Market continues to crash

kgluong

That guy owns a few M worth of individual big tech stocks

The only time I will own individual stocks is day trading. Own it for a few seconds before selling it. Unless it's real estate companies, individual stocks imo is just too dangerous to hold on for long term investments.

My brother do day trading for 1 to two hours a day (most of the time but not always) before going to his day job. He makes a few thousand a day. Sometimes he lose too. But on average he does make a few thousands tho. He keeps a record his wins and loses in spread sheets.

Day trading is too much clicking tho. In 1 or 2 hours he traded 200+ millions worth of stocks (buy and sell within seconds of each other). That's a lot of mouse clicking. Told him he should automated the process and give me the script to so I can those sweet money. He told me it's all guts and a little luck so no automation.

His tax report papers is taller than him. Lololol.

kgluong

Leveraged 3x works very differently, it rebalances daily. In a sustain bull yes you earn more then the non-leveraged, but if goes up and down, over longer periods, you might not even earn. it's meant for trading and/or hedging, not the same as holding the basic index ETFs leh...

Well tell that to all the people buying 3x leverage. I can tell you I make money doing 3x leverage long term.

TQQQ 10 years returned is 29%. But you can do a lot better if you know when to buy the dip and when to sell. In just two month people earned 50+% in the last dip.

At the end of the day index including 3x leverage is much safer than individuals stocks.

This guy made 103% since 2021 holding tqqq. He did add more money buying dips in his reddit post. Lololol. Keep in mind it's 3x leverage and if NASDAQ goes south so will your account at 3x faster. You have to stomach the lost. The posters lost a lot of money two months ago from market drop. He bought more tqqq when it dipped and now at -0.3% down from ytd. He should make a million by fall or earlier if Nasdaq keep going up. It all depends on tariffs negotiations.

junlove

Well tell that to all the people buying 3x leverage. I can tell you I make money doing 3x leverage long term.

At the end of the day index including 3x leverage is much safer than individuals stocks.
i understand 3x leveraged can work, but how it works needs to be understood. You understood Decay, others here might not.

e.g. QQQ is back to Dec 24 price, but TQQQ is near NEGATIVE 20% back to Dec 24 price. New investors might think that 3x leverage means 3x returns magnified, but don't understand about daily rebalancing and longer term decay.

cyke69sg

I'm trying to learn something because I'm really not financially savvy.
I have a friend like you. Worked for a company that gave phantom shares.

One day the company got offer to be bought out. His phantom shares suddenly worth millions.

He cashed out got rich retired early. Now is landlord with several properties.

But he knows NUTS about stock market and financial markets interest rates bonds yields spreads options crypto technicals.

Goes to show it is easier to just be in the right company at the right time.

dereth

I have a friend like you. Worked for a company that gave phantom shares.

One day the company got offer to be bought out. His phantom shares suddenly worth millions.

He cashed out got rich retired early. Now is landlord with several properties.

But he knows NUTS about stock market and financial markets interest rates bonds yields spreads options crypto technicals.

Goes to show it is easier to just be in the right company at the right time.

Yes. I really know nothing. I already reiterated many times, I was not given much as a low-level employee. I only fix computers. I bought most of what I have with my salary at an employee discount.

I chose to invest in the company I worked for.

I'm really trying to gain more financial knowledge. What's wrong with that?

And what the heck is a phantom share anyway?

kgluong

i understand 3x leveraged can work, but how it works needs to be understood. You understood Decay, others here might not.

e.g. QQQ is back to Dec 24 price, but TQQQ is near NEGATIVE 20% back to Dec 24 price. New investors might think that 3x leverage means 3x returns magnified, but don't understand about daily rebalancing and longer term decay.

There is decay but decay isn't a problem if you're going long because NASDAQ and the other major indexes out pace whatever minor decay there are.

There are a lot of people holding tqqq long term and keep adding to it every time their are dips. I personally made money holding on long term but I do buy and sell 3x short term too.

Ten year average for tqqw is close to 30% but this guy made 103% in 4 years.

cyke69sg

Yes. I really know nothing. I already reiterated many times, I was not given much as a low-level employee. I only fix computers. I bought most of what I have with my salary at an employee discount. I chose to invest in the company I worked for.

I'm really trying to gain more financial knowledge. What's wrong with that?

And what the heck is a phantom share anyway?
Nothing wrong to learn. It is good you do. My friend dowan to learn. What you been doing past 7 years? You very lucky. There are also companies that go bust in fact more go bust than hit big. But sometimes is also cos dunno anything so just blue blue all eggs in that basket went big too.

My friend now manage property and tenants. Gets stressed when tenant moving then have to find new tenants. Mind you this is in Canada. People not easy to deal with. Find wrong tenant destroy property or don't pay rent siao liao

Phantom shares are a form of stock compensation, but rather than issuing shares upfront, they’re an agreement to pay the recipient in the future.

But in actual fact, no shares are issued at all. Instead, the recipient receives a cash bonus equal to the value of the phantom shares at the time of payment.

dereth

Nothing wrong to learn. It is good you do. My friend dowan to learn. What you been doing past 7 years? You very lucky. There are also companies that go bust in fact more go bust than hit big. But sometimes is also cos dunno anything so just blue blue all eggs in that basket went big too.

My friend now manage property and tenants. Gets stressed when tenant moving then have to find new tenants. Mind you this is in Canada. People not easy to deal with. Find wrong tenant destroy property or don't pay rent siao liao

Phantom shares are a form of stock compensation, but rather than issuing shares upfront, they’re an agreement to pay the recipient in the future.

But in actual fact, no shares are issued at all. Instead, the recipient receives a cash bonus equal to the value of the phantom shares at the time of payment.

Wow ok... Thanks for the lesson. 👍

soulblader_89

d3dZ1PT.png

AuraKUPO

See what I told you? Today drop 0.5% tomorrow up 1.5%! This is exactly what happened now. SPX to 7000 this month is becoming real. Jip!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.