jogging and motivation thread

xllms

Interesting........ never came across this before so dont know if it is true or not, but the pure runners here esp those without strength training can try doing the exercise (something like a 1/4 partial rep modified pistol squat....but maybe it is just an arbitary exercise lah lol)
I think esp relevant for those over age 50......think majority of youngsters shd be able to still squat rather deep and return up.
@Jeremy1 @Ender (y)
@xllms maybe can try as well

Talk about running as well.

I timed it with regards to running in the 2nd vid (@ 1:05 mark), but she also talked about Creatine / strength earlier part of the podcast. (@59 min mark)

Front part of the vid showing the exercise

Timestamped to the talk about running

piston squats too much for my ankle, now doing normal squats now. Body still getting used to it cos can feel the effects on my run, eg. my run a day after my squats, not enough energy. haven't recover yet 😂

WussRedXLi

piston squats too much for my ankle, now doing normal squats now. Body still getting used to it cos can feel the effects on my run, eg. my run a day after my squats, not enough energy. haven't recover yet 😂

Yeah a full and clean pistol squat can be considered pretty advanced (calisthenics) and needs to be specifically trained, pretty hard on the 2 leg joints. For me i can't unassisted do is coz more of mobility and stability not enough, the brain/neuro pathways and maybe some stuff like neuro speed aspect needs to be trained. Youtube has some training vids like using resistance bands to help etc.

I can only do if i stand at the doorway and use my hands to laterally assist....but still it is probably a more helpful way with more gains to train stability than just the typical standing on 1 leg as long as possible (that one also called the "old man test" predictor for death i think)

If an elderly can even do a half pistol squat (or just call it a half single leg squat, dont have to be pistol stance), basically he/she literally no fall risk ba, and set up for at least 20 years more "no fall risk when slightly toppled". (y) :D
Speaking from experience from my mid 90s grandma as we saw her fell on the CCTV playback as she got slightly unbalanced and wanted to reach for something for leverage to balance back but missed. Pelvis broken and needed surgery, heng successful...coz risk of failure pretty high.

WussRedXLi

Oh one more eg, my office cleaning / pantry lady. Only like iirc 12 or 13 years older than me and need to use both hands to support when standing up from squatting down coz she needed to plug in the power plug for the vacuum cleaner as she goes around plugging and unplugging from various sockets coz the power cable is only like 15 metres length.
I always help her to plug and unplug whenever i am around. But she has great difficulty and isnt a stable action at all even with 2 hands assistance, i think the strength and stability muscles all not there already be it lower body or upper body.

dreamaurora

honestly injured still push is just siao
I could not understand this mind over body mindset.

Nowadays I just want to enjoy my running sessions, if I become faster that is a bonus. Why would I want my body to feel miserable just to chase some PB?

That being said, I hope by end of this year I do hope to shave around 15-20 minutes off my last marathon timing. But if I don't manage to achieve it, it's ok.

WussRedXLi

Got interested in this video, so I decide to use Grok 3.0 to analyze and see what it think of this video and any recommendation. It's obvious his training load is higher than typical Kenya runners and without the support network of professional coaches and medical sport specialist.

Grok think it's unsustainable. Need recoveries and such. Basically that's why Elite level always follows a periodize model of training. Not every weeks need to peak.

From Grok3.0
Summary:
In the YouTube video titled "I Ran 30km a Day for 2 Years... Until DISASTER Struck!" by Jake from Ran To Japan, the narrator recounts his experience of running 30km daily for two years, achieving a personal best (PB) of 2:14 at the Tokyo Marathon. His philosophy of pushing through pain as an injury prevention method worked until he suffered a significant knee injury post-marathon. Despite his usual resilience to minor aches, the knee pain persisted and worsened, forcing him to take rare rest days and eventually acknowledge a patella injury. The video details his struggle, initial recovery attempts, and shift to a rehab-focused routine. It also includes a lighthearted segment where his family reviews Japanese cuisine, and Jake reflects on the Japanese running scene, spotlighting semi-pro runner Tsubasa Ichiyama.
Key Points:
  1. Running Philosophy: Jake credits his success (e.g., back-to-back 1,000km months and a 2:14 Tokyo Marathon PB) to a mindset of running through pain, avoiding rest days, and maintaining high mileage.
  2. Injury Onset: Post-Tokyo Marathon, he experienced severe knee pain under the kneecap, unlike his usual post-race soreness, which didn’t resolve within days as expected.
  3. Failed Recovery Attempts: Initial attempts to run through the injury (e.g., hobbling 8-12km runs) worsened the knee, and even a 20km "easy" run left him limping and unable to walk normally.
  4. Diagnosis and Cause: Jake suspects a patella injury, linking it to quad weakness and marathon factors like downhill sections, high-stack Adidas Pro 4 shoes, and poor form in the race’s final stages.
  5. Rehab Plan: Unable to run, he pivots to a rehab program with weighted squats, wall sits, and explosive exercises using rice bags and a slant device to strengthen his quads and glutes.
  6. Japanese Running Scene: He highlights Tsubasa Ichiyama’s 2:06 Tokyo Marathon time as a semi-pro runner working four days a week, contrasting this with Western pros and teasing a deeper dive in future videos.
  7. Personal Reflection: Jake sees the injury as a narrative setback, promising a comeback story while adapting content to explore running culture during recovery.
Conclusion:
Jake’s two-year streak of running 30km daily without significant injury ends with a patella injury after the Tokyo Marathon, challenging his "push through pain" philosophy. Forced to rest and rehab, he remains determined to return stronger, using the setback as motivation and content inspiration. He plans to document his recovery and shift focus to the Japanese running scene, maintaining optimism with his motto, "Train Harder, Not Smarter!" despite the uncertainty of his return to full running capacity.

