chiak lat! hor hor hor calvin cheng this time really xiao liao!

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

titusilvering

incollage_save.jpg

'Unacceptable and hurtful': Former NMP Calvin Cheng's remarks on pro-Palestine activists crossed a line, says Masagos​

The way his comments were framed crossed a line, sending a message that some Singaporeans somehow do not belong if they speak up, said Minister-in-charge of Muslim Affairs Masagos Zulkifli.

SINGAPORE: Public comments made by former Nominated Member of Parliament (NMP) Calvin Cheng about a pro-Palestinian activist group in Singapore were “unacceptable and hurtful”, Minister-in-charge of Muslim Affairs Masagos Zulkifli said on Wednesday (Apr 9).

Mr Masagos, who is also Minister for Social and Family Development, was weighing in on the matter for the second time in a week.

“The way those comments were framed crossed a line. It’s not just about disagreement, it’s about the message it sends, that some Singaporeans somehow do not belong if they speak up.

"That is not something we can accept. Not here,” he said in a Facebook post on Wednesday.

In a post on Mar 13, Mr Cheng criticised a group known as Monday of Palestine Solidarity, whose members have been accused of disrupting Meet-the-People Sessions.

“I would like to sponsor them to relocate to Gaza, expenses paid by me. But only if they never come back … I am offering business class to the leaders. And to their 928 followers, can buy them some walking shoes each. Take a slow hike,” he wrote on Facebook.

His post sparked backlash, a police report and legal threats.

Mr Masagos said many people, especially those within the Malay Muslim community, felt angry and dismissed. He added that social harmony is valued and protected in Singapore.

“It has taken decades of effort, confidence and trust to build it, and that trust can be easily shaken by careless words. We must all be mindful of the negative impact we may cause to our social cohesion, especially when we are in position of influence.”

Mr Masagos said he also addressed the matter directly during his interview with Berita Harian on Wednesday morning.

“No one has the right to suggest that another Singaporean should leave the country because of a different view. We all have a stake here,” he noted.

“I’ve seen how upset many in the community are, and your frustrations are valid. But I also urge you to be guided by our values or adab - not a sign of weakness but reflects our strength and wisdom.”

MASAGOS, SHANMUGAM VOICE DISAGREEMENT​

In his remarks last week, Mr Masagos stated his disagreement with the views of Mr Cheng on the Israeli-Palestinian conflict.

“The killing of innocent lives must stop. Many have also shared their grief and frustration, deeply moved by the sufferings of innocent civilians, especially children.

"Here at home, Singaporeans of all backgrounds come together in solidarity. The fact that people of different ethnicities and religions stand united in calling for peace speaks volumes," he said on Apr 3.

"It reflects our deep values of justice, humanity, and mutual respect. I disagree with Calvin Cheng’s views about the Israel-Palestine conflict."

His comments came a day after Home Affairs and Law Minister K Shanmugam said he takes a "very sharply different view" from those expressed by Mr Cheng.

Mr Shanmugam was on Apr 2 asked about Mr Cheng's controversial post.

"Mr Calvin Cheng comments on a variety of matters – I don’t see all of them. Those that I come across: I can say some I agree with, and some I clearly disagree with," said Mr Shanmugam.

"His views on Palestine and Israel, I can say are quite different from mine. I have a very sharply different view on Israel-Palestine from Mr Calvin Cheng."

"I previously said in November 2023 that Israel's actions are illegal and oppressive to Palestinians, and that remains my view," he added.

Mr Shanmugam's comments came on the same day Foreign Affairs Minister Vivian Balakrishnan said he had reported "unauthorised activity" on his Facebook page to Meta, after a "like" appeared on Mr Cheng’s post under his name.

"I did not 'like' the post by Calvin Cheng on Mar 13, 2025. I do not share those views," Dr Balakrishnan said in a brief Facebook post. "I have since taken measures to enhance account security."

His press secretary told CNA that a report had been filed with Meta, which is investigating the matter.

"GROSSLY INSENSITIVE"​

The Singapore Islamic Scholars and Religious Teachers Association (Pergas) on Apr 6 expressed its “deep consternation” about Mr Cheng’s remarks, which it said "included inflammatory suggestions directed at members of the Muslim community in Singapore".

It said Mr Cheng’s comments, which were made in the public domain, could be interpreted as “dehumanising, dismissive, and grossly insensitive, especially in light of ongoing global tragedies that continue to cause grief to communities around the world”.

