'Be shrewd in assessing the motives of people who seek to get close to you': PM Wong to PAP MPs

Crooni

let's not forget milo used her to sell milo

cpib should investigate if got any business or financial ties for her to promote a commercial product

Darkshadows

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/lawrence-wong-pap-mps-rules-parliament-5158091

Many are altruistic, public-spirited individuals who will help "without wanting anything in return".

"But a few will seek to cultivate you to obtain benefits for themselves or their companies, to gain respectability by association with you, or to get you to influence ministries and statutory boards to make decisions in their favour," said Mr Wong.

"Gift hampers on festive occasions, dinners and entertainment, concert tickets and personal favours big and small are just some of the countless social lubricants which such people use to ingratiate themselves to MPs and make you obligated to them."

"Both in conduct and perception, you must stand above any hint of favour or influence," the prime minister added.

MPs may also often be approached by friends, grassroots leaders or businesspeople to officiate at the openings of new premises or other business events.

As a general rule, they should decline invitations to such events, said Mr Wong. But if they feel the need to attend, they should seek prior approval from the PAP's party whip, Dr Janil Puthucheary, who continues in the role.

Earlier this month, private dinners involving convicted money launderer Su Haijin and ministers Chee Hong Tat and Ong Ye Kung made headlines after pictures of the gatherings circulated online.
Sounds so familiar. Remember chicken wings? I'm glad I made the right choice when voting.

Medicated Oil

Set up a special task force to review all the identities of the Happy Meal attendees in the future.
Do not attend the dinner before the review.
Give the team one week to review the attendees.
This will help the advisors to reduce their risk of exposing to undesirable strangers.

Ironside

Some MPs are good, but only very few. They do not anyhow entertain the requests for his special help from Grassroot leaders, tell them to serve from their heart and not ask for any return.

Senna Wales

This kind of veiled message is what any company will send out in a memo when something actually happened, not just a precaution.

TA20222025

Why only say now?

And hor, if it were Pritam Singh or Sylvia Lim having dinner with those billionaire folks, I wonder what would have happened....

Treated as pariahs and have to do the walk of shame.

giphy.gif

hctawsgs

What he really meant is that if you want to steal eat, must remember to clean the mouth.....don't leave any tracks for people to expose later .........:s8:

Don't be naive to think that those businessmen who volunteered to be leaders in PAP/PA grassroots organisaiton like CCC are doing it for altruistic reason and not because they want to get the connections to further their business interest......:s8:

Whimsica

Obama also tio before but of course Su cannot compare to Shen

yq-bellagraphng-24082024.jpg

Sillyporeboy

'Be very shrewd in assessing the motives of people who knowingly amputate your legs for no good reasons, then gives you quarterly allowance to take bus then claim that they are "helping" you': EDMW to daft sinkies​

Jo13jo

So if Grab come close to a person and offer her a role in corporate development, consider got motive or not? 🤔

Canis Lupus

When u created a society n mindset of money n benefits over everything. Wat do u expect?

Many ppl can be bought over easily. Dun say foreigners Liao. When they're still loyal to their motherland.
Exactly, if governments need money to buy the integrity honor of MPs via astronomical salaries..:unsure:

HushiePuppies

"Gift hampers on festive occasions, dinners and entertainment, concert tickets and personal favours big and small are just some of the countless social lubricants which such people use to ingratiate themselves to MPs and make you obligated to them."
jin satki social lubricants

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.