30s-50s chitchat club

jeffprobst

I will never trust any recruiter. But that's just me
nowadays i tried not to take recruiter words or read too much about the interview. both can say a lot of flowery language to court you but end of the day, they will ghost or reject you in an instant for whatever reasons. the feedback might not even be the authentic feedback why i was not shortlisted, anyway.

ZacharyA

4.5 years was my longest stint with one company.

For the role in interviewed last week, I was a bit surprised when the feedback came back saying the other shortlisted candidate could “do more” across broader topics especially since the recruiter had been hyping me up over those candidates as we do the same scope in previous place but I have broader exposure across topics and functions over those candidates.

4.5yrs is ky.

I too is in a toxic environment and previously worked for > 3yrs and > 4yrs in last 2 roles.

1st 2 roles only 2yrs each for career progression :flash:

Milo-Dino

4.5 years was my longest stint with one company.

For the role in interviewed last week, I was a bit surprised when the feedback came back saying the other shortlisted candidate could “do more” across broader topics especially since the recruiter had been hyping me up over those candidates as we do the same scope in previous place but I have broader exposure across topics and functions over those candidates.
Hmm how come you know the identity of other candidates?

jeffprobst

any idea if its possible to do coloscopy without anesthesia ?

few months back read about some lady who ended up in a coma after doing gastroscopy in Korea... I know colo is erm, the other end, but still...
i thought usually need to, cause is superb uncomfortable. theres the other scope through the mouth also same.

ZacharyA

nowadays i tried not to take recruiter words or read too much about the interview. both can say a lot of flowery language to court you but end of the day, they will ghost or reject you in an instant for whatever reasons. the feedback might not even be the authentic feedback why i was not shortlisted, anyway.

Recruiter has self interest, if they shortlisted and want to represent you (and a few others), he / she genuinely want to close also. Whether which one kana the job eventually (or not) is not within his power... He can only present and sell koyo.

The actual koyo is the candidates themselves.

A lot of times is see right place right time one, sometimes you are a good fit and has the right skillset but the HR lousy or bias also no choice. Cheers

Autumn.

any idea if its possible to do coloscopy without anesthesia ?

few months back read about some lady who ended up in a coma after doing gastroscopy in Korea... I know colo is erm, the other end, but still...
logically? i dont think so. but the lokun are very cautious abt anesthesia leh. I do have a track record that i do not do well with anesthesia, i do not wake up easy even tho i am mind-conscious while eyes close and unable to move. My last endoscopy they had tried to complete it asap and wake me up. so total 30 minutes. my drinking habit doesnt help . usually drinkers will require more anesthesia

highsulphur

Recruiters are in a sense worse than insurance or property agents as they are totally unregulated. They will say or do anything to close the deal. I have called out their bluffs so many times

jeffprobst

4.5yrs is ky.

I too is in a toxic environment and previously worked for > 3yrs and > 4yrs in last 2 roles.

1st 2 roles only 2yrs each for career progression :flash:
lol. same earlier i also max 2 years. mine was

1.3y (doing sales but not good at it) >
2y (for progression and exposure) >
2.5y (for progression and exposure) >
1.2y (toxic environment) >
4.5y (role i enjoyed the most but got complacent) >
6 months (restructuring, role not stable) >
1.5y (take care family and toxic environment)

mostly recruiter mentioned no issue with my experience but more of the hopping around, so i need to secure the interview and explain myself, and hopefully, hiring understand reasons of me leaving the previous employement.

jeffprobst

Recruiter has self interest, if they shortlisted and want to represent you (and a few others), he / she genuinely want to close also. Whether which one kana the job eventually (or not) is not within his power... He can only present and sell koyo.

The actual koyo is the candidates themselves.

A lot of times is see right place right time one, sometimes you are a good fit and has the right skillset but the HR lousy or bias also no choice. Cheers
agreed on this. i never have successful job through recruiter anyway. but this one year have to rely on them since job market really brutal. hard to even secure interview.

jeffprobst

Recruiters are in a sense worse than insurance or property agents as they are totally unregulated. They will say or do anything to close the deal. I have called out their bluffs so many times
yup. there's bad recruiter that just push you for a role they promoting. just last year, got one recruiter pushing for a role but she was misrepresenting the whole scope. when i pointed out, and rejected the role, she still insisted me to try. then she reject me while forcing me to make the decision to accept the role within a day. i jitao file a complaint on the recruiter and block the agency.

Autumn.

lol. same earlier i also max 2 years. mine was

1.3y (doing sales but not good at it) >
2y (for progression and exposure) >
2.5y (for progression and exposure) >
1.2y (toxic environment) >
4.5y (role i enjoyed the most but got complacent) >
6 months (restructuring, role not stable) >
1.5y (take care family and toxic environment)

mostly recruiter mentioned no issue with my experience but more of the hopping around, so i need to secure the interview and explain myself, and hopefully, hiring understand reasons of me leaving the previous employement.
i would never mention the toxic . Not implying u had in anyway to the hirers
i would say, i have to make decisions that isnt in-line with my morales and work ethics

jeffprobst

out of the 20+ interviews in the past 3 years or so, almost all of which were arranged by outsourced recruiters, only 2 gave me any feedback/closure at all

one was really generic and not even "authentic" like you said, saying something like "they quite liked you but felt the other candidate was more suitable" :s13:
yeah lor. lol. it hard to get feedback from recruiter.

jeffprobst

i would never mention the toxic . Not implying u had in anyway to the hirers
i would say, i have to make decisions that isnt in-line with my morales and work ethics
no la. in interview cannot badmouth the previous employer. i just shared with recruiter cause need to be align mah. For my last role, i just brought up the parents health which is real. i mean if they want to question, i can always push the hospital records for them to see. lol.

jeffprobst

Hmm how come you know the identity of other candidates?
i dun know exactly. is the recruiter say one. so i suspect maybe the recruiter also push another candidate to up his probability mah. if they ended up selecting all the candidates he pushed for, then he guarantee his commission liao.

jeffprobst

actually was in a dilemma if the other company really work out then i need to airplane my friend. i guessed now no need to worry so much.

ZacharyA

out of the 20+ interviews in the past 3 years or so, almost all of which were arranged by outsourced recruiters, only 2 gave me any feedback/closure at all

one was really generic and not even "authentic" like you said, saying something like "they quite liked you but felt the other candidate was more suitable" :s13:

Sometimes could it be the hiring company didn't disclose much to the recruiter as well? As they also work with multiple recruitment agencies and not exlcusive.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.