What do you think of his training? Is it a recipe for disaster?

Jake’s training approach—running 30km daily for two years without rest days, pushing through pain, and logging 250km weeks—demonstrates remarkable resilience and discipline, but it’s also a high-risk strategy that likely contributed to his eventual injury. Here’s an analysis of his method and why it could indeed be a recipe for disaster, balanced with what worked for him:

Strengths of His Training:
  1. Consistency and Adaptation: Jake’s ability to maintain such high mileage (1,000km months) and achieve a 2:14 marathon PB shows his body adapted to extreme demands over time. This aligns with the principle of progressive overload, where gradual increases in volume can build endurance and toughness.
  2. Mental Fortitude: His "injuries are a mindset" philosophy reflects a strong psychological edge, allowing him to push past minor discomforts that might sideline others. This mental resilience is a key asset for ultra-endurance athletes.
  3. Strength Work: He mentions spending 10 hours weekly on strength and conditioning (S&C), plyometrics, and core exercises, which likely bolstered his durability and helped him avoid injuries for two years despite the mileage.
Risks and Flaws:
  1. Lack of Recovery: Running 30km daily without rest days defies conventional sports science, which emphasizes recovery as critical for muscle repair, glycogen replenishment, and injury prevention. Even elite marathoners typically take rest or low-impact days to avoid overtraining. Jake’s rare rest days (a "handful" in two years) suggest he was constantly in a state of physical stress, increasing cumulative wear on joints and tissues.
  2. Ignoring Pain Signals: Pushing through "niggles, aches, and pains" might work for minor issues, but it risks masking serious problems. His patella injury likely developed from unaddressed stress, exacerbated by the Tokyo Marathon’s downhill sections and his compromised form late in the race. Pain is a warning system—dismissing it entirely can lead to catastrophic breakdown, as it did here.
  3. Volume Over Balance: Averaging 20 hours of running weekly (plus 10 hours of S&C) leaves little room for cross-training or flexibility work, which could mitigate overuse injuries. His self-described "quad-heavy" running style and weak glutes/hips (noted from prior hip surgery) indicate imbalances that high mileage alone can’t fix—and may worsen.
  4. Shoe and Form Factors: Switching to the Adidas Pro 4 with a lower heel drop, adding heel cups, and running downhill in Tokyo likely shifted stress to his knees. Without adjusting volume or technique to accommodate these changes, he amplified injury risk.
Is It a Recipe for Disaster?
Yes, for most people—and ultimately, even for Jake. While his approach yielded impressive results (a 2:14 marathon is elite-level), it’s unsustainable long-term without exceptional genetics, meticulous body maintenance, or luck. The human body isn’t designed for relentless pounding without adequate rest; joints like the knees and connective tissues degrade under constant stress. His patella injury, emerging after two years of this regimen, suggests he hit a breaking point where adaptation couldn’t keep pace with damage. Studies on overuse injuries in runners (e.g., from the British Journal of Sports Medicine) show that excessive mileage and insufficient recovery are primary predictors of conditions like patellar tendinopathy or stress fractures—exactly what Jake encountered.
That said, his disaster wasn’t inevitable from day one. His S&C likely delayed the tipping point, and his gradual buildup over years built a rare tolerance. For him, the "recipe" worked until it didn’t—Tokyo’s unique demands (downhills, race intensity) and his refusal to back off post-race were the final ingredients that turned risk into reality.

