[GE2025] The Workers' Party (WP) Discussion Thread

yperic

WP candidate introduction: Alexis Dang Pei Yuan, senior director in tech sector

d5b285.jpg

Ms Alexis Dang Pei Yuan, 39, is a business development senior director at Teads, a global advertising platform, and was previously a relationship manager in the finance sector.

She has volunteered with WP for five years, helping with house visits, Meet-the-People Sessions and organising festive events. Ms Dang was born in Singapore and spent part of her childhood in Taiwan, where her mother is from. Effectively bilingual in English and Chinese, she also contributed translation work for newsletters and parliamentary speeches.

On why she has decided to run for election, she says: “I have experienced career transitions first hand, and I know the challenges, therefore I hope that my cross-sector experience can help shape policies that support job creation, career reinvention and a more future-ready workforce.”

ST PHOTO: MARK CHEONG

yperic

WP candidate introduction: Engineering firm owner Jimmy Tan

694499.jpg

Mr Jimmy Tan Khim Teck, 53, is one of four individuals tipped to be fielded in Tampines.

The self-employed grandfather of two joined the WP in 2018 and was appointed as secretariat assistant to WP chief Pritam Singh in February 2023, then becoming Mr Singh’s legislative assistant on Jan 31, 2025.

Introducing himself at a WP event today, Mr Tan says he envisions Singapore having a "more balanced political system with opposition representation" as he believes no political party has the "monopoly on wisdom".

On concerns related to the cost of housing, education, retirement and healthcare, he believes that in order to adopt and enact citizen-centric policies, the Government has to acknowledge these concerns, gather data and "dive deep into policy research" to provide constructive policy plans to be debated and scrutinised before adopting them.

yperic

WP will not reveal where new candidates will be running in GE2025 yet: Pritam Singh

67ca0c.jpg

When asked if WP will reveal where today’s four new candidates will be running in this year’s election, secretary-general Pritam Singh responds with: “No,” adding that this “will become clear in the days to come”.

TehOPengSiuDai

The baby face is really disgusting. Looks like 40s year old auntie and keeps praising herself as baby face, Xiao Mei, small girl. Seriously, she is delusional
That’s why can join the whites because the whites are the most delusional people, keep thinking they did a good job and patting themselves on the back!

yperic

Candidates need to have a certain level of language ability: Pritam Singh

3a7625.jpg

WP chief Pritam Singh said that candidates need to have a certain level of language proficiency, in response to a comment by a Shin Min Daily News reporter that WP new faces were fluent in Mandarin.

When asked if speaking Mandarin is a key criterion for potential WP candidates, Mr Singh said that language is “important for all our communities” as a multiracial society.

yperic

Leadership renewal is an ongoing process: Sylvia Lim and Pritam Singh

cfb1ca.jpg

WP’s leadership renewal is an “ongoing exercise”, says secretary-general Pritam Singh.

When asked about the party’s plans for renewal, chairman Sylvia Lim pointed to yesterday’s manifesto launch, highlighting that she and Mr Singh did not need to be there. Referring to WP MPs in Singapore’s 14th Parliament, Ms Lim says they have learnt a lot from their time in Parliament, so they can take charge of some of these major projects already.

Mr Singh says renewal is something he “always had one eye on” when he became the party’s leader in 2018.

“You want to bring in… people who are better than me. This has been something which has always been at the centre of my work at the WP,” he adds.

yperic

Jimmy Tan's not-so-secret talent: Singing

Aside from his day job as the owner of Immanuel Engineering, Mr Jimmy Tan also boasts a not-so-secret talent: Singing.

In 2023, he won the first season of Mediacorp's Golden Age Talentime, emerging victorious with his rendition of popular Chinese oldie The Past Can Only Be Remembered.

Responding to a question from the media, Mr Tan says he has been asked to perform at WP celebration events – and will sing with residents if elected.

yperic

Ong Lue Ping chose to step away from leadership position at IMH to avoid conflict of interest

Prior to 2025, WP new face Ong Lue Ping held various senior leadership positions at the Institute of Mental Health (IMH). Between 2022 and 2024, he served as director of allied health, overseeing 10 allied health professional groups such as psychologists, occupational therapists and physiotherapists.

Still a clinical psychologist at IMH, Dr Ong continues to see patients but has made an intentional decision to step down from his leadership position to avoid conflicts of interest when he decided to enter politics.

“But it's a decision that I don't regret because basically I'm just serving Singapore in another way,” he says.

miko66

So far I at least haven’t seen a single WP candidate talking nonsense about their parents dying

Meanwhile at least 1 MIW already exposed for inconsistencies in his sob story

Most commonly statements should be they want to serve the people la ..

They're your servants sibo

Eliwood

Wow I didn't know you hate Singaporeans so much.
I also didn't know that you didn't know that the thresholds for GST voucher eligibility are 100% set by the government. The government can easily relax the requirements such that only the millionaires and above living in landed won't qualify, and according to your logic then that would mean all non-millionaires including those in HDB and condos are behkan. :o

Also, everyone got angry that the government insisted on raising GST instead of making the income tax brackets lagi more progressive, and instituting inheritance taxes. So, better kill 2 birds with 1 stone, appease the peasantry and also try to buy their votes using GST vouchers.

