[GE2025] The Workers' Party (WP) Discussion Thread

alvincy

they did send some WP there but PAP didnt get tricked

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/sin...kover-nomination-day-tan-see-leng-out-5080761

A few Workers' Party (WP) new faces including Jeraldine Phneah and Linda Low were spotted at the nomination centre on Wednesday, but they did not submit their nomination papers.

Jeraldine maybe but Linda is a regular volunteer and was not intro as a potential candidate.

I'm thinking of Jeralding, Ang boon Yaw, Tan Kong Soon, LiLian and Abdul Shariff. This will make PAP to think twice to move TSL or not.

atamavision

hammerstrike

I tink it's a win for WP from the point of strengthening of SK and Aljunied holds, plus 2 additional NCMP. Also managed to get a high share of votes in its other contested area. In this election, it has re-asserted itself more strongly than before as the most preferred opposition.
Yes good renewal of new members into parliament for them. 3 new faces as MPs and 2 NCMP = 5 new faces in parliament.

in GE2030, you will have Jamus, He Tingru and Louis Chua as 10 year MP veterans plus these five new faces will have 5 years parliamentary experience. They also have Sylvia and Gerald Giam as long time parliament veterans. Many people to act as anchors to deploy to other GRCs.

LoneTraveller

Pritam Singh already said in his rally speech that it is incredibly difficult for an opposition to flip a SMC/GRC held by a PAP incumbent, so no surprises they didn't flip any seats, even though they gave a good fight in Tampines and Jalan Kayu, but still a poor 38% win rate for WP if you consider the number of seats they contested and how many of those seats they won.

Hard for WP to flip PAP GRC/SMC, and it's equally hard (if not, harder) for PAP to flip WP held GRC/SMC.
Actually should say it's good as their first timers get over 40% despite redrawing of boundaries, new citizens and Trump tarrifs.

It shows they have the support of the voters in those areas. There will come a time when despite redrawing of boundaries and new citizens, wp will win if pap continues their foreigners first policies as new citizens will become old citizens and kena from their policies.

atamavision

It will be interesting for GE30. Punggol Tampines Aijunied can't really gerrymanderded much. WP will have 5 years to walk the ground for Punggol & Tampines. Faisal can have his rematch with Masagos. GYK will be 71 by next GE and need to stay till 76 if win, so may have chance he retire.

This GE, PAP and mainstream media focus alot on tariffs leading to recession impact fearmongering. Should it not come, WP and other Opps will smack on it. Should it come, voters can eventually rate PAP performance.
I think come GE30, Tampines GRC Anchor Minister should be David Neo, with Masago retired

for Punngol, GKY and probably Janil will step down and you see another Minister parachute in.

NTB2DO

The only beef I have with WP GE2025 strategy is they spread the team too evenly. it seem to me WP was hoping to win in both Tampines and Punngol.

To win a GRC is a very tough challenge in SG. Considee the hype about Harpreet before GE, I would have put Harpreet into Tampines team, together with Faisal, Eileen, Dr Ong and Michael.

Focus on Tampines since you are sending Faisal over. Aim to win 1 GRC at a time. I told this to my friends right after nomination day that WP too ambitious in their line up strategy.

btw, if Leon and Nicole had controlled themselves, Sylvia should have moved to Punngol, team up with Alexis, Kenneth and Siti Alia
I believe PAP regarded Hapreet to be the biggest 'threat' among the WP newbies? If Hapreet goes to Tampines, chance is, they'll move GKY there as well..

yperic

MP elects from the Workers' Party in Aljunied GRC, Sengkang GRC and Hougang SMC were out and about on Sunday morning (May 4) to thank residents for their votes in #GE2025.

It was the only opposition party to be elected to parliament, having won 10 seats in total. The party failed to make gains in any new constituencies, but entrenched its incumbent positions in Aljunied GRC, Sengkang GRC and Hougang SMC.

Alakama

They need to consider minority representation also. Punggol requires an Indian ethnicity minority candidate. So it can only be Harpreet or Pritam to have a winning chance.

Alakama

I think come GE30, Tampines GRC Anchor Minister should be David Neo, with Masago retired

for Punngol, GKY and probably Janil will step down and you see another Minister parachute in.
Lol. You totally forgot about Koh Poh Koon who is currently SMS. But rightfully so.

Eureka75

GE2025: WP did well despite vote swing to PAP, says Pritam​

https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...id-well-despite-vote-swing-to-pap-says-pritam

SINGAPORE - In an initial assessment of his party’s electoral performance, Workers’ Party chief Pritam Singh attributed the swing against the opposition to people giving Prime Minister Lawrence Wong a strong mandate amid a difficult international environment.

In this context, the WP had done “very commendably”, consolidating its hold over Aljunied GRC, Sengkang GRC and Hougang SMC, he said.

