Breaking: Trump hits Singapore with 10% Tarriffs

byfun

Scs claims has always been there. Military installations and activities has increase over time, not decreased

So answer is an undoubtedly yes
Unless situation reversed

Whether worth or not, you just have to ask yourself what would you do if you are the one dying.

SCS claim has no overlapping claim with singapore . This narrative is used to unfairly justify on the increased military budget.

Dying becos of SCS claim 😂. China has super long range hypersonic missile. If they really wanna destroy Sg what use are those overpriced f35 or submarine in defence of those ?

parchiao

Ah, we will wait and see...
I have strong belief that S&P500 will crash >20% first and US goes into recession (with negative GDP growth) while simultaneously the "China economy already in the dumps" that you claimed will still grow its GDP at about 5% p.a.... 🤭

Just do your due diligence lah. Google a bit and you will get the picture. Don’t make us laugh with 5% GDP growth. Trump already stopped China’s economy in its tracks the last time it placed tariffs on it. With more tariffs, it can kiss any recovery goodbye, and China will still tell you they grew at 5%. :s13:

kokchee2001

I think trump must have been reading edmw.

He must had read some big mouths say their own countries no need scared, a lot of loopholes by exporting via other countries. So trump go whack everyone now.

Know the loopholes better diam diam. how many times we see those who brag then end up instant karma … and ownself die others also die with them
They have more think tank and lobby than big mouth here.

Nowadays even with help of AI

kokchee2001

LW, no need play guitar senarade to trump.. just tell him off, call off the tariff or sg will call off all aircrafts purchases etc. no uss navy ships allowed within SG sovereignty boundaries. Meaning no uss aircraft carries = no uss fighter jets surveillance around SCS.
Singapore are begging and even willing to pay that protection fee to counter Zina.

kokchee2001

Yah lor, from my #1 post here. Fighter jets can get from russia, commercial ones from china

Trump will prata after sg cancels all purchases from them. Anyway he always pratas his policies.
Want to crash SIA share price also not this way

kokchee2001

Retaliate what?

We are not China not Malaysia not Thailand not Vietnam.

We impose 9% GST on our imports and levy high duties on cars, cigarettes and alcohol.

10% is steal laugh ultra friendly rate liao.

If we are the only one to tio, then yah maybe can think.

But everyone including Japan, South Korea and Taiwan tio and we tio the smallest rate so just lie low and see how things play out.

And, more importantly, how many sinkies are involved in producing things for export (and exports do not carry GST so other than hiring jhks dun really help the sinkies in terms of tax revenue/ reserves) to USA?

How many will lose their jobs because their "factories" will need to raise price by 0%-10%?

You try to kick out USA you either be prepared to be Panama/ Greenland (which by the way are significantly less dependent than us on USA, our biggest investor) or start learning Bahasa Indonesia.

Invite China?

What can China do for us?

WE are China's biggest investor, not the other way round.

WE already kena because the tiongs used us to smuggle chips.
Singapore is banking hub. Ban Singapore to trade will die.

Singapore also have semicon and pharma industry

soulblader_89

7QeidTq.png

TUV2008

my colleagues all over asia come to gxgx me that sinkie has the lowest tariffs....

they say can ship the US's customer order via sinkieland to bypass the highest tariff in bolehland and many other countries

hachi

This TS has been stirring non stop since morning.

First para of the article reads:

Nearly half of companies in Singapore (45 per cent) plan to pass on the increased costs from the new US tariffs to their customers, a flash survey by the American Chamber of Commerce (AmCham) in Singapore has found.

It would mean that some companies exporting to USA will not be absorbing the 10% tariffs and will mark up their export price accordingly.

But TS would sensationalise and mislead by having the bombastic thread title

Siao Liao! Nearly half of companies in Singapore (45 per cent) plan to pass on the increased costs from the new US tariffs to their a customers in SG

when the content of the article make no such mention at all.
Nice....the reduce consumption lo
.. Then recession..

wwenze

Why we not having trade surplus with USA despite reported high GDP?

Where did all the money go?

DragonFire

Think whole SG are using Windows OS, name me a non US alternative, thanks
Are you speaking from a the point of view of avoiding sanctions, or avoiding paying extra?

If we're talking theoretical sanctions, it'd be illegal to use US software anyway so might as well go ahead and do so since you're already receiving the middle finger from Uncle Sam.
==

If we're talking conscientiously avoiding paying Uncle Sam extra, there are plenty of US made cost free options like FreeBSD or non Enterprise linux licenses available for companies with strong in-house IT.

It is a less well trodden path, but still sustainable IMO for small to medium size organizations who have adequate technical staff.

An OS is an OS. People only need minimum rights and the baseline ability to use the apps they need to do their work. Everything else can be "permission denied".
==

If we're talking about avoiding US technology, I call that a fool's endeavor.
Go back to using roller ball mice. Oh wait. That's US tech too!

Interesting note btw. Optical mice are actually Singapore technology. The prototypes was developed here, and I have one of the proof of concept units in a small acrylic box. The axis are reversed, but oh man it blew my socks off when I first got the chance to try it.

But then again, they were developed by the HP unit which eventually became Broadcom and functionally is US technology.

RinoaX

We do have a trade surplus.

Singapore Trade & Investment Summary

U.S. goods trade with Singapore totaled an estimated $89.2 billion in 2024. U.S. goods exports to Singapore in 2024 were $46 billion, up 8.4 percent ($3.6 billion) from 2023. U.S. goods imports from Singapore totaled $43.2 billion in 2024, up 5.6 percent ($2.3 billion) from 2023. The U.S. goods trade surplus with Singapore was $2.8 billion in 2024, an 84.8 percent increase ($1.3 billion) over 2023.

We just got hit with the baseline of 10%. And also for being a 'currency manipulator' due to our sgdneer.

Whereas Japan originally have 700-800% tariffs on Rice to prevent over outflow of Japanese rice. To prevent exacerbation of shortages.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.