Alternative Perspective:
A smarter approach might blend his intensity with strategic rest (e.g., one rest day weekly), active recovery (cycling or swimming), and earlier intervention for pain. Elite runners like Eliud Kipchoge balance high mileage (often 200km/week) with rest days and a team monitoring their health. Jake’s "Train Harder, Not Smarter" ethos is inspiring but overlooks the value of working with the body’s limits, not just against them.
In short, his training was a tightrope walk—impressive until the fall. For most, it’s a recipe for disaster far sooner; for Jake, it was a delayed but predictable crash. His comeback will depend on adapting, not just doubling down.

Yea....also i think he also has this mantra regarding "pushing through pain/injury" until it gets better....other than his train harder not smarter which i really believe is just a joke that he often uses for youtube video "drama" ba, youtube needs to be a bit drama sometimes one. Used to work for him (maybe coz relatively young) until it finally popped.

But i think while the injury seems relatively serious, it should not be permanent since it is his first real injury and he is young, so shd be able to recovery fully in a few months.

Even for kelvin kiptum (280km to over 300km weeks) his coach said it is not sustainable after a few yrs, but worth it for kelvin coz aiming for sub 2....which is fine of coz since going for once in a lifetime record.

WussRedXLi

That being said, I hope by end of this year I do hope to shave around 15-20 minutes off my last marathon timing. But if I don't manage to achieve it, it's ok.

I think for those esp over 40 liao, got more time to spare (or best if kids or maybe even wife can tag along), can aim for the next PB (eg 5k shave 30s to 1 min off) but not have any set time to achieve it, as in if this year cannot then next year lor.
After all, it is possible to do this even till 70s even 80s, having something to aim for keeps it going.

xllms

Yeah a full and clean pistol squat can be considered pretty advanced (calisthenics) and needs to be specifically trained, pretty hard on the 2 leg joints. For me i can't unassisted do is coz more of mobility and stability not enough, the brain/neuro pathways and maybe some stuff like neuro speed aspect needs to be trained. Youtube has some training vids like using resistance bands to help etc.

I can only do if i stand at the doorway and use my hands to laterally assist....but still it is probably a more helpful way with more gains to train stability than just the typical standing on 1 leg as long as possible (that one also called the "old man test" predictor for death i think)

If an elderly can even do a half pistol squat (or just call it a half single leg squat, dont have to be pistol stance), basically he/she literally no fall risk ba, and set up for at least 20 years more "no fall risk when slightly toppled". (y) :D
Speaking from experience from my mid 90s grandma as we saw her fell on the CCTV playback as she got slightly unbalanced and wanted to reach for something for leverage to balance back but missed. Pelvis broken and needed surgery, heng successful...coz risk of failure pretty high.
sorry to hear about your mid 90s grandma incident. I suppose to have a fall and ended up with broken pelvis can be just as bad for younger people, which happened to a close friend of mine, slipped in the bathroom and kena the same thing. Even with successful operation, loss of mobility for a period of time can be quite bad and inconvenient. Worse if victim is the sole breadwinner of the family. Incidents like this, not sure if strong foundation via half pistol squats will help, to be honest.

xllms

I could not understand this mind over body mindset.

Nowadays I just want to enjoy my running sessions, if I become faster that is a bonus. Why would I want my body to feel miserable just to chase some PB?

i share similar views, although the line between suffering and enjoying is always in a flux and very blurry. At times, i can run relatively fast for long durations, eg. sustain below 6min/km pace for more than 20km, without feeling like unbearable. Sometimes, even at 7+min/km pace i feel awful. For me its all about how my body react in the first few km and can i breakthrough the awful feeling and feel good after that. If it doesn't by 5th km, it probably won't work for me. If it does, then i am onto something.

Previously i spoke to an ultra marathoner and he shared with me his point of view. One way or another, you will be suffering by doing your runs , fast pace or slow pace (shorter or longer duration of suffering). Hence, the crux is how your training allow one tolerate sufferings in long durations without giving up/breaking down.

For amateur hobbyist like us, perhaps its a case of how we build our foundation/base to enjoy and achieve the targets we set for ourselves. With regards to mind over matter, i do believe in it, but one needs some form of foundation to work on, eg. give yourself a last burst of fire in the last km. To do that one needs to be able to harness all the energy within oneself and sustain powerful output for the last km. Without such basis, no matter how powerful one's mind, it just won't work.

Anyway, Just work towards a better ourselves and enjoy the journey. And all the best to your new target.

