i lost about 100k from us stock.

Godbleseu

Dear all,

I lost my life savings by 50%. I am really sadden by this.

Confidence for the future. More good years ahead... Let us take Singapore forward together.
Thank you.

Don't worry about it, as long as you stay invested, you will make back your losses with time horizon.
Consider this a 4-year Time Deposit. Why 4 years? Because Trump will want to exit his term as president with an all-time high stock market.

In the meantime, be disciplined and set up a dollar cost average strategy to reduce your costs over time.

Don't focus too much on stocks now. Go enjoy yourself, and come back in the next few months for a review.

****Something to make you feel better, almost everyone who has invested for the long term loses money, 5 trillion USD just eroded over 2 days. You are not alone, many people are in the same situation as you.

soulblader_89

Dear all,

Confidence for the future. More good years ahead... Let us take Singapore forward together.
Thank you.
bro, i oso same situation, i nvr lose 50% like u, but oso a lot....

i guess u need to delete your app, and stay away from seeing the red

it will make u emotional, spend time with ur family, and friends

play games, stay away from finance news for the time being for 6 month

Fightfat

Hi , everyone.
S&P 500 is on the upwards trend historically.
STI index fund also up historically.
These index companies always change overtime- Good potential company come in , poor performing company got drop off .
Creative , Hyflux used to be the darling of the STI .
Look where are they now ?
Has anyone make an average of 4.1% per annum over 3, 5 ,10 years horizon?
The majority of fund managers lost money as well .
Do you think that you know more than them ?
If anyone lost 20% in a year , the chances of them quitting the market is high.
Anyone can read the PE ratio , ebitda statements and analyst reports.
If the projections is so good and accurate,
the banks , venture capitalist and the original founders would keep it for as long as possible, they would not sell it ( the shares) to the small investors like us .
I sincerely believe it is a flawed logic to invest in shares .
Why would the companies let you partake in their profitable operations?
1- Boss of the company
2- Ventures fund’s managers
3- Banks
4-IPO ( only then small investors get to know and invest at this stage )
So , do you really think you can make $ long term ?

Orobas

I know at least 3 ppl sold most of their stocks in Dec/Jan to buy house in Feb/Mar. They made a good move sia....

stingray1211

why can't people just sell when it is high ? lock in profit . need to hold meh ? hold an hope for ?

everyday earn 1% is way better than holding for years to double.

earning means , short when it is dropping and sell when it goes up. keep earning 1% spread is enough daily.

just be disciplined. so easy.

buy when it drops and sell when it does up. but do it daily and often. not buy and hold for long term.

yiron

why can't people just sell when it is high ? lock in profit . need to hold meh ? hold an hope for ?

earning means , short when it is dropping and sell when it goes up. keep earning 1% spread is enough daily.

buy when it drops and sell when it does up. but do it daily and often. not buy and hold for long term.

Greedy and FOMO mah.

Eh how to everyday earn 1%?!

Nevereatrice

"so ez".... u can guarantee everyday earn 1%? if u lose 10% next day will wipe out your gains

Thoreldan

Why do you guys bother to reply that troll ? I added him to ignore list last week

He asked for help in edmw but don't want to remove that personality mask template reply for 10+ years

Mini because main account banned
Who lai de ? Please share.

mooseolly

Small portfolio easy to sell everything. Larger stock portfolio with more than 20 stocks not say liquidate means liquidate.

Mephist0pheLes

Ur networth must be atleast 9 figures sgd if u can do what u claim?

BunnyPancake

I know at least 3 ppl sold most of their stocks in Dec/Jan to buy house in Feb/Mar. They made a good move sia....
@Nevereatrice too. He got share before he offloaded his Nvidia back in Nov/Dec le.

Must see bah... If you invest long term, then don't say.

We cannot criticize or question anyone's investing/trading strategy.

Like for moi, I do trade and invest. But I stopped trading for nearly a month liao to wait out this tariffs war. Then my investments, I kept my SG ones; but my UK and US ones I sold off. I feel I did the right move because their stock price has fallen a lot liao from all these uncertainty and tariffs. If I go in now to buy back, it is practically 'profit' (imagine from 121 to 90; or 200 to 100).

I also know some who DCA... And some EDMWers or traders out there will di siao them... But it works in the long-run if you're patient.

There's no right or no wrong. It is your own trading/investing strategy, don't let others affect your decision.

But of course, must also be careful la... Never forget Enron... Never fall in love with your investments.

windwaver

Dear all,

Thank you.
Retirement money needs to be put into low risk instruments unless you willing to lose that.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.