The association also called on the relevant authorities to "carry out what is necessary to protect our nation’s social fabric", saying that individuals who "incite hatred, sow discord, or make insensitive and harmful remarks must be held accountable".

In response to Pergas' statement, Mr Cheng said that his remarks were "not directed at any group defined by race or religion".

"I neither mentioned race nor religion in my post ... I directed my remarks at a group of people which included non-Muslims," he said, adding that he understood the association's sentiments and hoped it would re-read his post in this context.

Mr Cheng added that he has commenced legal action against several people, including former Singapore Democratic Party chairman Jufrie Mahmood and Reform Party leader Kenneth Jeyaretnam, whom he said have defamed him.

Mr Cheng also separately said that Mr Jufrie had lodged a police report accusing him of Islamophobia, and that Mr Jeyaretnam, activist Martyn See, alternative news platform The Online Citizen, and one Mohamed Khair had expressed or republished similar views.

Mr Cheng last week addressed the allegation that he had called for all pro-Palestinian activists to be sent to Gaza, saying that his comments were in response to the "disruptive actions of a specific group of three activists" and noting that one of them was a Chinese man.

"I expressed frustration - like many others - and used sarcasm to criticise them. I did not generalise these remarks to all activists, nor did I mention race or religion.

"I believe deeply in the justness of helping Palestinians suffering in the current conflict, and support humanitarian efforts. But activism should be expressed constructively, without disrupting vital community processes such as (Meet-The-People Sessions) where residents seek urgent help," he wrote.

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/sin...k-post-masagos-unacceptable-5054976?cid=FBcna

Talk so much in the end all pro Palestine or sympathetic with palestine.

If Calvin cheng use precision words say hamas maybe won't tio

titusilvering

Correct me if I'm wrong... Donkey is just saying send those who are radicalized over there right? The fanatics?

What's so insensitive about that? I don't get it
Elections coming need certain types of support

byfun

Maybe Calvin Cheng will leeport police soon like Vivian. Someone hacked his account and posted the offending post ... he can say even Foreign Minister of Sg also can tio hacked. He is a normal sinkies only.

Nuclear Boy

The funniest part of this is, the whites secretly agree with their attack donkey, but they can’t be open about it. All suddenly FB tio hacked, act blur don’t know where the FB likes came from :ROFLMAO:

Now have to throw him under the bus, but at the back wondering how to gloss this over

But pretend to take some umbrage first

Hard truth... It's also an open secret that there's an influential X'tian lobby pulling strings from within.

WarMage87

EDMW Special Report: Chee Ko Pek Analysis of the Calvin Cheng Saga (April 2025 Edition)

Subject:
Analysis of Former NMP Calvin Cheng's Recent Facebook Comments, Subsequent Fallout, and Strategic Implications.
Confidence Level: High (Based on public statements & news reports [CNA, ST, TOC, Mothership, SCMP, April 2025])
For: EDMW Community Knowledge Base & Kopitiam Debate Prep

Abstract (TL;DR Lah):
Calvin Cheng (CC) posted controversial stuff again
, this time offering to send pro-Palestine activists (who allegedly kacau MPS) to Gaza on a one-way ticket. Big guns (Masagos, Shanmugam, Vivian B) came out strongly against him, calling it "unacceptable," "hurtful," and crossing a line. Vivian B say his FB kena hacked after liking the post. Pergas also condemn kao kao. CC defends himself saying it was sarcasm aimed at specific disruptors (not racist/Islamophobic) and is suing people (Jufrie, KJ, TOC) for defamation. Forum chatter mostly thinks CC "xiao liao" and criticises both him and the Ministers' responses (wayang?). Future outlook for CC depends on his next move and if authorities take action. Basically, another classic CC drama.

1. Background: The Setup

• Everyone knows Calvin Cheng, former NMP, Oxford grad [Laguna123, HWZ Forum], famous for... strong opinions lah. Has history of controversial comments (remember the 2016 ISIS kids thing? [dqwong, HWZ Forum]).
  • This time, context is the ongoing Israel-Palestine conflict, a super sensitive topic in Singapore.
2. The "Inciting Incident": What CC Actually Said (Around Mar 13, 2025)

• CC criticised a group called 'Monday of Palestine Solidarity' accused of disrupting Meet-the-People Sessions (MPS).
  • His "offer": Sponsor them to relocate to Gaza. Business class for leaders, walking shoes for followers. Condition: Must never come back. [CNA, 2025]
  • You know lah, typical CC style – direct, some say provocative.
3. The Fallout: Kena Whack Left Right Centre

