Grab driver drove up to 16 hours a day to support his family, and kept himself awake by drinking Red Bull, he passed away recently from stroke

0nePunchm@n

MOM regulates the number of hours one can work per week.

Only problem is whether it applies to self employed.
don't think Grab phv driver can be considered for self employed. They are still under company "control"
It's just Grab dun give a hoot to MOM :s13:

Taloona

Work 16h a day - Who still the time to do regular exercise?

Without the need to work 16h a day…then he will not take 3 Red Bull (extra caffeine and sugar). Tio bo?
Exactly. It's a vicious cycle. On the other hand, many professionals in high wage job can earn much more with shorter hours which leaves them more time to pursue hobbies and exercise.

Sauron

Haiz ... Sadzzz ... work till you drop in sinkieland

coyote

don't think Grab phv driver can be considered for self employed. They are still under company "control"

Grab drivers are not employees of grab, probably called associates just like property agents are not employees of the agencies. So, grab drivers and property agents are indeed self-employed.🙏

0nePunchm@n

Grab drivers are not employees of grab, probably called associates just like property agents are not employees of the agencies. So, grab drivers and property agents are indeed self-employed.🙏
its kind of grey area for me. just need enforcement by gov if they're serious on welfare.

coyote

its kind of grey area for me. just need enforcement by gov if they're serious on welfare.

No. It's clear as day. It's how the industry is. Nothing to do with the government. If people do not like to be self employed grab drivers or property agents, they should choose other professions.

How's government welfare related to certain industries? No logic. Government welfare should just be based on income, regardless of which industries the person is in.

I hoped you are not confused by that mud-slinging person that got sued by the government and self exiled to Taiwan to evade the rules of law.🙏😓

lordofshanghai

need to eat more leafy, stay active..
its not about work, its also about our diet and lifestyle..
know of c-suite that sleeps only 5 hours a day due to calls etc etc, but strict diet and exercise regime, very discipline but looks young at 60 ++

Why so serious

194796d5474b367e06b6b3868291e405.jpg

pwongkk

If company controlled, they would be given cpf contribution like us. There are ways to corner these companies, just whether MOM wants to, unless the minuster is really that useless.

messidona

Sad, very poor thing. :frown:

But I can't fathom how anyone can drink Redbull 3 cans. I remember during ICT in the forest my section commander bought some Redbulls around midnight, I drank one can I very alive and awake alredi, it lasted until daybreak liao.

Three Redbulls a day are generally ok for an adult. But for a middle age man who works in a sitting position for so long (15-16 hrs), it would be deadly.

This news was on sinming paper already yesterday. My pop has been taxi driver in the 90s and he said he always rested after 2 or 3 hours and go chill in coffeeshops or go visit my aunts (his sisters). My pop said he never drank any energy drink.
Tiagong Drink red bull before marathon can help you achieve personal best. But must avoid redbull if you are not doing any exercise.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.