[GE2025] The Workers' Party (WP) Discussion Thread

TopGun

It's fair to say mature voters should be able to distinguish between personal missteps and serious lapses that affect public interest. Andre’s narrow loss is unfortunate with many factors clearly influenced the outcome (i.e. long weekend, bias national mouth piece media reporting, having former PM and current PM standing in to help out).

As for those who voted for NCM despite his silence and role in the NTUC sale, it does raise real questions about how some voters assess credibility and accountability. No need to insult, but it’s worth reflecting on why such a decision made sense to them, especially when public trust should be earned, not assumed.

The Allianz saga is quite a distant topic for a segment of the voters. They either don't know, or don't care. And then there's the core group that votes along party line and rationalized the Allianz decision.

And PAP tactically ignored the issue and voters allowed it.

luckygal

You are wrong, no one wants current govt to fail. You need constant checks and reminders to make sure that current govt won't fail us, the citizens.

Applies to any ruling party, not just PAP. Unless you are suggesting single party rule - like the one in China - is good.
You’re wrong. Read what was written here. Anyway whatever floats your boat.

luckygal

Sometimes sinkies needs to learn the hard truth. Last time in 2001 also spread fears then many sinkies still jobless for years.
Some people would be jobless regardless of which party is the govt. User problem.

jeffprobst

The Allianz saga is quite a distant topic for a segment of the voters. They either don't know, or don't care. And then there's the core group that votes along party line and rationalized the Allianz decision.

And PAP tactically ignored the issue and voters allowed it.
Yes, that’s the frustrating part. The seriousness of the NTUC sale and Ng Chee Meng’s silence was clearly downplayed, it did have some impact, as seen in the tighter margin. Still, the fact that he won suggests a worrying trend that some voters either brushed it off or didn’t weigh it heavily enough, which raises concerns about how accountability and trust are valued. It’s not about blind opposition but it is about expecting integrity from those in public office.

NTB2DO

You’re wrong. Read what was written here. Anyway whatever floats your boat.
You are generalizing, are you not?

Opinions here are not representative of that of all opposition voters/supporters.

NTB2DO

Yes, that’s the frustrating part. The seriousness of the NTUC sale and Ng Chee Meng’s silence was clearly downplayed, it did have some impact, as seen in the tighter margin. Still, the fact that he won suggests a worrying trend that some voters either brushed it off or didn’t weigh it heavily enough, which raises concerns about how accountability and trust are valued. It’s not about blind opposition but it is about expecting integrity from those in public office.
Provided if the NCM/PAP voters are even aware of it..

Sylar22

Whichever ward WP field its good candidates, PAP would just switch their own heavyweights over at the last minute

Prob 2 heavyweights (1 DPM and another heavyweight minister)

It’s nvr easy for oppo to make inroads

It is made even more difficult with extensive redrawing of boundary
This election even Aljunied got some boundary redrawn i think and more polling stations despite having lesser voters
Agree with your analysis, they had to make do with whatever resources / scarce info at the last minute and field in their best team.

jericho75

i think he should just stay at home and do nothing. now should quit ntuc and go work in the prata shop as janitor. everytime i go there eat, i sure laosai. dunno issit they add some extra ingredient in my prata kosong.

When I sit at the toilet my Lau sai come out but I never make the mistake of thinking that my Lau sai come out because I sit at the toilet

Hyruga

WP should have gone marine parade grc to fight la. Can talk about TCJ there.

TopGun

The Allianz issue is more keenly felt by a certain demographics. Just like how Harpreet will appeal to a particular profile of people. Ultimately, not everyone appreciates the co-driver analogy, nor the need for check and balances in the govt.

At the most basic level, many still expect their MPs to be highly paid estate managers, which is quite sad.

Sylar22

hope the critics here will go contest in GE 2030. dont just talk only. i hope to see more andre low/ jeremy tans contesting. feel like i can really relate to them.
hopefully got more woke youngsters come and fight for us.

jericho75

Some people would be jobless regardless of which party is the govt. User problem.

2001 is alot even study university of western Australia come back also jobless.

Maybe you were still too young to been through that period so it is easy to assume

shawntyq

Wp shld just remain where they are. Voters just aren’t worth risking for. Punggol just overhype themselves as young voters. End up majority also vote pap.

Slowdown

LW should write a letter of appreciation to Pritam Singh:

1. For getting rid of LMW.
2. Prevent Chee from going to Parliament.
3. Helping his best friend keeps his job.

And gently remind PS that he should have done a little better to keep NCM out of JK.

Sauzan

I don't think he made a mistake in his deployment for the WP-held wards.

People are worried about the global situation, and there will be a flight to safety, as evident. By keeping most of their current slate, they give voters reassurance to vote them in.

Maybe he could have somewhat changed for the contested areas, just a maybe.

Capitalist

Last time Low TK left hougang SMC and went to contest in Aljunied GRC taking a big risk of losing in aljunied GRC and then becos of his absence lose hougang too.. If that happened, WP today will be like Chiam See Tong PPP? or PSP liao.. and we have 0 oppo in parliament. But in the end the gamble paid off and north-east side became WP stronghold extending now to sengkang.

So next election, WP may have to take the gamble again. Pritam goes to Punggol , Jamus goes to Tampines for example... taking risks cos if Pritam , Jamus lose then jialat, heavy weight gone.
If folks accuse PAP to dare put ministers/heavyweights to anchor GRCs, at the risk of losing them, … by the same basis, WP can also do the same.

If the same confidence exists.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.