Strong profile local jobless, thousands of applications

dambio

I have known people similar to TS, still couldnt land a job 7 years after retrenchment.
Tried applying to work at ShengSiong n Ntuc but was rejected due to exceed of their expectations
I'm sure some r doing gig jobs or phv. If they can't get a proper job tat commensurate with their educational n exp level.

Dun wanna pour cold water on them. But if they believed in gov in d past. Then...

Fathor

I highly doubt TS's credibility. Great-grandparents live in Singapore. and is in his late 40s?

Come on. I am a 3-gen Singaporean in my mid 40s. My grandfather was from China and had been in Singapore since 1930s until his demise. What is the possibility of his great grandparents living in Singapore? :rolleyes:
Did, the exception, way earlier than the mass. It is okay, you can doubt it, no worries.

BlackTortoise

I’m in my late 40s. Since 2020, I’ve sent out thousands of job applications. In six years, I only received one job offer — in 2023. I took it, worked hard, and was rated “exceeds expectations” in my performance review. Not long after, I was told I was on the retrenchment list. I resigned right before the official notice — to avoid the stigma and protect future chances.

I already had a strong and broad professional background when I left my permanent role at a globally prestigious firm to deepen and diversify my expertise further before 2020. I pursued a master’s degree in a different field at a top university, ranked #1 in its field worldwide, and graduated with distinction during the pandemic.

To stay connected and expand my network, I’ve been attending free public events. Often, more than half the people there were foreign professionals already working in Singapore. From what I observed, they didn’t have stronger profiles or wider capabilities than I do. Yet they had jobs. I didn’t.

I’ve been on the WSG programme for years, but they haven’t gotten me a single interview. I don’t own property, and without a salaried job, I can’t apply for a mortgage. With the cost of living so high, I’m now planning to relocate to a developing country — just to survive.

Imagine that — a highly qualified Singaporean, with a proven track record and wide-ranging skills, now has to leave the country he helped build because he can’t afford to live in it.

My great-grandparents, grandparents, parents, and I all contributed to building this nation. I served 2.5 years of full-time National Service, training and leading 60 combat personnel to protect this country throughout all my reservice duties.

So I ask honestly:
If even someone like me can’t survive here — what hope do older Singaporeans have? Can I now ask, what can this country do for us?
So from 2023 you resigned till now how you survive?

How you going to get work visa in foreign land? U got job offer from there meh?

Atrina_Boy

502630372_730009736364057_6038752027791582615_n.jpg

Fathor

Post ur resume, the jobs u applied for and the expected salary here let us see. If ur resume cmi , u send 1 billion times also no use.
That's the role of WSG asking for this. Are you a coach or head hunter? Share your qualifications?

Lchlch

I’m in my late 40s. Since 2020, I’ve sent out thousands of job applications. In six years, I only received one job offer — in 2023. I took it, worked hard, and was rated “exceeds expectations” in my performance review. Not long after, I was told I was on the retrenchment list. I resigned right before the official notice — to avoid the stigma and protect future chances.

I already had a strong and broad professional background when I left my permanent role at a globally prestigious firm to deepen and diversify my expertise further before 2020. I pursued a master’s degree in a different field at a top university, ranked #1 in its field worldwide, and graduated with distinction during the pandemic.

To stay connected and expand my network, I’ve been attending free public events. Often, more than half the people there were foreign professionals already working in Singapore. From what I observed, they didn’t have stronger profiles or wider capabilities than I do. Yet they had jobs. I didn’t.

I’ve been on the WSG programme for years, but they haven’t gotten me a single interview. I don’t own property, and without a salaried job, I can’t apply for a mortgage. With the cost of living so high, I’m now planning to relocate to a developing country — just to survive.

Imagine that — a highly qualified Singaporean, with a proven track record and wide-ranging skills, now has to leave the country he helped build because he can’t afford to live in it.

My great-grandparents, grandparents, parents, and I all contributed to building this nation. I served 2.5 years of full-time National Service, training and leading 60 combat personnel to protect this country throughout all my reservice duties.

So I ask honestly:
If even someone like me can’t survive here — what hope do older Singaporeans have? Can I now ask, what can this country do for us?
the worst case should seek mp help?

stanlawj

I’m in my late 40s. I don’t own property, and without a salaried job, I can’t apply for a mortgage. With the cost of living so high, I’m now planning to relocate to a developing country — just to survive.
You don't own property? Your HDB just bought only last year? :LOL:

Water Leakage in Entire New HDB Flat - previously vacant for 3 years

Just got the keys to an SBF flat from HDB as a first owner a few weeks ago. Completed in 2021, the 2-room flexi flat was vacant for 3 years before I got it in 2024, unusual for a mature estate and near-MRT flat.

PROBLEM. Unusual water issues occurred in the entire flat after the main water supply was turned on.
In a few hours, water (water droplets, moisture, and wet patches) starts to show, and as it accumulates, it becomes quite a fair bit.

Water is found on the (1) floors next to the walls and (2) wall-floor borders - made of tile, concrete or wood.
While the walls seemed unaffected initially, I found some water droplets on a kitchen wall at its lower part - it is an area where a concealed water pipe runs above the ceiling.

<pic: a corner in the store room after 2 days, all corners are wet>
IMG-20241001-WA0000.jpg

ROOMS AFFECTED -

The living room, bedroom, kitchen, store room (bomb shelter), and switchboard room are affected. The most affected rooms are the store room and kitchen, and the less affected floors are by the side of windows. However, the toilet on the inside is not affected.

The above is my observation over 2 days with the water supply being turned on. I am worried that wooden materials will continue to be further affected. Many contractors have told me they have not seen this case of water on the storeroom floor since an aircon downstairs will not be in the storeroom or kitchen.

<pic: blue indicates areas in layout with most water issues after 2 days with water supply turned on>
Layout-Water-Issue.png

The owner downstairs seldom uses the air conditioner.

KEY CONCERNS -
(1) Continuous delay actions,
(2) Nowhere to stay very soon, and
(3) The water issues from a 3-year empty flat that could be arising from "breakdown due to disuse" worries me in the long term. Also, not just an immediate thorough fix is needed but also a proper fix on damages already done because wooden borders and bedroom wooden floor are affected and who knows what else.

What should I do and what are my options? Thank you for your kind help and advice.

There is a one-year warranty, but the 5 and 10-year water leakage warranty started in 2021 instead of 2024 when I got the keys.

dereth

I highly doubt TS's credibility. Great-grandparents live in Singapore. and is in his late 40s?

Come on. I am a 3-gen Singaporean in my mid 40s. My grandfather was from China and had been in Singapore since 1930s until his demise. What is the possibility of his great grandparents living in Singapore? :rolleyes:

I'm also 3rd gen.

My maternal grandfather's story is a little more interesting. He was in Kuomintang forces or something (My mom told me he was an extremely skilled martial artist and could do finger stands.) Because of enemies, he ran to Malaysia with my grandmother. Then, during some communist uprising or something over there, he escaped again to Singapore. My mom was born after that in SG. She heard about that part from her elder sister.

kiatkiat

The higher position as a person climb, the lesser the number of job opening available. Eg. there is thousands of technician in a company, a hundred of engineers, dozen of managers and just a couple of directors.

If what TS say is real, when he reached such high professional roles, the number of opening for his level in market should be very limited.

So if TS can still apply for thousands job application either he csb or he apply for jobs that are way below his previous level.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.