Invest in a time trial/triathlon bike , aero road bike with clip ons or my current regular round tubed steel bike with clip ons? *

Sadisticnoob

I am not an absolutist. If a nice disc brake one comes along i am open to it as well if it checks all my boxes. Having rim means just 1 or a few less things to worry about.

I just looked on carousell typing in BMC Time machine there are a few options but at this point I am still looking and considering

PS. Parts getting rarer is why I stock up on spares whenever I can. (E.g) On my steel bike I have enough spare parts for every part to build the bike 3 times over and since it uses uniglide, I have 10NOS sets
I have one bmc Time Machine lying around tt , 11 speed . But rarely use.

Really waste of money , di2 prices are dropping now I think 105 di2 is Around 1.3k -1.5 k new on carousel .

I have one bmc Time Machine lying around tt , 11 speed . But rarely use.

Really waste of money , di2 prices are dropping now I think 105 di2 is Around 1.3k -1.5 k new on carousel .
I am fluid on my choice between rim or disc, but I am firmly within the mechanical camp. I've seen what issues it can bring (bricked systems, battery damage, cant charge, etc. etc.) and of course the costs. I am of the opinion that most people don't need electronic shifting at all. It's just a nice to have thing 🤷‍♀️

Maybe it's just me but once I've ridden a bike for a while, I'd go for stockpiling spare parts for it. Just in case. Never know when you'll need it

Can Or Not

Just use your normal road bike and put clip on aerobar can liao don’t need waste money
Triathlon Bicycle seat tube angle is different. So road bike won’t make the cut. But it really depends how serious he is for triathlon.

I am not sure about the specific rules tho. I've seen quite a few (aero) road bikes with clip on bars in the last t100.

Am just a small fry- toddler in the sport. Came over from cycling

WussRedXLi

Of course I don't expect top and or even di2 stuff. (Mechanical is fine and actually what I prefer. No need for 12 speed. 10 or 11 is fine for me, I am not a satki pro with 400w FTP like you 🥲😅)

But you never know sometimes you can get lucky. Maybe some rich guy just wants to get rid of it and doesn't care about losing money.

I've worked on di2 fully integrated hydraulic TT bike and it put me off ever wanting to own one myself

Singapore T100 duathlon Triathon is full of climbs. For triathlon that is 3 sheares bridge climbs and 2 smaller flyover climbs, 5 laps of nearly +700m elevation gain. Standard distance duathlon 2 laps and long distance duathlon 4 laps. Can just use Road Bike, dont think each other as any significant +ve wrt amateur age groupers unless if you are super fast.
For sprint distance here (eg Metasprint), with a bike leg so short of 18km, not sure if the investment is worth it or not, even though the % between all distances is still there (it's after all just a %) but issue is that a 18km bike leg would be over so fast. So to plonk down min 5k is like....heh. Unless if you rich lah.
So basically SG is only 1 middle distance serious race per year.
Just put a pair of clip ons, not optimal but still sufficient.

If going to Malaysia for their ironman and triathlons, then maybe can invest in specific TT bike.
Coz the distance is so much longer and spend so much time on the bike.

Singapore T100 duathlon Triathon is full of climbs. For triathlon that is 3 sheares bridge climbs and 2 smaller flyover climbs, 5 laps of nearly +700m elevation gain. Standard distance duathlon 2 laps and long distance duathlon 4 laps. Can just use Road Bike, dont think each other as any significant +ve wrt amateur age groupers unless if you are super fast.
For sprint distance here (eg Metasprint), with a bike leg so short of 18km, not sure if the investment is worth it or not, even though the % between all distances is still there (it's after all just a %) but issue is that a 18km bike leg would be over so fast. So to plonk down min 5k is like....heh. Unless if you rich lah.
So basically SG is only 1 middle distance serious race per year.

If going to Malaysia for their ironman and triathlons, then maybe can invest in specific TT bike.
Coz the distance is so much longer and spend so much time on the bike.
The more climbs the better, it's what I am better at and about the only place I can drop those whom I can't or barely hang on with on the flats. Of course there are still riders better than me at at both and all I can think is with enough dedicated consistent training maybe one day I can be like them too or at least close

Not now due to work but last year when I was not working or just part time, i was going to Faber or sentosa as much as 5 times a week.

I've heard of the meta sprint but haven't dived deep into it deep yet on what its like but if my riding at tmcr is anything to go by and if it's flat I probably would flunk in it.🥲

WussRedXLi

The more climbs the better, it's what I am better at and about the only place I can drop those whom I can't or barely hang on with on the flats. Of course there are still riders better than me at at both and all I can think is with enough dedicated consistent training maybe one day I can be like them too or at least close

Not now due to work but last year when I was not working or just part time, i was going to Faber or sentosa as much as 5 times a week.

