Votes: 263 30.7%
  • Unemployment/Lack of opportunities for citizens

Votes: 393 45.9%

• Total voters

Carnage

Cos of human nature

mankind r sinful. I believe everyone work “what’s in for me” including all and especially whities
However ppl who work for nothing getting sh it treatment fr whities and can easily walk away r like oppies eg Wp or Chee and tan **, those ppl i believe they come n vie for seats to work for either their dream for themselves or for sg …

when we say yea why they don’t mk coalition, being human … if they were collaborators they wouldn’t mk so many diff parties just join e biggest one can alr. Everyone fight for own dreams n own goals .

Based on effort alone, we should give some politicians a chance.

People like Chee Soon Juan, Tambyah, Yee Jenn Jong are not cut from the same cloth as those wearing white.

vee4044

All young at 🙉 go for Chew,Tik Toker.All those who don't Tik Tok plse fall out.
Uncle also Tiktok to purchase good offer goods.... Worth leh. dun need to carry heavy Laundry detergent...Snacks cheap too. 😆 :ROFLMAO:

drkcynic

The whites won't take people like him one la.

They will usually take those civil servants and army generals yes sir yes sir 3 bags full.

Carnage

do not underestimate the daftness of the people here i tell u...

give them some vouchers they ok alr...
For my age group, I can say I am close to giving up on Singapore politics. The system is built with so many barriers to entry that I admire people like Desmond Lim, Lim Tean and Goh Meng Seng for trying for years. Those from the smaller mosquito parties are really wasting their time and energy with little to no chance of even being a NCMP.

I can only pray that I see a change in government in my lifetime.

boredom2012

Cos of human nature

mankind r sinful. I believe everyone work “what’s in for me” including all and especially whities
However ppl who work for nothing getting sh it treatment fr whities and can easily walk away r like oppies eg Wp or Chee and tan **, those ppl i believe they come n vie for seats to work for either their dream for themselves or for sg …

when we say yea why they don’t mk coalition, being human … if they were collaborators they wouldn’t mk so many diff parties just join e biggest one can alr. Everyone fight for own dreams n own goals .
Not sinful. But selfish. Very difficult to find a politician who is selfless one.

JonWeak

At leats he's handled with many international peepur for business le. But these type best not to join politics and just keep low profile lah

messidona

For my age group, I can say I am close to giving up on Singapore politics. The system is built with so many barriers to entry that I admire people like Desmond Lim, Lim Tean and Goh Meng Seng for trying for years. Those from the smaller mosquito parties are really wasting their time and energy with little to no chance of even being a NCMP.

I can only pray that I see a change in government in my lifetime.
It is like I failed 2.4km run for years but I still participate in marathons and keep finishing last. I think I need to go imh with gms and lt

dambio

Oh no no no. To me is when raffles landed on sg. Saw it's potential n throw it to William Farquhar n told him to develop it😂

Shion

Senior Mentor
Cos of human nature

i see nordic countries surviving pretty well despite having coalition govts for so many years

yperic

New face Jackson Lam 'very good on the ground' and will be asset to Parliament, says Shanmugam​

New face Jackson Lam 'very good on the ground' and will be asset to Parliament, says Shanmugam

Former PAP branch chairman in Hougang SMC Jackson Lam (left) was at a DBS community pop-up market event on Saturday (March 29), for which Law and Home Affairs Minister K Shanmugam was also present. PHOTO: AsiaOne/Danial Zahrin

Jackson Lam, who is the former People's Action Party (PAP) branch chairman in Hougang SMC, will be an asset to the party, government and Parliament should he run in the upcoming General Election, said Law and Home Affairs Minister K Shanmugam on Saturday (March 29).

Shanmugam was speaking at an event in Nee Soon GRC, for which he is also a Member of Parliament (MP), and described Lam as being "very good on the ground".

The minister added: "I would love to see him contest the elections."

Shanmugam was speaking to the media on the sidelines of a community pop-up event by DBS Foundation. Lam, 40, was also at the event.

When asked if Lam would contest in Nee Soon, he responded: "Well, from anywhere, he will be an asset to the party, to the government and Parliament, wherever he contests from.

"Where he contests, and whether he contests, you have to wait and see."

Apart from Shanmugam, Nee Soon GRC MPs Carrie Tan and Louis Ng were also present and were seen engaging with beneficiaries.

20250329_DBS_Danial%20Zahrin_-07.jpg
Nee Soon GRC MPs K Shanmugam, Carrie Tan and Louis Ng (in white) alongside DBS staff at a community pop-up event by DBS Foundation. PHOTO: AsiaOne/Danial Zahrin

As part of the event, DBS Foundation launched a $7.3 million initiative as part of efforts to support vulnerable seniors' physical and social well-being, as well as their health.

From June 2025, it will reach out to 6,000 vulnerable seniors across 12 ageing towns over two years, providing twice-weekly meals, monthly bonding and enrichment activities, and quarterly grocery shopping trips.

The event, which was the final leg of 38 pop-up markets held over the last seven months, saw beneficiaries select around $100 worth of groceries and everyday essentials for free, while also picking up practical tips on financial planning and nutrition.

20250329_DBS_Danial%20Zahrin_-09%20%281%29_0.jpg
Deryne Sim was present at the event, noting to the media that she was attending as a volunteer. PHOTO: AsiaOne/Danial Zahrin

Apart from Lam, there have been a number of new faces spotted at Nee Soon constituency events recently.

Among them is Deryne Sim, a 40-year-old intellectual-property lawyer, who was also present at the DBS pop-up event, though she noted to the media that she was there as a volunteer.

Others include former nominated MP Syed Harun Alhabsyi, 39, who was not present.

Also spotted at the event was Nadia Ahmad Samdin, an Ang Mo Kio GRC MP, who was there in DBS colours. She is currently an employee at the bank.

When asked by reporters about the presence of Lam, Sim and Nadia, Shanmugam clarified that "some of them clearly are not candidates".

"All of them other than Nadia are volunteers with my branch or the other branches in this area," the minister said. "You mustn't jump to conclusions that if you see a face, they are automatically candidates."

yperic

20250329_DBS_Danial%20Zahrin_-09%20%281%29_0.jpg
Deryne Sim was present at the event, noting to the media that she was attending as a volunteer. PHOTO: AsiaOne/Danial Zahrin

Apart from Lam, there have been a number of new faces spotted at Nee Soon constituency events recently.

Among them is Deryne Sim, a 40-year-old intellectual-property lawyer, who was also present at the DBS pop-up event, though she noted to the media that she was there as a volunteer.

havetheveryfun

Then form coalition with other parties, including PAP.

Why should Singapore have a democracy that is dominated by a single party for so long? 60 years is a long time even by nation making standards.
the issue is with the GRC system ma and suka suka boundary changes

if vote share is 60/40 then how come parliament seats still can be 90/10.. it should be more like 70/20 or even 80/20 would be good enough at least..

sukukia

disgusting of edmw and oppo ibs to deprive sinkies of more choices of candidate to vote for their mps. sinkies are free to vote and should be given more candidates to choose from in multi corner fights...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.