[GE2025] Sembawang GRC

grevq80o

SINGAPORE: A co-driver with one hand on the steering wheel and one foot on the pedal makes for a dangerous ride, but if the car crashes, it is the main driver who will be made to bear the responsibility, said Health Minister Ong Ye Kung on Wednesday (Apr 30).

Speaking at a rally for Sembawang SMC, Mr Ong brought up an analogy from the 2011 General Election, when the opposition was seeking to make inroads into parliament.

Back then, the presence of the opposition was labelled as a co-driver sitting next to the main driver - the ruling People’s Action Party (PAP) - whose job was to “slap his head” when the main driver falls asleep, explained Mr Ong.

“I must say, by and large, I do not disagree with that analogy and that there is a role for the opposition. That GE, the opposition won Aljunied GRC. But then when the opposition presence grows and expands to another GRC, that co-driver becomes more than a co-driver. He becomes also a backseat driver,” he said.

That person would start instructing the main driver on what to do and what route to take, but ultimately the driver can still make the call. “You are still in charge, but you just take in the ideas and process it,” said Mr Ong.

“But if after this GE, the PAP loses another three, four GRCs, then I think likely the co-driver will have one hand on the steering wheel and say ‘I also want to drive’. If he’s bold enough, he says, ‘My one leg also go over. You step the accelerator, I step the brake. We drive together’,” he said.

“It will then become very dangerous. We may be at risk of crashing.”

And if the car crashes, “the PAP driver” will have to bear the responsibility as the co-driver will claim to be just that – a co-driver.

“I fear and I worry this is the direction that we are heading towards,” said Mr Ong, who is anchoring the ruling party's Sembawang GRC slate.

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/ge2025-ong-ye-kung-sembawang-grc-pap-opposition-5099891
OYK, U ownself fear and u worry 就好, I am not casting my vote based on fear and terror u created and meticulously sticking it to me!

Kiwi8

SINGAPORE: A co-driver with one hand on the steering wheel and one foot on the pedal makes for a dangerous ride, but if the car crashes, it is the main driver who will be made to bear the responsibility, said Health Minister Ong Ye Kung on Wednesday (Apr 30).

Speaking at a rally for Sembawang SMC, Mr Ong brought up an analogy from the 2011 General Election, when the opposition was seeking to make inroads into parliament.

Back then, the presence of the opposition was labelled as a co-driver sitting next to the main driver - the ruling People’s Action Party (PAP) - whose job was to “slap his head” when the main driver falls asleep, explained Mr Ong.

“I must say, by and large, I do not disagree with that analogy and that there is a role for the opposition. That GE, the opposition won Aljunied GRC. But then when the opposition presence grows and expands to another GRC, that co-driver becomes more than a co-driver. He becomes also a backseat driver,” he said.

That person would start instructing the main driver on what to do and what route to take, but ultimately the driver can still make the call. “You are still in charge, but you just take in the ideas and process it,” said Mr Ong.

“But if after this GE, the PAP loses another three, four GRCs, then I think likely the co-driver will have one hand on the steering wheel and say ‘I also want to drive’. If he’s bold enough, he says, ‘My one leg also go over. You step the accelerator, I step the brake. We drive together’,” he said.

“It will then become very dangerous. We may be at risk of crashing.”

And if the car crashes, “the PAP driver” will have to bear the responsibility as the co-driver will claim to be just that – a co-driver.

“I fear and I worry this is the direction that we are heading towards,” said Mr Ong, who is anchoring the ruling party's Sembawang GRC slate.

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/ge2025-ong-ye-kung-sembawang-grc-pap-opposition-5099891
Very funny logic from this siao lang Ong.

hardindex

but at least i wont be forced to get the vaccination.
can you list all the stuff that was force mandatory since 2020 by singapore government?

