Hair salon chain admits to unfair trade practices targeting the elderly, refunds affected customers

Nevereatrice

how come jover chew got arrested this one no? must foreigner kneel down then will take action local no need protection?

Visor9999

It’s normal. That’s why only rich people should go to hair salons for haircuts

lifeisinforashock

I think no.

As part of the undertaking given to CCCS, the HairFun companies and their directors Roland Teo Jian Hao and Chiong Hong Hioh also pledged to stop all unfair trade practices, cooperate with the Consumers Association of Singapore (Case) to resolve all complaints relating to unfair trade practices and provide a five-day cooling period for customers to cancel and get a refund for any pre-paid packages.

“Close to $12,500 were recovered and returned to the affected consumers, many of whom are elderly residents living in the neighbourhood of the hair salon,” Case president Melvin Yong said in a Facebook post on June 4.

They shld be permanently blacklisted.

Jian19

Think the worker there either JHK or Tiong

Cyber_Ghost

Wahlau tmd 老人家的棺材錢都要骗 hope the shops 倒闭 and the boss also bankrupt.

And all those kena cheated take legal action to sue the shop until pants drop.

ceestudent

Don’t be so gian png lah. There is no free lunch in this world.
I never interested for free trial blah blah. Confirm will want to sell you something one.

Sango123

The price list of services provided at Hairfun Beauty, which included a free haircut for those aged above 55 years old. PHOTO: CCCS

Use this kind of cheap tactics to entice the elderly to go there and fleece them

maumu

Why the legal system so weak against such incorrigible acts?

Something is wrong.

Anyway, I got cheated by quite famous hair treatment company before, many years ago. Their modus operandi is to offer you voucher for a cheap treatment session and then try to hard sell you package for treatment, claiming that your hair / scalp got problems. Even if it's true, their prices are exorbitant and exploitative. In the end I paid a heavy price for my gullible self.

Since then I really hate these sales people and their immoral tactics. Many of these have links from outside SG (so you can guess where this 'culture' come from).

Akky85

Definitely fraud. And also an unpardonable sin. Cheating the elderly is akin to being unfilial. Can get struck by lightning.
Need strike 99 times, if dead after the 1st strike, body continue to tie to pole and get strike 98 more times.

No mercy for the dammed.

tian_yibang

Many hab said riao, all these are just "tip of iceberg"

Unless tough and heavy punishment law, these kind tactics/practices can neber be eradicated cuz they can just "rinse and repeat"

Whatsmore they see our gahmen so good to keep giving us bouchers/cash, all the more they will cont chop us if the punishment notch heavy

Kaylin

why the font looks like snipavenue? :(

f9af62f1cc8ff1af332a0131bd7f75e3.jpg

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.