Even in the other five constituencies that it did not win, the party’s candidates “came really close”, the 48-year-old Leader of the Opposition told reporters.

“I’m very proud of the results in Hougang, Aljunied and Sengkang, where we have consolidated the position of the party,” he said.

“I couldn’t be prouder of the team. I think they did a very, very good job. They fought very hard, they tried very hard for each vote, and I think they should be proud of themselves, and I’m very proud of them.”

Mr Singh was speaking at a doorstop interview at Block 630, Bedok Reservoir Road market on May 4, a day after his party failed to gain new ground at the polls, despite anticipation that it might win a new constituency.

WP won Aljunied GRC with 59.68 per cent of the vote, Sengkang GRC with 56.31 per cent and Hougang SMC with 62.17 per cent. It lost in Punggol GRC, Tampines GRC, East Coast GRC, Tampines Changkat SMC and Jalan Kayu SMC, with its teams garnering above 40 per cent of votes.

Based on its results in Jalan Kayu SMC and Tampines GRC, WP will be able to send two Non-constituency MPs into Parliament. When asked, Mr Singh said the party had not made a decision on the matter.

As the polls closed at 8pm on May 3 and results trickled in over the course of the night, the ruling PAP saw a nationwide swing in its favour with 65.57 per cent of the popular vote, compared with its 61.24 per cent share in 2020.

The WP’s vote share, meanwhile, inched down slightly from 50.5 per cent in 2020 to 50 per cent this time around.

Amid the showing, there have been suggestions that the party may have made tactical missteps by stretching its higher-profile candidates thin across two new battlegrounds in Punggol and Tampines GRCs, instead of consolidating them in places like East Coast GRC, where it previously got 46.61 per cent of the vote in the 2020 General Election against a PAP team led by Deputy Prime Minister Heng Swee Keat.

Some also questioned the party’s decision not to contest in Marine Parade-Braddell Heights GRC, seemingly taken at the last minute. The WP has contested in the constituency since 2015, prior to the redrawing of electoral boundaries.

Of the party’s strategies, Mr Singh said he was proud that WP was not boxed in by electoral boundary changes, adding that the party’s capacity to “break out” of its original stomping grounds to move into other areas “speaks well of (it) organisationally”.

“In hindsight, everybody is a master, but I am actually very warmed by how the party responded to the Electoral Boundaries Review Committee report,” he added.

In moving from Marine Parade-Braddell Heights GRC to Punggol GRC, the party also did very well, said Mr Singh, adding that he was “delighted at how quickly the party was able to pivot its resources” towards the new constituency.

Mr Singh was also asked if WP should have fielded more established candidates in Tampines GRC and Jalan Kayu SMC, where the party lost by narrow margins. He said that while he understood the reasoning, the party’s strategy was based on its understanding of the ground.

“If you put somebody else, then either you weaken another team, or you strengthen another team, and then your overall strategy is... not in equilibrium any more,” he said.

With the national vote swing of about 5 percentage points towards the PAP, “there’s always going to be one party that’s going to be on the ascendancy, (and) one party that is not”, he noted.

He pointed to similar patterns in the 2015 election, where the WP did not win any new constituency, and in 2020, where voters instead swung in the opposition’s favour and the WP took Sengkang GRC.

Such “gyrations” were likely to keep happening in future elections, he added.

Meanwhile, WP chair Sylvia Lim, 60, also speaking at the interview, said the results presented the party with a chance for renewal, as several of its “up and coming young leaders” were elected into Parliament.

She noted that three of the 10 elected MPs will be new MPs, namely, Mr Fadli Fawzi and Mr Kenneth Tiong in WP’s Aljunied team, and Mr Abdul Muhaimin from its Sengkang team.

“So I mean, having been in this business for quite long, I do see that there’s an opportunity here for us,” she said.

This election, the WP had also pulled further apart from other smaller opposition players, some of which performed badly enough to lose their election deposits.

Mr Singh declined to comment on the results of other parties when asked, but said : “They know how they did, why they did, where they put their chips.”

He also addressed the WP’s decision not to address talks with other opposition parties to avoid multi-cornered fights.

“I would just say that we’ve got our agenda, and they’ve got their agenda,” he said.

“I wouldn’t be surprised to see more three- or four-cornered fights in the future, but we have to be clear as a party why we are going to a certain place and whether we can give the voters there a good fight and make sure that we can represent them faithfully in Parliament. That would be our objective.”
Judging from this election results, I thought the nation wide swing to PAP will end up with WP losing Sengkang but they didn't, means voters agree WP did a good job managing their estate. Non WP contested wards have average vote share of 71.4% for the PAP, if not for the stellar results of WP, PAP will have 70% of the votes. This election shows Singaporeans associate credible opposition as WP and the other parties as mosquito parties whom got trashed by a large margin by PAP. So most of the high calibre people joining opposition will join WP.

