so actually those rooftop pools got glass fence
but it wasn't strong enough to withstand the moving water, so it broke
p/s: the two people did escape

pwongkk

It took almost a year to clean up the WTC debris. This one at least 6 months. Unlikely can find any survivors who were in the building then.

Should ask the tiong developer to ship the debris back to tiongland after investigations are completed.

Or pappies keen to help clear the debris for the long island land reclamation?

Acetone

Cos Myanmar is a slum… no one cares about them. Bkk a lot of sinkies go… need to know the updates

TickTechToe

The epi centre in Mandalay Myanmar is so far from Bangkok and yet Bangkok is 1000km away got building collapsing... I was wondering if an epi centre is Sumatra Indonesiaa which is 500km away, how will it affect Singapore building, especially those under construction. Plus now our bto and condo, many are 40 stores high.. will it able to withstand if an earthquake struck somewhere in Sumatra which 500km away.. our SCDF should think ahead and advise what is the drill, evacuate from building or hide in bomb shelter?

Nemesis_lane123

where were you yesterday in BKK? your first time experience earthquake?
I was swimming in Grand Diamond Suites during the earthquake. My first time experiencing an earthquake.

The water rose v high till like 3m. I was at first thinking I was experiencing vertigo then after seeing ppl screaming running, I quickly brought my son n father in law down in our swimming clothes. Fortunately my wife brought down some clothes fr us.

Then on the streets drama fr like 2-3hrs till calm was issued.

sango65

I was swimming in Grand Diamond Suites during the earthquake. My first time experiencing an earthquake.

The water rose v high till like 3m. I was at first thinking I was experiencing vertigo then after seeing ppl screaming running, I quickly brought my son n father in law down in our swimming clothes. Fortunately my wife brought down some clothes fr us.

Then on the streets drama fr like 2-3hrs till calm was issued.
scary, really like mini tsunami in the pool.

osirisx

so actually those rooftop pools got glass fence
but it wasn't strong enough to withstand the moving water, so it broke
p/s: the two people did escape

They got the wave pool experience.

Even if the glass broke, there's usually a partition at the bottom no?

powerrr

The epi centre in Mandalay Myanmar is so far from Bangkok and yet Bangkok is 1000km away got building collapsing... I was wondering if an epi centre is Sumatra Indonesiaa which is 500km away, how will it affect Singapore building, especially those under construction. Plus now our bto and condo, many are 40 stores high.. will it able to withstand if an earthquake struck somewhere in Sumatra which 500km away.. our SCDF should think ahead and advise what is the drill, evacuate from building or hide in bomb shelter?
Think ahead? That’s not what for government is good at doing.

Must happen first then know it can happen.

pwongkk

Dun scare me leh. I stay 35th in FC 😭
No faith in tiong construction.

Then it's built on reclaimed land, which the ground had not fully settled, the construction starts.

The land MBS stands on had been reclaimed for more than 30 years before they start building.

Same for T5 site.

Ethan_

Think perhaps the body of water in between acts as a sort of cushioning effect maybe.

TickTechToe

Think perhaps the body of water in between acts as a sort of cushioning effect maybe.
I remember Sumatra Indonesia 2004 earthquake that caused Tsunami as far as East Africa.. I feel the my HDB shaking in one of the aftershock..that time not many 40 storeys BTOs... wonder if these 40 storeys BTOs can tahan the shocks if another earthquake of that magnitude occurs..

touchring1

I remember Sumatra Indonesia 2004 earthquake that caused Tsunami as far as East Africa.. I feel the my HDB shaking in one of the aftershock..that time not many 40 storeys BTOs... wonder if these 40 storeys BTOs can tahan the shocks if another earthquake of that magnitude occurs..

you should be safe, bto is built by hdb, it's sg company.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.