• Minister Masagos: Came out twice. Said comments "unacceptable," "hurtful," "crossed a line." Emphasised it sends message that some Singaporeans "do not belong if they speak up." Stressed importance of social harmony, especially from people with influence. Said frustrations valid but urged community to follow adab. [CNA, 2025; TOC, 2025]
  • Minister Shanmugam: Said he has "very sharply different view" from CC on Israel-Palestine. Repeated his stance that Israel's actions = "illegal and oppressive." Advised sensitivity. [CNA, 2025; ST, 2025]
  • Minister Vivian Balakrishnan: His FB account mysteriously "liked" CC's post. VB quickly said "I did not 'like' the post," blamed "unauthorised activity," reported to Meta. Stated clearly: "I do not share those views." (Forum kena triggered by this claim [BBClone, Joseph12, HWZ Forum]). Update: Reports say Tan Kiat How also accidentally liked and unliked [TOC, 2025].
  • Pergas (Islamic Scholars Assoc.): Expressed "deep consternation." Called remarks "inflammatory," "dehumanising, dismissive, grossly insensitive." Said comments risk social division, called for accountability and urged authorities to act. [CNA, 2025; ST, 2025]
  • Public/Forum Sentiment: Mostly negative towards CC (see HWZ thread). People calling him "donkey," etc. Also plenty of cynicism about Ministers' timing (GE coming?) and the "hacked account" excuse. Some users point out perceived double standards, comparing Masagos' "no one has right to suggest leave" vs past comments attributed to others [xEpyonx, siaoliaolor, SuperClubby, HWZ Forum]. Some defended CC saying he targeted radicals or said what others think [focus1974, enimen, HWZ Forum].
4. CC's Defence & Counter-Offensive:

• "It Was Sarcasm Lah!": CC insists his post was sarcasm aimed at 3 specific activists (one Chinese guy) disrupting MPS, not general activists or any race/religion. [CNA, 2025]
  • Supports Humanitarian Aid: Says he believes in helping Palestinians but activism must be constructive, not disruptive. [CNA, 2025]
  • "You Defame Me, I Sue You!": Started legal action against Jufrie Mahmood (ex-SDP), Kenneth Jeyaretnam (RP), Martyn See, TOC, Mohamed Khair for defamation/misrepresentation. Also notes Jufrie filed police report accusing him of Islamophobia. [CNA, 2025; ST, 2025]
5. Core Analysis: Why This One Different / Key Issues

• Crossing the Harmony Line: Main issue highlighted by Masagos – suggesting fellow Singaporeans should leave because of different views hits a raw nerve regarding belonging and national identity. This is seen as damaging social cohesion.
  • Influence Matters: As a former NMP, his words carry more weight, hence the strong official reaction.
  • Sensitive Topic: Israel-Palestine conflict requires extreme care in public discourse here.
  • Pattern of Behaviour: Previous controversial statements make it harder for public/critics to accept "sarcasm" defence at face value.
  • Political Optics: Ministers' strong distancing act seen by some as necessary pre-election move or genuine defence of national values (or both). [vegaspace, Joseph12, titusilvering, HWZ Forum]
6. Strategic Recommendations for CC (If He Listens Lah):

• Option A (Current Path - High Risk): Keep suing, keep defending intent ("I was right, you misinterpreted"). Risk: Looks stubborn, costly legal fees (win or lose), keeps drama alive, further alienates people. Might win some legal points but lose public relations war.
  • Option B (Damage Control - Safer Bet): Issue statement acknowledging impact (hurt/offence caused) even if disagreeing with interpretation. Express regret for harm to harmony, not necessarily apologise for intent. Maybe pause legal actions or narrow them down. Benefit: Shows some understanding, might cool things down. Less drama.
  • Option C (Low Profile): Diam diam for a while. Stop posting on sensitive topics. Let news cycle move on. Benefit: Avoids adding fuel to fire. Downside: Doesn't resolve underlying issue or repair reputation directly.
7. Conclusion: So How? Xiao Liao or Can Recover?