Eureka75

Actually outside of Aljunied /Sengkang + Hougang, WP introduced a lot of new candidates this time round.

Managing to get this kind of results not bad leh.

Andre Low 34 years old newbie got more than 48% against a former Minister in a SMC carved out from PAP stronghold AMK GRC is nothing to be scoffed at.
Newcomer Andre got 48.5% of the votes against an infamous NTUC chief is considered good result

krikering

The only beef I have with WP GE2025 strategy is they spread the team too evenly. it seem to me WP was hoping to win in both Tampines and Punngol.

To win a GRC is a very tough challenge in SG. Considee the hype about Harpreet before GE, I would have put Harpreet into Tampines team, together with Faisal, Eileen, Dr Ong and Michael.

Focus on Tampines since you are sending Faisal over. Aim to win 1 GRC at a time. I told this to my friends right after nomination day that WP too ambitious in their line up strategy.

btw, if Leon and Nicole had controlled themselves, Sylvia should have moved to Punngol, team up with Alexis, Kenneth and Siti Alia
If you firsthand see their grassroots at play at the different nomination centres, you know how scary their entire machinery is. At Kong Hwa school, they had like a 100+ battalion with PAP Flags and wearing white shirts, etc.
They had Walkie-talkies and vehicles were parked outside of the school waiting to transport their candidates.

PAP will just adapt their slates for each GRC/SMCs according to the team of candidates WP put up for them respectively.
They have TCH, etc. on standby too.

If Harpreet was in Tampines, they might have put TCH or NEH, etc. there too.
No way to outcompete PAP on the resources aspect, PAP has the overwhelming edge.

PAP Grassroots, Data available to them but withheld to opposition + Main Stream Media with all the different political bodies just ensures the PAP's visibility is much higher than the opposition counterparts and that the fearmongering tactics work. Don't forget all the chicken wing gestures, etc.

WP not stupid, there was a reason why they played so conservatively this GE.
Everybody was shocked at them not contesting MP-BH and PS/SL not venturing out.

Now we know the reason(s) why.

Eureka75

If you firsthand see their grassroots at play at the different nomination centres, you know how scary their entire machinery is. At Kong Hwa school, they had like a 100+ battalion with PAP Flags and wearing white shirts, etc.
They had Walkie-talkies and vehicles were parked outside of the school waiting to transport their candidates.

PAP will just adapt their slates for each GRC/SMCs according to the team of candidates WP put up for them respectively.
They have TCH, etc. on standby too.

If Harpreet was in Tampines, they might have put TCH or NEH, etc. there too.
No way to outcompete PAP on the resources aspect, PAP has the overwhelming edge.

PAP Grassroots, Data available to them but withheld to opposition + Main Stream Media with all the different political bodies just ensures the PAP's visibility is much higher than the opposition counterparts and that the fearmongering tactics work. Don't forget all the chicken wing gestures, etc.

WP not stupid, there was a reason why they played so conservatively this GE.
Everybody was shocked at them not contesting MP-BH and PS/SL not venturing out.

Now we know the reason(s) why.
Its because Sinkies become humchee when PAP is playing tariff fear everyday, so WP also play safe by retaining Pritam, Sylvia and Gerald at Aljunied instead of Sylvia and Faisal both go 10KKJ. Results turn out to be right when those mosquitoes are squashed flat by PAP and WP have a 0.4% swing to PAP also

xEpyonx

Pritam Singh already said in his rally speech that it is incredibly difficult for an opposition to flip a SMC/GRC held by a PAP incumbent, so no surprises they didn't flip any seats, even though they gave a good fight in Tampines and Jalan Kayu, but still a poor 38% win rate for WP if you consider the number of seats they contested and how many of those seats they won.

Hard for WP to flip PAP GRC/SMC, and it's equally hard (if not, harder) for PAP to flip WP held GRC/SMC.
Lawrence Wong and LHL go Aljunied sure flip back to PAP

Eureka75

WP performance in 10KKJ is not bad considering Singaporeans are kancheong about tariffs and want to give Voucher Wong a strong mandate to fix tariffs issues. PAP have 14.4% swing against them and even the useless no support party that have been contesting 10KKJ all the while have a 33.4% swing until there is only 200+ votes for them.

Balian

dont kid yourselves
Lost 1 key senior MP
Zero new seats won
Its a big setback for wp

many joined because wp won sk grc during last GE
This gave people hope that wp is gaining momentum but PAP has broken wp’s momentum, how many will step forward to join wp and contest in 5 years time with such results? How many current candidates would still be contesting in next GE?

GE2025 result is total domination by PAP
They wiped out all other opp parties and stopped wp from gaining any new seats and lost a senior mp

zero lost of seats/MP by PAP, even the worst of the worst ncm was able to win.
Giving those who voted him out and those who made noise about ntuc a big slap in the face

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.