I've heard of the meta sprint but haven't dived deep into it deep yet on what its like but if my riding at tmcr is anything to go by and if it's flat I probably would flunk in it.🥲

Yep, so if it's your current strength with regards to your power to weight watts/kg then maybe can just focus on T100 Singapore. It's a solid and very very well organized race of international standard. Probably significantly better than Ironman events (i have not tried ironman tho but based on other countries' comments). Like the run leg, every 1.5k got aid station with ice and gels and sponges fruits etc. Of coz it's just a loop afterall but still scenic enough la.

Yeah i train a fair bit at Sentosa coz near my house here @ South side. Rolling still ok. Faber a bit tougher and probably closer to what T100 training needs, maybe go down Morse road and ride up Kg Bahru, you'd be golden with 5 laps of Faber liao.

Metasprint is basically Nicoll Highway and parts of Republic Ave. Mainly flat, but 18k is over fast lah. It can still be a fun race for the hobby.

Yep, so if it's your current strength with regards to your power to weight watts/kg then maybe can just focus on T100 Singapore. It's a solid and very very well organized race of international standard. Probably significantly better than Ironman events (i have not tried ironman tho but based on other countries' comments). Like the run leg, every 1.5k got aid station with ice and gels and sponges fruits etc. Of coz it's just a loop afterall but still scenic enough la.

Yeah i train a fair bit at Sentosa coz near my house here @ South side. Rolling still ok. Faber a bit tougher and probably closer to what T100 training needs, maybe go down Morse road and ride up Kg Bahru, you'd be golden with 5 laps of Faber liao.

Metasprint is basically Nicoll Highway and parts of Republic Ave. Mainly flat, but 18k is over fast lah. It can still be a fun race for the hobby.
If I ever do participate in any events it would likely be in Singapore. Overseas events are going to be a big headache logistics wise, time and costs as well.
I talk about triathlon all this while but it's really closer to a duathalon for me😅 the only time I get to swim is if I sacrifice a swim or run session on the weekends or if I call up my friend to let me in to his condo to use the pool , but sometimes either he's not there or by the time I get home on weekdays ,it's already closed.

I stay in the east, so the only 1 real climb here is Hendon road but it gives strong haunted vibes💀easy Access to the house tmcr tho. If I do loops on Faber it's the morse side loop , not the super loop which includes the Bahru side🤷‍♀️ usually 3 to 8

WussRedXLi

I am not sure about the specific rules tho. I've seen quite a few (aero) road bikes with clip on bars in the last t100.

Am just a small fry- toddler in the sport. Came over from cycling

T100 is quite ok......even foldies and fitness bikes can take part, if i am not wrong mountain bike also can. Just no e-bikes or tandem, BMX. haha.

If not just email them, they reply quite fast.

WussRedXLi

If I ever do participate in any events it would likely be in Singapore. Overseas events are going to be a big headache logistics wise, time and costs as well.
I talk about triathlon all this while but it's really closer to a duathalon for me😅 the only time I get to swim is if I sacrifice a swim or run session on the weekends or if I call up my friend to let me in to his condo to use the pool , but sometimes either he's not there or by the time I get home on weekdays ,it's already closed.

I stay in the east, so the only 1 real climb here is Hendon road but it gives strong haunted vibes💀easy Access to the house tmcr tho. If I do loops on Faber it's the morse side loop , not the super loop which includes the Bahru side🤷‍♀️ usually 3 to 8

Yep that is why. SG ok liao lah. Want running B type race, just go for parkrun experience. At most run 2 rounds of parkrun (10km) and try to lap others. haha.

Some cyclists fly over to Mallorca Spain even or similar for cycling holidays, some take sabbatical leave for hobby. pocket deep deep.

For me not so attas. I chinese bike only, play foldie and road bike choose di2 105 7170 can liao. (it's like racewalking and running, you can train enough to racewalk at 5:10 min/km pace for 2.4km...haha).

IF really spoil untill cannot repair, just throw and get a new bike. haha, dont fuss it.

Even running shoes, nowadays Qiaodan Plaid can liao, more than enough to cut it.

T100 is quite ok......even foldies and fitness bikes can take part, if i am not wrong mountain bike also can. Just no e-bikes or tandem, BMX. haha.

If not just email them, they reply quite fast.
I looked online and there was this article about the guy who did it in BMX, seems like an special exception granted.

Most of the bikes I see there are still triathlon bikes that are VERY expensive

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.