• Short Term: Definitely took a hit. Strong public condemnation from Ministers + Pergas is serious business. Being called "unacceptable" and crossing lines by establishment figures is bad optics.
  • Long Term: Depends on his next actions (See Section 6) and whether authorities pursue anything further (Pergas called for it). Legal battles will keep story alive. Reputation damage is significant, recovery path unclear. Is he still relevant? Forum asks "why do people care about this donkey?" [messidona, HWZ Forum].
  • Key Takeaway: In Singapore, cannot anyhow talk about race/religion/belonging, especially if you are (ex) public figure. Social harmony is the ultimate OB marker.
PS: This whole episode is a case study in sensitive comms, political signalling, and the fragility of social harmony in SG. Also shows how fast online comments can blow up IRL.

Footnotes (For Academic Look Only):

• Channel NewsAsia (CNA), April 9-10, 2025. Multiple articles.
  • The Straits Times (ST), April 3-10, 2025. Multiple articles.
  • The Online Citizen (TOC), April 6-10, 2025. Multiple articles.
  • Mothership.SG, April 6-9, 2025. Multiple articles.
  • South China Morning Post (SCMP), April 3, 2025.
  • HardwareZone Forums (HWZ), Eat-Drink-Man-Woman section, Thread: "chiak lat! hor hor hor calvin cheng this time really xiao liao!", April 8-9, 2025.
  • Wikipedia contributors. "Calvin Cheng." Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia. (Accessed April 9, 2025).
  • Additional sources cited in main Gemini response (ISIS Malaysia, TechTarget, etc.)

WarMage87

Academic Report: Analysis of Public Discourse Surrounding Remarks by Former NMP Calvin Cheng (April 2025)

Subject:
Examination of Controversial Statements by Mr. Calvin Cheng Regarding Pro-Palestinian Activists, Subsequent Public and Official Responses, and Strategic Implications.
Date: April 9, 2025
Confidence Level: High (Derived from verified public statements and reporting from established news sources [CNA, ST, TOC, Mothership.SG, SCMP], April 2-10, 2025).

1. Abstract (TL;DR)

• What Happened: Ex-NMP Calvin Cheng (CC) posted on FB suggesting pro-Palestine activists (accused of disrupting MPS) relocate to Gaza, one-way ticket.
  • Reaction: Ministers Masagos, Shanmugam, Vivian B condemned strongly ("unacceptable," "hurtful," "crossed line"). Vivian B claimed FB hack for 'liking' post. Pergas also condemned.
  • CC's Defence: Claims sarcasm aimed at specific disruptors, not race/religion. Sued Jufrie, KJ, TOC for defamation.
  • Outcome: Significant public backlash, official rebuke. Highlights sensitivity of issue & social harmony importance.
2. Background

• Subject: Calvin Cheng, former NMP (2009-2011), Oxford alumnus.
  • History: Known for controversial public statements (e.g., 2016 ISIS comments).
  • Context: Sensitive Israel-Palestine conflict discussion in Singapore's multicultural setting.
3. Incident Details (Circa March 13, 2025)

• Target: Activists from 'Monday of Palestine Solidarity' group.
  • Allegation: Group members accused of disrupting Meet-the-People Sessions (MPS).
  • CC's FB Post: Offered to fund relocation to Gaza.
    • Specified business class for leaders.
    • Condition: Non-return to Singapore.
4. Stakeholder Reactions & Condemnations

• 4.1 Minister Masagos Zulkifli (Muslim Affairs; Social & Family Dev.)
    • Labelled comments "unacceptable," "hurtful," "crossed a line."
    • Stated remarks implied some Singaporeans don't belong if they speak up.
    • Stressed fragility of social harmony and responsibility of influential figures.
    • Noted negative impact on Malay/Muslim community.
  • 4.2 Minister K Shanmugam (Home Affairs; Law)
    • Stated "very sharply different view" from CC on Israel-Palestine.
    • Reiterated view of Israeli actions as "illegal and oppressive."
    • Advised sensitivity on the topic.
  • 4.3 Minister Vivian Balakrishnan (Foreign Affairs)
    • Denied 'liking' CC's post via his FB account.
    • Attributed 'like' to "unauthorised activity," reported to Meta.
    • Affirmed he does not share CC's views.
    • (Note: Subsequent reports mentioned Minister Tan Kiat How also accidentally liked/unliked).
  • 4.4 Pergas (Singapore Islamic Scholars & Religious Teachers Assoc.)
    • Expressed "deep consternation."
    • Called remarks "inflammatory," "dehumanising, dismissive, grossly insensitive."
    • Warned of risk to social cohesion.
    • Called for accountability and urged authorities to act.
  • 4.5 Public/Online Sentiment (e.g., HWZ Forums)
    • Predominantly negative towards CC.
    • Cynicism regarding ministers' responses (timing, 'hack' claim).
    • Comparisons drawn to past statements by other figures.
    • Minority defended CC (targeted sarcasm, unspoken sentiments).
5. Mr. Cheng's Defence & Countermeasures