The biggest leech is not opening local medical training to more Singaporeans, keeping it in a few elite families, but then turning around and importing many foreign-trained doctors from known degree mill countries to serve at polyclinics and hospitals other than the prestigious ones like SGH, NUH and TTSH.

Anyone would think it's quite beh kan that a person not know how to quote and reply properly in a simple forum post.

I used GST vouchers cos of the 34k income.

I dun hate sinkies, just think SG deserves better than the beh kans lol.

I dun mind more medical sch vacancies being opened for sinkies. Of cos more subsidies will have to be given, so the taxes shd be funded by everyone, ie higher gst.

cpuer

Why you discriminate?

if an old person in Accounts or Finance wants to continue working in old age because they enjoy working?
gov allow doesnt mean company allow lo, me as example, canot go back old job liao, no matter how i loved it, simply my eyes are failing, mind are slower, all signs of aging. so how, be a cleark lor, even a clerk i also sometimes struggle as aging is real :sad:

yperic

What's in the WP manifesto?

WP launched its 122-page manifesto yesterday, touching on issues such as cost of living, Build-To-Order flat prices and dental care.

Here's what you need to know:

PAP only has one pattern, which is about making sure Singapore survives the recent Trump madness. To use a technical jargon, this is an economic *shock* none of us have ever seen since the end of the last World War.

As I see it, the US is going to implode with its tariff war with China. It's a battle between a people who not too long ago worked in sweatshops earning as little as US$1 a day which was what drew US companies to set up shop in China, and a people who only knew how to organise wildcat strikes with their powerful unions to demand higher wages and shorter working hours. It's easy for Trump to say, set up your factory in the US and you don't have to pay tariffs. But how much do you have to pay those angmos? Do you think they will work 996 for you? Fat hope!

Inflation followed by a deep recession is the making. Trump's making. The US dollar will lose value, and some countries are already trading in Indian and Chinese money. RIP, greenback. There are works going on to make the Euro the currency of choice because nobody trusts the US system anymore.. China sold one trillion USD treasury bonds. The next financial nuclear bomb would be selling US$ 2 trillion cooperate equity and loan stocks. It will send the US economy and financial markets into a tailspin. Watch the S&P 500, Dow Jones and Nasdaq, stay tune right.

Those Americans can't even afford to pay for decent healthcare (remember Obamacare?), and now their costs of living are set to rise. Prices for essential goods, necessities. A country which accounts for almost one third of the world's GDP will as sure as hell bring about the headwinds of economic turbulence to Singapore. China will not escape either because this is a battle fought for mutual damage, and a race to the bottle between the two of them.

To cut to the chase, we will see more retrenchments and I feel sorry for the generations which are still in school or doing their NS, waiting to come out, enter a tertiary institution or go out to work. Who are they? Answer: they are your children. Or grandchildren.

Pritam Singh will lead us through and we will land safely?

Some of you, or perhaps most of you here, since this forum has an oppies majority representation, may sneer and say I am an Ib lar! I am fearmongering lar! Singapore will survive lar! Vote them out larRRRR!!!!

Suits you man.

If you think that instead of countries lining up to book an appointment to go to China to meet with Xi as in the recent past, it is Xi himself getting off his not-too-comfortable armchair in zhongnanhai to make a southern tour, and meet with, among others, the chair of ASEAN which is currently Malaysia, all is still well, then you are deluded. What else must happen before you wake up and see the events that are unfolding at a breakneck speed as a watershed that Singaporean voters cannot afford to play tikam taakm with?

I place my trust in Lawrence Wong and his team, and I am as much entitled to vote as you are. You cannot stop me. Not even if you get me bend..something which some of you did to me in the past.

More...

The WP and the other oppies, I have yet to hear anything from them regarding the upside down world economic order. Of course they will say, oh! we are not here to form the government, we are not ready! We only want to be the check and balance. Rar rar rarrr!

They are selling small man's stuff. I am more interested in what they can do in terms of checks and balance regarding policies that deal with the external economic environment because if MNEs collapse, SMEs are in limbo, trade deals are abandoned, and the law of the jungle replaces the rule of law, you will get what you want: FTs and FWs will leave faster than Pritam can *whisper* his manifesto into your ears.

It's not a time to play gutter politics, or dance to the gallery saying all the things you'd like to hear (rape stories included?). It's not a time for WOKESISM.

It's time to rally around the government to work together as citizens and government along with employers to weather through at least these four years till Trump steps down. It so happens that this to-be-government's term coincides roughly with Trump's term. Give them a strong mandate. If you think Pritam is the man for the job, then vote him to become the PM. I will settle for nothing less. If Pritam is so good, then let him become the PM. I don't want to see dancing around the gallery. And I don't need economics lessons from Jamus either.
Sir/Mdm, My learned friend LMW think other wise,, listen his first question

sg best position becos 10%

Leong Mun Wai asks PM Wong if free contest of ideas beats groupthink amid US tariff fallout

LMW omit this question from his FB.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.