i lost about 100k from us stock.

Yowe55 mini

Can go back to ur c suite job if cannot tahan.

Thot u shd see all sorts of situation alrdy in ur job lol. Lydat abit cannot regain composure?
Dear Eliwood,

I lost about 50% of retirement fund, struggling to stay sane.

Confidence for the future. More good years ahead... Let us take Singapore forward together.
Thank you.

Yowe55 mini

For moi i use moomoo bec its already part of the app. Its easy to use & trade. Apparently funds withdrawn from stock are being invested to crypto now bec its more stable. i have some XRP now.
Dear mel1888,

Does moomoo has xrp?

Confidence for the future. More good years ahead... Let us take Singapore forward together.
Thank you.

mistersatki_

Buying the dip like x3 times liao
Lol

Just hope when it climbs , it will go higher than the dip overall
Anyway bought all are dividend based stocks
Ain't that worried

arsenalfc85

Not everyone have spare cash to keep average down....

some already used up their warchest, cos people keep saying buy the dip the dip the dip

but then the dip go even deeper
Every dip could be the potential bottom

if it’s investing n got enough bullets, it’s ok lah.

But if trading with leverage then every dip go long is a bit suicidal

Eliwood

Dear Eliwood,

Thank you.

Go apply for work at Temasick?

Can cite ur c suite plus buy ath sexperience haha.

homer123

some already used up their warchest, cos people keep saying buy the dip the dip the dip

That is a honest assessment.. Most investors especially US markets will be all in at all time ..For those who DCA , every active income saved is ploughed back into the market to earn higher return. This means most will not have spare cash to buy the dip. Only a trader will have excess to take advantage of this crisis

tazzycorner

I will create a new stock market finanical support grp in edmw

please support me yea, in that thread we just support one another, dun do fear mongering

what's the point?

u will still get the same group of ppl in there

soulblader_89

• Market Sentiment and Comparative Analysis:
    • Some influencers (e.g., “chicken genius”) advocate selling stocks at certain points, but the speaker disagrees, arguing that selling now would miss the opportunity to “buy the dip.”
    • A comparison shows that over a 3-year, 3-month period, investors solely in T-bills would have outperformed those fully invested in the S&P 500 or QQQ.
    • Retail investors showed contrarian behavior by buying $4.7 billion in stocks on a day when overall market value plummeted, marking the highest net buying in a decade.
    • An infographic (from Subu Trade) illustrated historical performance after consecutive 4.5% declines, though the sample size is limited for definitive conclusions.
  • Valuation Metrics and Historical Comparisons:
    • Tech Premium: The mega tech stocks (often referred to as “mega 8”) trade at a forward P/E of 21.7, notably above the S&P 500’s 18.2, while midcaps and small caps are significantly lower at 13.2 and 12.9 respectively.
    • The consistent premium for mega tech stocks is justified by their robust revenue growth, high margins, and expansive growth potential.
    • While the market-weighted S&P 500 appears expensive (hovering in the 80–90th percentile), the equal-weighted S&P 500 and smaller cap segments show relatively more attractive valuations.
    • Simple historical ratios over 20 or 30 years may not capture nuances such as evolving business quality, growth opportunities, and sector-specific dynamics.
  • Investment Strategies and Dollar-Cost Averaging (DCA) Techniques:
    • Fixed Date, Fixed Amount DCA: Investing a set amount at regular intervals regardless of market movements.
    • Fixed Valuation Interval DCA: Buying when the market drops a specific percentage (e.g., every 5% drop, investing a fixed amount).
    • Escalating Amount DCA: Increasing the investment amount as the market falls, similar to a Martingale approach.
    • Exponential Valuation Interval DCA: Adjusting the investment frequency and amount more aggressively when the market declines steeply (e.g., every 1% drop after a 30–40% fall).
    • Event-Triggered DCA: Deploying capital in response to major market events (e.g., tariff announcements or geopolitical developments).
    • The speaker personally employs a mix of fixed date and event-triggered DCA, starting with a small position and adding more as prices fall—while acknowledging that each method has its pros and cons.
  • Reflections on Chinese Tech and Market Psychology:
    • During the 70–80% drawdown in Chinese tech stocks (from 2020 to 2024), key lessons emerged:
      • Never Say Never: Even significant declines (as seen with Alibaba) can continue or reverse unexpectedly.
      • Valuation Context: In a growth or earnings recession, traditional valuation metrics may fall apart, but some stocks can become attractively cheap relative to their long-term potential.
      • Deployment Challenges: Timing purchases is difficult; a balanced, systematic approach is necessary to avoid being either overexposed too quickly or missing recovery opportunities.
      • Emphasizes the importance of maintaining a healthy mindset—reducing negativity and avoiding panic-induced decisions—to navigate market cycles.
  • Broader Economic Perspectives and Final Thoughts:
    • Trade and Globalization: There’s a paradigm shift toward isolation and deglobalization, with potential long-term impacts such as reduced efficiency and increased inflation.
    • Howard Marks’ Insights: Three key points include:
      • Global trade is shifting towards isolation, which may harm efficiency.
      • Trade restrictions can drive inflation and complicate economic forecasts.
      • The US remains the top investment destination, but caution is warranted, and market dips may present buying opportunities.
    • Concludes that there is no one-size-fits-all investment strategy; the best approach is to develop a personalized, systematic plan that accounts for market volatility, personal risk tolerance, and long-term goals.

Tyrian

Then ride it out, unless u need the money.

the money I use is the money I don’t have immediate needs.

coyote

Dear Eliwood,

Thank you.

You still have your property in Thailand...

hctawsgs

jia liat... how sia... how come all the way down?

sit-song-bo.gif

cyke69sg

That is a honest assessment.. Most investors especially US markets will be all in at all time ..For those who DCA , every active income saved is ploughed back into the market to earn higher return. This means most will not have spare cash to buy the dip. Only a trader will have excess to take advantage of this crisis
Don't people keep any cash at all?

Psychological I like having some of everything. How much of each thing is also significant.
Keep so little cash no use also. But if have 7 figures cash 7 figures stock 7 figures property 7 figures gold 7 figures Bitcoin should be ok.

huphoe

Paper loss , if can hold , still ok .
unless you want cut loss

drkcynic

Alot all in already la.. where got money to buy the dips. Even if want to dig money is probably go liquidate those FD or Tbills or UOB one money which is risk free, to enter into a world of risk.

Not many got the balls. Talk nia. Can easily lose another 20-50% if one is in the growth stocks. If you want to go defensive stocks then fair enough but can defensive stocks beat your risk free? Defensive stocks also can kaput 10-20% easily.

coyote

Dear coyote,

I do not have any property except HDB flat.

Thank you.

That time you spent like a month exploring buying a Thailand property or something right? Thought you bought? You didn't?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.