[GE2025] Sembawang GRC

steven jialat

“If residents vote for Dr Chee Soon Juan and he becomes the MP, he becomes in charge, I cannot do that. I won't be able to do that because his job is not to work with me. His job is to challenge me, and his job is to challenge the government,” said Mr Ong, who is the party’s assistant treasurer.

singsangsong

“If residents vote for Dr Chee Soon Juan and he becomes the MP, he becomes in charge, I cannot do that. I won't be able to do that because his job is not to work with me. His job is to challenge me, and his job is to challenge the government,” said Mr Ong, who is the party’s assistant treasurer.

Aiya ask him diam diam and make more TikTok videos can already

mike-q

this is LKY said "Aljunied has 5 years to regret and repent"

zeebrugge

He is not wrong
I just came back from Woodlands Stadium, it's my first time seeing Ong Ye Kung in person, He has a good authoritarian stance. I'm not voting this year 'cos my MP is Tin Peiling, so I have the freedom to hop around and watch others' rallies.

492326637_24272220489032942_6855797462061589891_n.jpg

agndessy

Timestamp for Ong Ye Kung statement

"Lets keep school open (during covid outbreak), We kept their hope alive."

But SG education still couldn't create someone like elon musk, bill gate, steve jobs, jensen huang, sam altman, alexandr wang and more...

virtualape

Ask him to ask why eld carve out semb west smc...give him more trouble only.

If I were him, I'm will fight the smc with csj. Semb grc is steady enough. Don't have him makes no difference.

qhong61

Ask him to ask why eld carve out semb west smc...give him more trouble only.

If I were him, I'm will fight the smc with csj. Semb grc is steady enough. Don't have him makes no difference.
Cos Ong is not mp for Sembawang west.

Notbbfa

New pre-schools, primary school and sheltered linkway to Sembawang MRT in the works: Ong Ye Kung​

https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...way-to-sembawang-mrt-in-the-works-ong-ye-kung

SINGAPORE – Residents in Sembawang GRC can expect new developments such as more pre-schools, a high sheltered linkway to Sembawang MRT station and a new primary school in East Canberra by 2029.

Health Minister Ong Ye Kung announced these upcoming initiatives on March 23 at the opening of two new facilities in the Bukit Canberra integrated sports and community hub.

Forest Gym, an outdoor obstacle course, is dubbed the largest outdoor ActiveSG gym in Singapore. The other facility, Canberra Cove, is a water play area for children.

In a speech at the opening, Mr Ong – who is the anchor minister for Sembawang GRC – said the Ministry of Education is supportive of his proposal to build another primary school in East Canberra.

He added that he is hopeful of getting good news from the ministry in the near future, and said residents will have another primary school by 2029 if “all goes well”.

Turning to pre-schools, he said there will be new centres at two Build-To-Order (BTO) projects – Canberra Vista and Sun Sails. Each will have 300 places.

A larger pre-school with 400 places will be built in East Canberra, he added.

“So therefore, in the coming two years, we will add 1,000 pre-school places in Sembawang town,” Mr Ong said.

He also told residents that a high linkway will be built across Sembawang Way – a road with two lanes in each direction – to provide a sheltered path to Sembawang MRT station.

Work will start soon, and the structure is slated to be ready by the end of 2026, he added.

Sembawang GRC MPs Lim Wee Kiak, Mariam Jaafar and Poh Li San attended the opening of the two facilities at the 12ha Bukit Canberra integrated sports and community hub.

The MPs tried their hand at clearing the obstacles – which include a traverse wall and vertical rope climb – at the Forest Gym during a tour of the facilities.

Sembawang resident Dennis Lim, 50, was showing his son, Jayden, eight, how to clear the log jump.

“This obstacle reminds me of my time in the army during national service,” said Mr Lim, a shipping executive. “These obstacles will be great for my son to prepare for NS.”

A short distance from the obstacles, Canberra Cove was popular with children and adults.

There are two water play areas – one is a big, shallow wading pool while the other consists of areas with water fountains.

Mr Ong said more facilities at Bukit Canberra will open soon, including a dog run park, a new public library at the former Admiralty House as well as community and thematic gardens.

When Sembawang Shipyard moves out to Tuas in 2026, it will open up a big waterfront area for development, he noted.

Some 8,000 BTO flats and 2,000 private homes will be built in the upcoming 53ha Sembawang North estate.

Sembawang’s heritage area, known for its old black-and-white bungalows, may also see some development as 20 of the more than 100 bungalows have recently been tendered for commercial use that includes restaurants, chalets and retail.

Mr Ong brought up Sembawang’s charms, such as being close to the sea, having a kampung mosque, a hot spring, forested areas and being close to Johor Bahru.

“We’ve got so many kampung folks still living here,” he said.

“So the vibe here is different. They are different from many towns in Singapore. And so we develop the town, but take care of a special characteristic.”

• Zaihan Mohamed Yusof is senior crime correspondent at The Straits Times.
isn't the birthrate declining in sg? why build more new schools and preschools leh

carlongerdidu93

Spencer Ng: NSP is a responsible, constructive opposition party
https://www.straitstimes.com/live-singapore-election-nomination-day-2025

The National Solidarity Party (NSP) is a responsible and constructive opposition party that voters will want to see in Parliament, says party secretary-general Spencer Ng (below, extreme right) during an interview after a morning walkabout in Woodlands.

e2f862.jpg

Mr Ng notes that Health Minister Ong Ye Kung had devoted much of his time to countering the Singapore Democratic Party (SDP) at the PAP rally on Thursday, and says this is a “subtle acknowledgement” that NSP is a credible and responsible opposition force.

The PAP, SDP and NSP are engaged in a three-way contest for the five seats in Sembawang GRC in the upcoming general election.

Joining Mr Ng on the NSP’s Sembawang GRC slate are businessman Yadzeth Hairis, lecturer Verina Ong, swim coach Raiyian Chia and associate lecturer Lee Wei.

They make their rounds in Woodlands North Plaza and Block 780C Woodlands Crescent on Friday.

Mr Ng also says that opposition unity is becoming a fantasy, as “various political leaders” have shown that they do not want to avoid three-cornered fights.

He says he is willing to work with SDP chief Chee Soon Juan

– who is contesting Sembawang West SMC

– if both parties win seats in GE2025, but Dr Chee must also be open to such cooperation.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.