Are Singaporeans Diet unhealthy?

Mecisteus

Exercise cannot fully counteract the negative effects of an imbalanced diet high in omega 6. Excess omega 6 fatty acids promote cellular inflammation, a process that exercise alone cannot neutralize, and there is no magic dose of exercise to offset such a diet. Currently, there is no moderation when it comes to harmful omega 6, which is an unsaturated fat, and our diet now has an omega 6 to omega 3 ratio that has skyrocketed to over 20 to 1 because of the massive and misguided push for unsaturated fats driven by MOH, a trap that even Japan and South Korea have wisely avoided.
All the while, your keto camp has been misguided and spreading misinformation.

Look at the HPB website. See the proportion of plate. A big fish there and some seafoods also in the photos. These foods are high in omega 3.

https://www.healthhub.sg/programmes/nutrition-hub/eat-more

Full_Cream_Milk

Who here like to eat fishball noodles dry with chilli paste? Good luck to u if u think this is a healthy food for daily consumption. Lao charboh always like to eat this.
Not sure what's the reference to "lao charboh" :ROFLMAO:

If anything, it seems lao uncles like to eat this more.

With one leg on the chair and kopi in one hand.

Anyway, it's not just the chilli paste that's unhealthy...

It's also how the noodles are cooked in so much oil (dry version).

The fishballs themselves are mostly not real fish meat but factory made processed surimi.

The whole fishball noodles "meal" is a complete disaster:

No fibre, no protein, no nutrients. Full of carb and processed "meat".

lasnoblur

for typical food sold in SG, the default and popular option is usually not healthy.

Usually it consist of ingredients which are fried and processed food, condiments which have high sodium and fat, or just high sugar food and drinks.

jeffprobst

While many Asian cuisines, aside from Japanese, tend to be rich in oil and often involve deep-frying, I generally find that the healthier options are those that feature fresh, raw, or lightly cooked ingredients.

In my personal opinon, the more minimal the preparation, the healthier the dish, especially when no additional additives like soy sauce or pepper are involved. This is why I tend to consider Japanese food as the healthiest in the Asian context, as it focuses on fresh ingredients, simple cooking methods like grilling or steaming, and minimal use of oils or heavy sauces.

China food are the worse considering the amount of oil that are typically used.

Checkyrmed

All the while, your keto camp has been misguided.

Look at the HPB website. See the proportion of plate. A big fish there and some seafoods also in the photos. These foods are high in omega 3.

https://www.healthhub.sg/programmes/nutrition-hub/eat-more
In reality, one should scrutinize the meals provided to diabetic patients in hospitals or nursing homes instead of relying on oversimplified diagrams on the MOH website. If you insist on labeling low-carb diets as "keto camp," then should I not label you as "high carbo camp?"

Full_Cream_Milk

Some of your comments made me realised our hawker food is actually coolie food- Unappealing, unappetizing, and loaded with carbs, MSG, salt, and oil.

Look at some of the facial complexion, especially men, and I can usually tell their type of diet.
Oily

Acne ridden

Pock marked

Red and angry

Rough and coarse

Mancunian2

Who here like to eat fishball noodles dry with chilli paste? Good luck to u if u think this is a healthy food for daily consumption. Lao charboh always like to eat this.
I like but only eat 1-2 times a month

wheat noodles coated in peanut oil chilli paste jin ho jiak !!

Mecisteus

In reality, one should scrutinize the meals provided to diabetic patients in hospitals or nursing homes instead of relying on oversimplified diagrams on the MOH website. If you insist on labeling low-carb diets as "keto camp," then should I not label you as "high carbo camp?"
No I don't recommend high carbs. I've been saying carbs are fine if you are physically active. And I promote a balanced diet.

Lol you use foods in hospitals and nursing homes as benchmark for MOH ?

Use common sense please. This is SG. Patients will revolt if they are given too healthy foods. Such places need to strike a balance to keep the patients happy. Not to treat them like prisoners or to torture them mentally.

Full_Cream_Milk

This is SG. Patients will revolt if they are given too healthy foods. Such places need to strike a balance to keep the patients happy. Not to treat them like prisoners or to torture them mentally.
True in a way.

Food given to patients in a hospital setting is for convalescence,

Not meant for long term "healthy eating".

And certainly not meant to be a boot camp! :ROFLMAO:

Checkyrmed

No I don't recommend high carbs. I've been saying carbs are fine if you are physically active. And I promote a balanced diet.

Use common sense please. This is SG. Patients will revolt if they are given too healthy foods. Such places need to strike a balance to keep the patients happy. Not to treat them like prisoners or to torture them mentally
According to the Randle cycle, a so-called balanced diet that includes both carbohydrates and fats creates metabolic competition between glucose and fatty acids, which can impair insulin sensitivity and promote metabolic dysfunction. In contrast, dietary approaches that reduce this conflict, such as low carbohydrate high fat or low fat high carbohydrate diets, allow the body to rely more efficiently on a single fuel source, supporting better metabolic outcomes. Among these, low carbohydrate high fat has shown particular promise in improving insulin resistance and glycemic control.

cyke69sg

Use common sense please. This is SG. Patients will revolt if they are given too healthy foods. Such places need to strike a balance to keep the patients happy. Not to treat them like prisoners or to torture them mentally.
Good point about patient satisfaction. I also heard that some private hospitals will serve Wagyu steak and lobster for meals. That one good make everyone happy.

Mecisteus

According to the Randle cycle, a so-called balanced diet that includes both carbohydrates and fats creates metabolic competition between glucose and fatty acids, which can impair insulin sensitivity and promote metabolic dysfunction. In contrast, dietary approaches that reduce this conflict, such as low carbohydrate high fat or low fat high carbohydrate diets, allow the body to rely more efficiently on a single fuel source, supporting better metabolic outcomes. Among these, low carbohydrate high fat has shown particular promise in improving insulin resistance and glycemic control.
Low carb is just 1. So I don't know why you're fixated on this.

There are ton of methods to improve insulin sensitivity.

This link has many studies.

https://www.healthline.com/nutrition/improve-insulin-sensitivity

Checkyrmed

True in a way.

Food given to patients in a hospital setting is for convalescence,

Not meant for long term "healthy eating".

And certainly not meant to be a boot camp! :ROFLMAO:
It has nothing to do with short term hospital patients or long term nursing home residents. Both are routinely given meals high in refined carbohydrates along with frequent snacks of processed foods. This nutritional approach worsens metabolic health and undermines recovery and long term well being.

rarenick

Good point about patient satisfaction. I also heard that some private hospitals will serve Wagyu steak and lobster for meals. That one good make everyone happy.

Yes I eaten liao. But they already removed from menu. Must be tio complaint from insurers or policyholders. Imagine A ward in public hospital didn't get to eat steak n lobster, sure complain about private insured patients that wasted insurance premium pool.

Mecisteus

In poor rural regions, the patients will be happy to be served with any healthier options.

In developed and rich country like SG, whole grain and healthier options are like prison foods.

Ironside

Exercise cannot fully counteract the negative effects of an imbalanced diet high in omega 6. Excess omega 6 fatty acids promote cellular inflammation, a process that exercise alone cannot neutralize, and there is no magic dose of exercise to offset such a diet. Currently, there is no moderation when it comes to harmful omega 6, which is an unsaturated fat, and our diet now has an omega 6 to omega 3 ratio that has skyrocketed to over 20 to 1 because of the massive and misguided push for unsaturated fats driven by MOH, a trap that even Japan and South Korea have wisely avoided.
With the correct blend of antioxidants intake combined with good lifestyle habits, inflammatory fatty acids can be countered.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.