LW - nobody reacted during awkward moment during CCK rally

xcodes

I know of PR after 8 years are still PR and have not thoughts of applying for citizens

In my office, there are 3 women who are from various countries and got their citizenship here. All 3 are in their 40s, unattached and definitely have no plans to give birth.

I know another few PR who converted to citizenship but their spouses remain as PR and have no plans to convert to citizen. These groups of people blatantly told me that the only reason they converted to citizenship is because to get the benefits of a citizenship. Once they are old, they will use their spouses citizenship to go back to their country and retire.

so based on the few scenarios above, I have to disagree with your assumptions that most of the PR has the intention to be committed to our country.

They are just thinking for their own benefit.

Just to add. if they want to buy HDB, both PR MUST convert to citizen first. then they can get the benefit of a citizen -> which is to buy HDB. Not when they are still holding a PR status

nicely said ... and ...

if these foreigners run back to their own country later, they should be taxed 80% ~ 90% of their gains ...

junlove

I know of PR after 8 years are still PR and have not thoughts of applying for citizens

In my office, there are 3 women who are from various countries and got their citizenship here. All 3 are in their 40s, unattached and definitely have no plans to give birth.

I know another few PR who converted to citizenship but their spouses remain as PR and have no plans to convert to citizen. These groups of people blatantly told me that the only reason they converted to citizenship is because to get the benefits of a citizenship. Once they are old, they will use their spouses citizenship to go back to their country and retire.

so based on the few scenarios above, I have to disagree with your assumptions that most of the PR has the intention to be committed to our country.

They are just thinking for their own benefit.

Just to add. if they want to buy HDB, both PR MUST convert to citizen first. then they can get the benefit of a citizen -> which is to buy HDB. Not when they are still holding a PR status
I understand how you feel, but statistics is statistics. >80% of them become citizens, your experience is not the norm.

If by the time a couple both become citizens then buy, they will have lost a lot of time and money compared to the rest. it's not viable. their kids will be Singaporeans too you know?

As i said, the key is how to improve the numbers to more than 90% or more, and how to disincentivise them if they decide not to become citizens. tax them gao gao i m ok :D

haiyata

I understand how you feel, but statistics is statistics. >80% of them become citizens, your experience is not the norm.

If by the time a couple both become citizens then buy, they will have lost a lot of time and money compared to the rest. it's not viable. their kids will be Singaporeans too you know?

As i said, the key is how to improve the numbers to more than 90% or more, and how to disincentivise them if they decide not to become citizens. tax them gao gao i m ok :D

whatever. too lazy to debate liao.

Nuclear Boy

Why is it we cannot learn to work together instead, helping one another so that we can face the world together? Stealing each other's lunch is supposed to be a thing?
Because when we're fighting against one another, THEY can "steal" from us behind our backs while we're too busy to look.

It's the classic 'divide-and-conquer' tactic. Question is: Who are the ones with the profit motive?

Sad Panda

90% be like... tax the rich also not my taiji, i pay and pay my hdb loan and inflated COL till pain, maybe let the rich pay abit like not bad hor...

the 10% from marine parade cheer because knn all those staying landed

Akky85

I have to side with Haiyata for this. From the point of my 1st job until now, I have only met 1 single couple from Msia that BOTH converted to citizenship. They have been here since their early working life and they decided to really sink roots here.

And that's it. 1 such couple. And 1 big point here was both set of parents ALSO converted later on as well alongside their siblings.

The rest is really 1 half each, bait the citizenship to buy a house here but back home in Malaysia, already farmed landed + cars and retire both set of parents already. Either that or when they reach early-mid 30s, go back Msia perm to live as a family or start a business there.

junlove

rei_the_rebel_cat

i can see from my estate's stats, most families one will convert to citizen (to get their kids into Nanqiao primary school) while the other will hold PR / work permit.

I have yet to see a couple fully dive in and both convert to citizens. The rationale was best coined by my ex-boss from Germany.

