A short trip to Shenzhen

RyanJ

Did a short 4 day trip up at Shenzhen from Hong Kong last month during the short school term break.

Connection -
Ever since the one time my roaming failed in china, decided to get an eSim from online resellers that is able to access Google and Whatsapp, no need for VPN.
The Public free wifis we encountered including Starbucks require china phone number before login in so no luck for foreign carriers.
Understandably Google didn't work when I logged into hotel wifi.

Payment -
Linked up WeChat with credit card for payments. Hotels accept Visa Mastercard etc but for other smaller retailers they mostly dun. We changed some RMB but you could just easily go cashless with WeChat Pay / Alipay.

Navigation
- Installed Baidu map on my Android phone.
* Google map was fairly useless.
- My waifu's iphone Apple map was good for navigation too.

Immigration matters -
-When entering HK there is that tiny little paper slip that HK officers kiap into our passports, the SZ officer will check for that tiny inconspicuous slip so do not lose it!
- Need to submit a simple entry form which has to be collected from the SZ officers, fill up at one corner queue and pass back to them.
- Do not go up on Friday evenings / weekends PHs, tiagong can get real busy and may take up to 2 hrs. Apply the same logic as Sg - JB crossing, many Hongkongers zerg rush into SZ late Fridays after work and weekends.
Took 30 mins to cross both HK/SZ immigration on weekday morning.

Transport -
Took MTR from HK , and after immigration the SZ MTR to Futian.
Daily trips we used Didi , which can be launched from WeChat app with the linked up credit card WeChat pay as payment. Didi is their ride hailing platform ( like our Grab but more sophisticated )
We did not go on any taxis/cabs.
Didi pricing was very reasonable. There was a ride that took some 40 mins and costs about S$5, not to mention various vouchers to offset. Surge charges apply but still very very affordable in our sg context.

Hotel
ShangriLa Futian, superlative services, location very near malls and train stations. If you are hungry at 10pm, press a lift down to lobby , plenty of food within walking distances. Goes without saying, cheaper than staying in Sg ShangriLa.

Gankeng Hakka Town 甘坑客家小镇, one of the conserved villages in SZ which has very much transformed into a tourism town. Entrance into the whole area is FOC, some buildings/museum(s) might incur fees.

54426528947_bd73556a87_b.jpg

54426401331_e5f93be939_b.jpg

54426528992_ba23cba69f_b.jpg

54426647733_4c42446958_b.jpg

54425543972_9c6b4002f2_b.jpg

54395964647_fa34d70b9d_b.jpg

54426647908_97bda8cddf_b.jpg

54425543662_b1e547fb4d_b.jpg

54427762240_217d321c95_b.jpg

54430501887_839d41b1f1_b.jpg

RyanJ

Gankeng Hakka Town 甘坑客家小镇

54426528802_606351e96e_b.jpg

Photography packages, costumes, crew to set up portable strobes and hold reflectors, photographer(s), transport to bring clients around parts of the village.
54431351641_1eede00d9d_b.jpg

Camera spotting, from the big 3 to even Fuji GFX Leica and even saw a Hasselblad!
54427578669_b3c59260ab_b.jpg

甘坑二十四史書院 - paid entrance, not a far walk from Gankeng hakka village. They had some VR experience thing going on which was fun but some technical glitches the 30 min became almost an hour and I missed a golden hour to shoot the lake.

54427628163_1e1169f2d7_b.jpg

54426595974_33fedc99dd_b.jpg

54426528807_59641e3f3f_b.jpg

Machiam tuk tuk style
54426401411_ecc2308d7a_b.jpg

Food in general was cheap and good.
54430501932_155576bcbc_b.jpg

54431351481_5cdb01841b_b.jpg

54431730760_fb4205cea3_b.jpg

RyanJ

Wah the food looks great

But Shenzhen got things to see and do meh?

Compared to to other cities.

Depends on what you do I guess, most day trippers will be hitting Futian malls and call it a day.

We had abit more time so I visited Gankeng village, Dafeng oil painting village, Window of the World, OCT harbor area.

To be honest have not been visiting much china cities, I probably should.

@SecretAgent will be the destination expert to advice, I am much green when it comes to chinese cities.

wongkc

As usual… great photos… the kind of framing and angle that I like…

sales69

Thanks for info and gorgeous photos.

The xmm eating apple very cute. 😄

RyanJ

that couple pic
they don't mind being taken? :o

Dunno.

But that place was flocked with cameras and is a tourism spot so I guess the bar is lower. I was ... pretty discreet also

You keep sniping ATBs, wife never scold you?

🤭

Nope I think she bo hiew liao

Sometimes I view photos on PC she will comment what is nice wat is not nice about the (ladies)

Nice pictures 👍

thx!

As usual… great photos… the kind of framing and angle that I like…

thank u!

Did you go to 华强北?

CheerS!!!;)

No time unfortunately.

But I did visit the DJI-Hasselblad flagship building , very impressive.

54398383441_f74a8c1784_b.jpg

Gigantic industrial / argricultural drones.
54398383396_daf9569453_b.jpg

The louvered exterior casts various lighting patterns interiorly.
54398618618_9342970eb8_b.jpg

Thanks for info and gorgeous photos.

The xmm eating apple very cute. 😄

Thanks!

Full_Cream_Milk

Did you go to 华强北?

CheerS!!!;)
I was in Shenzhen for half a day.

I crossed over from HK as a day trip.

I did go 华强北 see see due to its infamous name, though personally not interested in technology.

BIG DISAPPOINTMENT.

Big complex 3x the size of sim lim but only the ground floor is lively.

As I go further up, wah most shops are dead.

Selling nonsense like don't know what voice changing device etc.

Most shop owners sit there swatting flies.

I even see some set up table play poker cards drink tea like our RC.

SecretAgent

Depends on what you do I guess, most day trippers will be hitting Futian malls and call it a day.

We had abit more time so I visited Gankeng village, Dafeng oil painting village, Window of the World, OCT harbor area.

To be honest have not been visiting much china cities, I probably should.

@SecretAgent will be the destination expert to advice, I am much green when it comes to chinese cities.
I am not:o

But there is really nothing much in Shenzhen except for swanky malls. I really do love Macau, it is a mixture of old and new. Their old town area is like HK of 20yrs back. Then they got mega casinos hotels resort.

十月初五街

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.