WussRedXLi

Seems not to be a big injury but it doesnt seem small, if just merely partial bending and applying some pressure = pain.

uH9IO26.jpg

WussRedXLi

Looks like my 1/2 scoop of whey just before bedtime (study = within 30 mins) is great, even if the dinner has sufficient protein (eg dapao cai png + 1 can 100g sardines)
(1 whole scoop 25g protein if trained in the night before that)

Ender

Seems not to be a big injury but it doesnt seem small, if just merely partial bending and applying some pressure = pain.

uH9IO26.jpg
Ya, this is like worst than lao nang type of mobility issue liao. Long journey for rehab, but I am sure he will be back to running and hopefully no more brute force method.

Ender

AMDK from the arctic? 😂
Actually the extreme condition was from the Tokyo marathon video by Jake, runtojapan. He said the weather was extreme. I went to check the weather condition for the marathon on that day , and the highs was like 20deg C.

dreamaurora

i share similar views, although the line between suffering and enjoying is always in a flux and very blurry. At times, i can run relatively fast for long durations, eg. sustain below 6min/km pace for more than 20km, without feeling like unbearable. Sometimes, even at 7+min/km pace i feel awful. For me its all about how my body react in the first few km and can i breakthrough the awful feeling and feel good after that. If it doesn't by 5th km, it probably won't work for me. If it does, then i am onto something.

Previously i spoke to an ultra marathoner and he shared with me his point of view. One way or another, you will be suffering by doing your runs , fast pace or slow pace (shorter or longer duration of suffering). Hence, the crux is how your training allow one tolerate sufferings in long durations without giving up/breaking down.

For amateur hobbyist like us, perhaps its a case of how we build our foundation/base to enjoy and achieve the targets we set for ourselves. With regards to mind over matter, i do believe in it, but one needs some form of foundation to work on, eg. give yourself a last burst of fire in the last km. To do that one needs to be able to harness all the energy within oneself and sustain powerful output for the last km. Without such basis, no matter how powerful one's mind, it just won't work.

Anyway, Just work towards a better ourselves and enjoy the journey. And all the best to your new target.
For me it's simpler, if I'm well rested and I feel good I will do intervals or moderate effort run. If not, I will stick to slower runs. But I think it's important to be consistent like what you said to make sure the base is there and also be realistic about the target pace depending on training load and current pace.

Ender

For me, only two runs a week are torturous, the long run and the high intensity day. The other of the days, the runs will end up easy, usually around one hour or less at easy pace with room to run more but discipline to cut off and have a meal. There are days I only run 20 minute or less.

xllms

Actually the extreme condition was from the Tokyo marathon video by Jake, runtojapan. He said the weather was extreme. I went to check the weather condition for the marathon on that day , and the highs was like 20deg C.
not sure what he meant by extreme condition.
me here in SH, drastic temp swing can be quite unbearable. Last mon, tues, morning temp was mid single digit but cold strong winds make one feel near frozen temp. Afternoon high single digit. Then by Wed/Thur, morning was single digit, afternoon upswing to mid 20s. Friday onwards, afternoon temp reached 30degC. Over the weekend, morning was high single digit and afternoon low 30s. I started by run at 7am at ard 10degC with cold winds. By the time i finished my 2x10km, temp was ard 20degC. By afternoon, Singapore weather! BTH! 😂

sales69

Maybe can progress to this squat. No need to go deep down (butt to calf) for a start.

https://vt.tiktok.com/ZSrRCMnh8/

Oh one more eg, my office cleaning / pantry lady. Only like iirc 12 or 13 years older than me and need to use both hands to support when standing up from squatting down coz she needed to plug in the power plug for the vacuum cleaner as she goes around plugging and unplugging from various sockets coz the power cable is only like 15 metres length.
I always help her to plug and unplug whenever i am around. But she has great difficulty and isnt a stable action at all even with 2 hands assistance, i think the strength and stability muscles all not there already be it lower body or upper body.

Just last Saturday, I was feeling abit off but still ran.

Around 6k mark, lost focus and nearly tripped after kicking a slight bump on seemingly flat ground.

Luckily the next step was on my stronger left leg and managed to balance and offset the inertia.

Heng never fall since I have slipped disc history..

I think the single leg superman exercise i did regularly helped out afterall.

xllms

Maybe can progress to this squat. No need to go deep down (butt to calf) for a start.

https://vt.tiktok.com/ZSrRCMnh8/

Just last Saturday, I was feeling abit off but still ran.

Around 6k mark, lost focus and nearly tripped after kicking a slight bump on seemingly flat ground.

Luckily the next step was on my stronger left leg and managed to balance and offset the inertia.

Heng never fall since I have slipped disc history..

I think the single leg superman exercise i did regularly helped out afterall.

thanks for sharing. have yet to graduate from two legged squats lol

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.