Since 2020, the Singapore government has implemented several mandatory policies—some due to COVID-19, others as part of long-term governance strategies. Below is a categorized list of key forcefully enforced measures (with legal/consequence-based compliance):

1. COVID-19 Related Mandates

a. Vaccination/Health Measures

• Vaccination-Differentiated Measures (VDMs) (2021–2023)
    • Required for:
      • Dining in at F&B establishments
      • Entering shopping malls, workplaces, and events
      • Travel (e.g., no quarantine for vaccinated travelers)
    • Penalty: Unvaccinated individuals faced restricted access.
  • TraceTogether/Token Mandate (2020–2022)
    • Compulsory for entering public venues (malls, cinemas, etc.).
    • Replaced by SafeEntry (QR check-in).
  • Mask Mandates (2020–2023)
    • Fines for not wearing masks indoors/public transport (up to $10,000 for repeat offenders).
  • ART/PCR Testing for Certain Groups
    • Mandatory regular testing for migrant workers, healthcare staff, and unvaccinated workers (2021–2022).

b. Quarantine & Travel Restrictions

• SHN (Stay-Home Notice)14–21 days quarantine for incoming travelers (2020–2022).
  • Home Recovery Program (2021–2022) – COVID-positive individuals legally required to isolate at home.

2. Non-COVID Mandatory Policies

a. Digital & Financial Compliance

• PayNow Corporate Mandate (2023)
    • All businesses must register for PayNow Corp by 2025.
  • Cashless Parking (2023) – All public car parks must use digital payment (no cash).

b. Sustainability & Health

• Plastic Bag Charge (2023) – Supermarkets must charge at least 0.05–0.05–0.10 per bag.
  • Sugar Tax (Announced for 2024–2025) – Mandatory levy on high-sugar drinks.
  • HDB Green Renovation Rules (2024) – Restrictions on non-sustainable home modifications.

c. Employment & Education

• SkillsFuture Mid-Career Checkpoint (2025) – Mandatory career guidance sessions for workers aged 40+.
  • Compulsory Cybersecurity Training (2024) – For all public sector employees.

d. Security & Surveillance

• Digital ID (Singpass Face Verification) – Required for all government services by 2025.
  • TraceTogether Data Retention (2020–2021) – Police could access data for criminal investigations.

3. Controversial "Soft Mandates" (Quasi-Forced Compliance)

• CPF Contribution Adjustments – Automatic increases for older workers (2022–2025).
  • HDB Ethnic Integration Policy (EIP) QuotasForces racial balance in housing estates.
  • NS (National Service) Obligations – Stricter enforcement for defaulters (2023–2025).

Public Sentiment & Pushback

• COVID-19 measures faced protests (e.g., anti-vaccine mandate rallies).
  • Digital mandates (e.g., TraceTogether) raised privacy concerns.
  • Sustainability policies (e.g., plastic tax) seen as cost burdens.
Would you like a deeper dive into any specific policy’s enforcement?

jinsadndepress

Eh, if the car crash, both the lives of the driver and co-driver are at risk. What a stupid analogy.

I believe in the strength of the diverse team greater than the sum of the individuals, especially in the context of the current incumbent, where yes men and group think are so prevalent
Because he ish in ivory tower , controlling rc car that sinkies are in

If crash oops sorry just buyed new rc car :s13:

mcylo

oyk is also at risk wor. remember he was also a reject and rode on the coat tail of heavy weight minister thru the back door.

泥菩萨过江自身难保

Roadster01

The time when someone need pull your steering wheel is when a learner-driver heads toward a wall, other vehicles or pdestrian and instructor need intercept to pull you away.

askxyz

check and balances are only effective when there are at least 1/3 oppy to block senseless bills and policies from the ruling parties :o

q(Oo.oO)p

Because he ish in ivory tower , controlling rc car that sinkies are in

If crash oops sorry just buyed new rc car :s13:

Really is 一代不如一代, the things our ministers, even current PM, say, isn't building any confidence. The smarter ones are keeping quiet and keeping a low profile and just collect votes

jeffprobst

Without co-pilot with opposition assist on the verge of crushing already. Stop insinuating fear la.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.