[GE2025] Jalan Kayu SMC

buzzlightyear852

Bro Ng really roller coaster emotions this GE.

1. Arm chio when appointed to Jalan Kayu SMC thinking will parachute in
2. Sweat underwear when WP announce they are contesting
3. Over the moon on nomination day seeing WP fielding a newbie
4. Changing underwear again after hearing Andre Low's rally last night....

NCM lao gar gui kor

carlongerdidu93

Speaking at WP rally a ‘surreal experience’: Andre Low
https://www.straitstimes.com/live-singapore-election-nomination-day-2025

For Mr Andre Low, who grew up attending WP rallies, being on stage as a speaker was a “surreal experience”. Last night, he delivered his first rally speech to an enthusiastic crowd in a muddy field in Anchorvale Crescent – WP’s first live rally in 10 years.

After the event he handled some admin work, had a late dinner and slept less than three hours. By 7am this morning, he and his team were back on the ground, doing house visits around Jalan Kayu.

4da21a.png

Despite the lack of rest, the staff product manager at a global fintech firm says he is “still feeling energised from the rally”.

While taking a break at a coffee shop this afternoon, Mr Low was approached by a supporter who showed him his mud-caked slippers after braving wet conditions to attend the rally.

“It felt like (the rally) resonated with people and the crowd. I could feel that they were with me, understanding the message, so I was riding the high for quite a while,” says the WP new face, who is facing PAP’s Ng Chee Meng in the contest for Jalan Kayu SMC.

488d1b.png

Mr Ng, 57, a former defence chief and Cabinet minister, is a one-term MP who served in Pasir Ris-Punggol GRC between 2015 and 2020. He led a PAP team to contest Sengkang GRC in GE2020, but lost to WP by a small margin.

Mr Low, 33, relishes the challenge of facing a political veteran. Jalan Kayu SMC, newly carved out of Ang Mo Kio GRC, has 29,628 voters. It has a significant number of young families and elderly residents living there.

The father-to-be is confident in his ability to represent the younger generation. He also hopes to convince older voters that he is attuned to their needs.

“Some of this feedback is very specific, but I want to listen because if I have the privilege of being elected, I intend to look into these issues and try to get them resolved for our residents.”

ST PHOTOS: KIMBERLY KWEK

TopGun

For Andre to have a chance, he needs to come to Jalan Kayu and have a rally here.

Otherwise, he won't get enough visibility simply from a 10 minute speech that is recorded online that not many people get to watch.

He needs to be visible, talked about. be in the minds of the voters. Otherwise, most of the residents of Fernvale will just vote the party that they are familiar with.

The Jalan Kayu residents should know that WP has given you the opportunity to vote for an alternative party that is competent.

BBClone

Is there any accountability at all for the NTUC Income saga?

Or just No Blame culture again?

TUV2008

For Andre to have a chance, he needs to come to Jalan Kayu and have a rally here.

Otherwise, he won't get enough visibility simply from a 10 minute speech that is recorded online that not many people get to watch.

He needs to be visible, talked about. be in the minds of the voters. Otherwise, most of the residents of Fernvale will just vote the party that they are familiar with.

The Jalan Kayu residents should know that WP has given you the opportunity to vote for an alternative party that is competent.

The best is for him to set up a Prata stall at jalan Kayu and give away free in the morning as breakfast

sbv7230

I watched his speech 3 x…
Really can feel his sincerity n righteous spirit to fight for his people..
Got the iron in him n I really hope he gets the chance to prove himself & give sinkies the talent we are looking for..
This guy I can guarantee will not sleep in parliament 😅
He will surely speak and ask questions without inhibitions or prejudice in the chamber.
We don’t need candidates to smoke us with 50% do not pay taxes tagline.. It means sinkies are lowly paid n taken for a ride all this while ..
I urge all JK residents to give this gem a chance to shine brightly for the ward n Sg.
For NCM, he can sell NTUC ins after the elections since he likes to sell things..

TopGun

I must say that the WP channel recording don't capture the true gusto he had.

I watched the Business Times stream and the audio quality was so much better and he came out so much stronger.

zwHrebmeM

Read the quote below. You say leh?
NCM changing the narrative to "where got wrong? we were doing the right thing"
this has been going round the fernvale grp chats…

y7QywU3.jpeg

🤦

Jln Kayu residents deserve to know the truth before they cast their votes!!!

ServerGuySG

Never Trust Union Chief

This NCM very dodgy , he sell he don't know the terms and conditions of the Allianz deal but how can it be as he is the CEO of NTUC...lol

byfun

Later pap claim credit leh.. stopped the sales in time for Sinkie benefits ... this is how a screw up also can turn into a narrative of protecting sinkies interest.

If not for on the ground uproar and debates in Parliament raising awareness they also wont back off. Same as SimplyGo issue .. all is already decided until tio huge backslash liao then Uturn. Same NRIC saga... can even say NRIC number no big deal .. later also Uturn...

All is kena jialat liao then uturn. Only thing no uturn is when come to money and hikes.. uproar also useless sure pass and press ahead.

BBClone

Read the quote below. You say leh?
NCM changing the narrative to "where got wrong? we were doing the right thing"

Jln Kayu residents deserve to know the truth before they cast their votes!!!

Is this from the PAP IB chat?

This explanation is full of holes. Gahment will never let NTUC go down.

zwHrebmeM

Is this from the PAP IB chat?

This explanation is full of holes. Gahment will never let NTUC go down.
Whether the chats were sanctioned by PAP or not, I dunno.
But there'd be those naive ones who'd take it at face value

carlongerdidu93

492760768_122158288586569721_7682256681233355833_n.jpg

493266682_122158288598569721_4192451611809581382_n.jpg

492887759_122158288592569721_6140691733058167310_n.jpg

492795202_122158288580569721_961254235192827085_n.jpg

Low Wu Yang Andre 刘宇扬's FB Post:

Just wrapped a full and fulfilling day meeting residents across Jalan Kayu SMC.

Starting at Fernvale Park in the morning, we moved to 441 Fernvale Road and its surroundings before wrapping up at 455 Sengkang West Avenue.

It was heartening to see the WP message resonating with so many, even as we discussed areas of improvement in the frank conversations we had. Many even showed me the muddy slippers they had worn to yesterday's rally!

PS: in case you haven't seen my IG/FB story, I'm running an "Ask Me Anything" where you can send me any questions that you have! I hope to answer as many of them in the coming day or so.

#JalanKayu #wpsg #WorkingforSingapore #notwhite #ge2025

zwHrebmeM

492760768_122158288586569721_7682256681233355833_n.jpg

493266682_122158288598569721_4192451611809581382_n.jpg

492887759_122158288592569721_6140691733058167310_n.jpg

492795202_122158288580569721_961254235192827085_n.jpg

Low Wu Yang Andre 刘宇扬's FB Post:

Just wrapped a full and fulfilling day meeting residents across Jalan Kayu SMC.

Starting at Fernvale Park in the morning, we moved to 441 Fernvale Road and its surroundings before wrapping up at 455 Sengkang West Avenue.

It was heartening to see the WP message resonating with so many, even as we discussed areas of improvement in the frank conversations we had. Many even showed me the muddy slippers they had worn to yesterday's rally!

PS: in case you haven't seen my IG/FB story, I'm running an "Ask Me Anything" where you can send me any questions that you have! I hope to answer as many of them in the coming day or so.

#JalanKayu #wpsg #WorkingforSingapore #notwhite #ge2025

Andre, 加油! 💪

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.