He said, "I have to be mad to give up my German citizenship. In times of war / crisis, Singapore will be done for as a country with no natural resources (not even agriculture). While as a German, I have the full protection from both the EU and a country rich with resources."

Btw, he is here just to work and set up HQ here simply for tax benefits.

End of the day, he will sell his apartment at a massive profit, and return to his home country.

hammerstrike

Oppo should keep hammering this point at their rallies or press. Maybe at tmr debate also

Yesterday PM say that opposition MPs will increase tax on those owning private property and landed estate. That’s better than raising GST and other taxes!

junlove

i can see from my estate's stats, most families one will convert to citizen (to get their kids into Nanqiao primary school) while the other will hold PR / work permit.

I have yet to see a couple fully dive in and both convert to citizens. The rationale was best coined by my ex-boss from Germany.

He said, "I have to be mad to give up my German citizenship. In times of war / crisis, Singapore will be done for as a country with no natural resources (not even agriculture). While as a German, I have the full protection from both the EU and a country rich with resources."

End of the day, he will sell his apartment at a massive profit, and return to his home country.
yes, that is the ground effect, but from a bigger lens, the influx vs outflow is as such, 30k+ PRs given, some give up, 20k+ becomes citizens each year (who were PRs from previous many years ago). at a steady state, we need to see the numbers of those becoming citizens go up. That's all i'm saying.

In steady state, most of them i.e. 7/10, barring any change in stats, will be singaporeans. The crux is, what are we doing to improve the numbers, what are we doing to disincentivise them if they bail out.

Weeli85

Yes, we want more opposition to come to vote for wealth tax... thank you LW 😙😙

haiyata

I have to side with Haiyata for this. From the point of my 1st job until now, I have only met 1 single couple from Msia that BOTH converted to citizenship. They have been here since their early working life and they decided to really sink roots here.

And that's it. 1 such couple. And 1 big point here was both set of parents ALSO converted later on as well alongside their siblings.

The rest is really 1 half each, bait the citizenship to buy a house here but back home in Malaysia, already farmed landed + cars and retire both set of parents already. Either that or when they reach early-mid 30s, go back Msia perm to live as a family or start a business there.

these is similar what I see from the ground.
Not from those sitting in the Ivory towers.

junlove

Oppo should keep hammering this point at their rallies or press. Maybe at tmr debate also

Yesterday PM say that having more opposition will increase property tax on those owning private property and landed estate. That’s better than raising GST and other taxes!
The rich should be prepared to pay more taxes for nation building, we're already blessed with low taxes at the higher tiers. Nothing wrong to increase, of coz will have complaints, but as typical Singaporeans, as long other rich also kenna, over time it will be ok. Not as if they cannot find ways to get richer...

the difficulty is to increase it at levels which will be enough to get more govt revenue, yet don't cause big shakes to economy, that's the tough thing to do

which maybe it's why they choose to slap GST across, easier mah... i dunno

junlove

these is similar what I see from the ground.
Not from those sitting in the Ivory towers.
i'm a stats person, i don't care what you observe or what i observe, i care about true numbers.

few of my JC buddies got PR wifus, all became citizens liao, so 100% converted in SG? no right?

haiyata

i'm a stats person, i don't care what you observe or what i observe, i care about true numbers.

few of my JC buddies got PR wifus, all became citizens liao, so 100% converted in SG? no right?

even if there are 9 out of 10 PR convert to citizens, as long as their spouse are not citizens, there is a loophole that they can escape back to their countries when shat hits the fan here.

unless both spouses convert to citizens, then I will see them committing to sinkieland.

Else it's just stats.

u choose what u believe. I choose what I believe.

that's it

have a good day

iammole

he must be like... knn who wrote this speech all these poohbor live in hdb like they understand our pain if they tax the rich!!!

he knew his neighbours upon hearing this will be scared, but unfortunately those pple down the stage watching the rally are all not his neighbours.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.