• 5.1 Claimed Intent:
    • Sarcasm aimed at specific disruptive activists (incl. non-Muslims).
    • Not generalised attack based on race/religion.
  • 5.2 Stated Position:
    • Supports Palestinian humanitarian aid.
    • Believes activism must be constructive, not disrupt MPS.
  • 5.3 Legal Action:
    • Initiated defamation lawsuits against Jufrie Mahmood, Kenneth Jeyaretnam, Martyn See, TOC, Mohamed Khair.
    • Alleged misrepresentation and Islamophobia (noting police report filed by Jufrie).
6. Analysis: Key Issues & Implications

• 6.1 Social Harmony Boundary: Suggesting citizens leave due to views seen as violating core principles of belonging and inclusivity.
  • 6.2 Responsibility of Influence: Public figures' words carry weight; heightened scrutiny on sensitive topics.
  • 6.3 Geopolitical Sensitivity: Difficulty of discussing external conflicts in domestic multicultural context.
  • 6.4 Intent vs. Impact: Significant gap between CC's stated intent (sarcasm) and perceived impact (offensive, exclusionary).
  • 6.5 Political Signalling: Government response signals firm stance on social harmony boundaries.
7. Strategic Options for Mr. Cheng

• 7.1 Option: Status Quo (Defence & Litigation)
    • Risks: High costs, further alienation, uncertain outcome, prolonged negative publicity.
  • 7.2 Option: De-escalation & Acknowledge Impact
    • Acknowledge hurt caused by interpretation, possibly regret harm to harmony. Reconsider/narrow legal actions.
    • Benefits: May signal reconciliation, reduce antagonism.
  • 7.3 Option: Reduced Public Engagement
    • Temporarily reduce commentary on sensitive topics. Shift focus.
    • Benefits: Avoids further controversy. Drawbacks: Doesn't directly repair reputation.
8. Conclusion

• Impact: CC's remarks widely perceived as crossing critical social boundaries, drawing strong official condemnation.
  • Current Standing: Significant reputational damage incurred.
  • Future Outlook: Dependent on CC's next steps (litigation vs. de-escalation) and potential follow-up by authorities.
  • Wider Lesson: Reinforces paramount importance of social harmony and responsible communication on sensitive issues in Singapore.

uselessbum

I have my doubts about whether they feel that way or even that strongly about it. Especially, given how now (like close to a month after CC said it) then they all seem to be coming out of the woodwork to say something about it, even if it is something as ridiculous as "I did not like it" or "I accidentally liked it". If it weren't election year, would they even have bothered to say anything?

:(

dezzo69

incollage_save.jpg

'Unacceptable and hurtful': Former NMP Calvin Cheng's remarks on pro-Palestine activists crossed a line, says Masagos​

The way his comments were framed crossed a line, sending a message that some Singaporeans somehow do not belong if they speak up, said Minister-in-charge of Muslim Affairs Masagos Zulkifli.

SINGAPORE: Public comments made by former Nominated Member of Parliament (NMP) Calvin Cheng about a pro-Palestinian activist group in Singapore were “unacceptable and hurtful”, Minister-in-charge of Muslim Affairs Masagos Zulkifli said on Wednesday (Apr 9).

Mr Masagos, who is also Minister for Social and Family Development, was weighing in on the matter for the second time in a week.

“The way those comments were framed crossed a line. It’s not just about disagreement, it’s about the message it sends, that some Singaporeans somehow do not belong if they speak up.

"That is not something we can accept. Not here,” he said in a Facebook post on Wednesday.

In a post on Mar 13, Mr Cheng criticised a group known as Monday of Palestine Solidarity, whose members have been accused of disrupting Meet-the-People Sessions.

“I would like to sponsor them to relocate to Gaza, expenses paid by me. But only if they never come back … I am offering business class to the leaders. And to their 928 followers, can buy them some walking shoes each. Take a slow hike,” he wrote on Facebook.

His post sparked backlash, a police report and legal threats.

Mr Masagos said many people, especially those within the Malay Muslim community, felt angry and dismissed. He added that social harmony is valued and protected in Singapore.

“It has taken decades of effort, confidence and trust to build it, and that trust can be easily shaken by careless words. We must all be mindful of the negative impact we may cause to our social cohesion, especially when we are in position of influence.”

