of artistes, act for 5 years can't get famous than either they threaten upper management or their fans send death threats to upper management. Ayden case more worse, act for 2 years can't get nominated alr kao pei kao bu.

Shaun Chen act for like only 13 years than finally got some recognition. Jesseca also not favoured by upper management but never see their fans go threaten to disfigure or kill ppl. They also never kao bei kao bu.

Tbh older artistes are much better than the younger ones. Even if not famous they also won't take to heart, their fans also very 随性.

Unlike the new gen of artistes, act for 5 years can't get famous than either they threaten upper management or their fans send death threats to upper management. Ayden case more worse, act for 2 years can't get nominated alr kao pei kao bu.

Shaun Chen act for like only 13 years than finally got some recognition. Jesseca also not favoured by upper management but never see their fans go threaten to disfigure or kill ppl. They also never kao bei kao bu.
Brandon Wong wait 27 years. He and Christopher Lee both from same Star Search.

PrinceY

Netflix release is same as mewatch prime. Just that now it is on Netflix

Mewatch prime is the same as any other new drama. Even locals have to pay to watch in advance

You know that you can watch on mewatch one week's worth of episode every Monday for free right?
What era liao still wanting TV viewers get to see the show first.
Many people are already used to seeing shows streaming online instead of waiting for it to be screened on a fixed time on TV.
The move to show online and on Netflix first is to capture these audiences to see the show any time at their convenience.
If they get 100 Netflix subscribers to see the show and lose you as 1 audience , it is still good for them.
I see.. Maybe i too long never watch local dramas liao.. Yes surely there could be many of such subscribers and its a business model that works and streaming is a huge business nowadays.. Of course they are not running a charity, but i still see this as money grabbing (same day or same time isnt too much to ask for really), but yes which business doesnt money grab and who will say no to more money..

But at this rate they will just get worst and worst as time goes (doesnt help that they are monopoly in SG, like it or not they will be here and govt will likely bail them out even if they fail especially with no new entrants to replace them, cannot be SG totally no Local TV right) coming up with more patterns like the introduction of mewatch prime when the start of mewatch or rather toggle was just a medium for ppl to watch reruns online, another mode to catch the drama after its released or catch up when they missed a episode..

So poor viewers will eventually be the one to suffer regardless u are paying or watching for free.. Maybe next time will introduce mewatch vip/platinum/diamond where u need to pay even more and to get a earlier release or maybe not even necessarily earlier than current 1 week, could be a simple downgrade of the current tier to maybe 3 days advance and the new tier with the same 1 week in advance but require u to pay more (eg. reference to china online streaming sites, figures above are just examples pluck from air..)

Of course they couldnt care less about me tuning in or not and im a minority maybe even lower than the votes that will result in me forfeiting deposit for running an election.. and nobody forcing me to subscribe to watch or must be the first one or watch at the earliest possible..

Just me feeling sad..

Cowboypp3

An An grow up become Zhou Hongyu, become Feng jie daughter. One time while she running away then feng jie's man and majie (acted by Chen Huihui, can't remember char name) go chase her down the streets. Then Zuye saw it and try to save Hongyu until Bai Ah Li came to stop him. Than Zuye call mata arrest all of them including Bai Ah Li. But later at mata station all kena proven innocent cos when mata ask Hongyu if she kena bullied she Just shake her head and never say anything. Then Bai Ah Li go drink kopi with mata. After their innocence proven, Bai Ah Li ask Zuye bow down to apologise to him.

flowerpalms

An An grow up become Zhou Hongyu, become Feng jie daughter. One time while she running away then feng jie's man and majie (acted by Chen Huihui, can't remember char name) go chase her down the streets. Then Zuye saw it and try to save Hongyu until Bai Ah Li came to stop him. Than Zuye call mata arrest all of them including Bai Ah Li. But later at mata station all kena proven innocent cos when mata ask Hongyu if she kena bullied she Just shake her head and never say anything. Then Bai Ah Li go drink kopi with mata. After their innocence proven, Bai Ah Li ask Zuye bow down to apologise to him.
is An Ya not An An

flowerpalms

I see.. Maybe i too long never watch local dramas liao.. Yes surely there could be many of such subscribers and its a business model that works and streaming is a huge business nowadays.. Of course they are not running a charity, but i still see this as money grabbing (same day or same time isnt too much to ask for really), but yes which business doesnt money grab and who will say no to more money..

But at this rate they will just get worst and worst as time goes (doesnt help that they are monopoly in SG, like it or not they will be here and govt will likely bail them out even if they fail especially with no new entrants to replace them, cannot be SG totally no Local TV right) coming up with more patterns like the introduction of mewatch prime when the start of mewatch or rather toggle was just a medium for ppl to watch reruns online, another mode to catch the drama after its released or catch up when they missed a episode..

So poor viewers will eventually be the one to suffer regardless u are paying or watching for free.. Maybe next time will introduce mewatch vip/platinum/diamond where u need to pay even more and to get a earlier release or maybe not even necessarily earlier than current 1 week, could be a simple downgrade of the current tier to maybe 3 days advance and the new tier with the same 1 week in advance but require u to pay more (eg. reference to china online streaming sites, figures above are just examples pluck from air..)

Of course they couldnt care less about me tuning in or not and im a minority maybe even lower than the votes that will result in me forfeiting deposit for running an election.. and nobody forcing me to subscribe to watch or must be the first one or watch at the earliest possible..

Just me feeling sad..
Then you can go watch tonight on tv if not yet

beast78

As for why I brought up Sheryl Ang and her fans extreme behaviour here is to let those fans whom I presume read edmw know that their violent threats are exposed on a public platform like this, to urge them to put a stop to their actions. It has been going on for months and their obsession is seriously abit... It was also the case with Gini Chang last time but not as extreme although some also sent death threats (although more like just cursing) to Chantalle and Xubin when gini lost the best cp award to them at SA2023.

With their horrific acts exposed on public platforms where every1 can see, they will most likely stop what they're doing. If no one talks about their acts, it will just keep going on and it will likely get worse until someone actually gets hurt, or the victims of the threats get mata involvement. I can tell they don't actually have intent of hurting anyone and are just desperate to see their idol succeed.

As for Sheryl Ang new drama, let's put an end to the convo here. I'll continue talking about it when the thread for that drama is ready. Right now just focus on this show first.

Speaking of Jesseca crying scene, deleting her scene literally make it v wasted. Jesseca would be like: So I cry so much for nothing uh.
Thanks for your clarification.
I can't speak for the rest obviously, but I am not interested in reading about what the crazy fans do.
I am sure Mediacorp management doesn't care either. They will just push whomever they want to push.

beast78

It won't be forgotten. Just that the other show could get more talk when it airs in May.

Anyway, can anyone answer, is Romeo lead or supporting actor in this show?
Does it matter he lead or supporting? The casual audience only sees the show as it is.
If it concerns Star Awards nomination, it doesn't matter what we think is lead or supporting. The management decides it.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.