Mr Masagos said he also addressed the matter directly during his interview with Berita Harian on Wednesday morning.

“No one has the right to suggest that another Singaporean should leave the country because of a different view. We all have a stake here,” he noted.

“I’ve seen how upset many in the community are, and your frustrations are valid. But I also urge you to be guided by our values or adab - not a sign of weakness but reflects our strength and wisdom.”

MASAGOS, SHANMUGAM VOICE DISAGREEMENT​

In his remarks last week, Mr Masagos stated his disagreement with the views of Mr Cheng on the Israeli-Palestinian conflict.

“The killing of innocent lives must stop. Many have also shared their grief and frustration, deeply moved by the sufferings of innocent civilians, especially children.

"Here at home, Singaporeans of all backgrounds come together in solidarity. The fact that people of different ethnicities and religions stand united in calling for peace speaks volumes," he said on Apr 3.

"It reflects our deep values of justice, humanity, and mutual respect. I disagree with Calvin Cheng’s views about the Israel-Palestine conflict."

His comments came a day after Home Affairs and Law Minister K Shanmugam said he takes a "very sharply different view" from those expressed by Mr Cheng.

Mr Shanmugam was on Apr 2 asked about Mr Cheng's controversial post.

"Mr Calvin Cheng comments on a variety of matters – I don’t see all of them. Those that I come across: I can say some I agree with, and some I clearly disagree with," said Mr Shanmugam.

"His views on Palestine and Israel, I can say are quite different from mine. I have a very sharply different view on Israel-Palestine from Mr Calvin Cheng."

"I previously said in November 2023 that Israel's actions are illegal and oppressive to Palestinians, and that remains my view," he added.

Mr Shanmugam's comments came on the same day Foreign Affairs Minister Vivian Balakrishnan said he had reported "unauthorised activity" on his Facebook page to Meta, after a "like" appeared on Mr Cheng’s post under his name.

"I did not 'like' the post by Calvin Cheng on Mar 13, 2025. I do not share those views," Dr Balakrishnan said in a brief Facebook post. "I have since taken measures to enhance account security."

His press secretary told CNA that a report had been filed with Meta, which is investigating the matter.

"GROSSLY INSENSITIVE"​

The Singapore Islamic Scholars and Religious Teachers Association (Pergas) on Apr 6 expressed its “deep consternation” about Mr Cheng’s remarks, which it said "included inflammatory suggestions directed at members of the Muslim community in Singapore".

It said Mr Cheng’s comments, which were made in the public domain, could be interpreted as “dehumanising, dismissive, and grossly insensitive, especially in light of ongoing global tragedies that continue to cause grief to communities around the world”.

The association also called on the relevant authorities to "carry out what is necessary to protect our nation’s social fabric", saying that individuals who "incite hatred, sow discord, or make insensitive and harmful remarks must be held accountable".

In response to Pergas' statement, Mr Cheng said that his remarks were "not directed at any group defined by race or religion".

"I neither mentioned race nor religion in my post ... I directed my remarks at a group of people which included non-Muslims," he said, adding that he understood the association's sentiments and hoped it would re-read his post in this context.

Mr Cheng added that he has commenced legal action against several people, including former Singapore Democratic Party chairman Jufrie Mahmood and Reform Party leader Kenneth Jeyaretnam, whom he said have defamed him.

Mr Cheng also separately said that Mr Jufrie had lodged a police report accusing him of Islamophobia, and that Mr Jeyaretnam, activist Martyn See, alternative news platform The Online Citizen, and one Mohamed Khair had expressed or republished similar views.

Mr Cheng last week addressed the allegation that he had called for all pro-Palestinian activists to be sent to Gaza, saying that his comments were in response to the "disruptive actions of a specific group of three activists" and noting that one of them was a Chinese man.

"I expressed frustration - like many others - and used sarcasm to criticise them. I did not generalise these remarks to all activists, nor did I mention race or religion.

"I believe deeply in the justness of helping Palestinians suffering in the current conflict, and support humanitarian efforts. But activism should be expressed constructively, without disrupting vital community processes such as (Meet-The-People Sessions) where residents seek urgent help," he wrote.

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/sin...k-post-masagos-unacceptable-5054976?cid=FBcna

just a distraction from real issues.

Ethan_

he's just saying things many people dare not say
Think got caught glimpse of some of the social media interviews. Impression seems very pro establishment. But blunt also. Thus may not to people liking when told so.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.