News| ‘Have a life besides driving’: Death of private-hire driver a wake-up call, say those in industry

snapp

The death of 49-year-old private-hire driver Gavin Neo from a stroke in May was a “wake-up call” for those in the industry looking to cash in on working long hours, some drivers say.

Friends said Mr Neo often spent up to 15 hours behind the wheel to provide for his teenage son and daughter.

Private-hire drivers CNA spoke to said that while they have the freedom to choose the number of hours they work, incentive structures set up by ride-hailing platforms - offering cash bonuses for completing more trips - can push them beyond their limits, and should be reviewed.

Other said however that it was also up to the individual to know their physical limits and not blindly chase after cash rewards.

Working long hours for more incentives was precisely what Mr Lincoln Khoo did when he joined ride-hailing platform Grab in January last year.

“For me it was very simple, the motivation to drive long hours is only one thing: Money, income,” said the 40-year-old, who drives part-time and does emceeing and hosting gigs as well.

“The more you drive, you will earn much more."

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/sin...r-death-grab-gojek-tada-working-hours-5168916

tomsss

“For me it was very simple, the motivation to drive long hours is only one thing: Money, income,” said the 40-year-old, who drives part-time and does emceeing and hosting gigs as well.

yep and the govt knows that very well. notice how quiet they are on this topic?

Courage

Do health check regularly, eat healthier, exercise regularly and stay away from cigarettes

Emperor_Hippo

yep and the govt knows that very well. notice how quiet they are on this topic?
And what u expect gahmen to do out of people who just insist on living in a gig economy because "its my dream." Who is the gahm

Use gun force companies to offer full time contracts? Gahmen dun run the companies. Companies bid for and gun for whoever has the best voice, lowest quote, best antics. This is real life private sector competition and it's always a race to the bottom.

wanna live hand to mouth being a satki emcee, then better start thinking how to value add ur portfolio during the days when you are not hosting!

fandango

The death of 49-year-old private-hire driver Gavin Neo from a stroke in May was a “wake-up call” for those in the industry looking to cash in on working long hours, some drivers say.

Friends said Mr Neo often spent up to 15 hours behind the wheel to provide for his teenage son and daughter.

Private-hire drivers CNA spoke to said that while they have the freedom to choose the number of hours they work, incentive structures set up by ride-hailing platforms - offering cash bonuses for completing more trips - can push them beyond their limits, and should be reviewed.

Other said however that it was also up to the individual to know their physical limits and not blindly chase after cash rewards.

Working long hours for more incentives was precisely what Mr Lincoln Khoo did when he joined ride-hailing platform Grab in January last year.

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/sin...r-death-grab-gojek-tada-working-hours-5168916
It is the red bull that caused his death.

RSKeisuke

Grab and Temasek have a significant investment relationship, with Temasek investing in Grab through various means, including Heliconia Capital. This investment demonstrates Temasek's belief in the potential of Grab and its ecosystem, particularly within the Southeast Asian market.

Key points about the Grab-Temasek relationship:
  • Investment:
    Temasek has been a long-term investor in Grab, supporting its growth and expansion.

• Strategic Partnership:
    Temasek's investment is not just about financial returns but also about supporting the development of a strong regional technology company.

• Ecosystem Expansion:
    Grab's business model, which includes ride-hailing, food delivery, and financial services, aligns with Temasek's focus on the digital economy.

• Regional Focus:
    Both Grab and Temasek are deeply rooted in Southeast Asia, making them strategic partners in the region's digital transformation.

• Temasek's Portfolio:
    Temasek has a diverse portfolio, including investments in technology, infrastructure, and other sectors, and Grab's growth aligns with its long-term investment strategy.

• Heliconia Capital:
    Temasek's investment arm, Heliconia Capital, has played a key role in backing Grab and other regional tech companies.

• Recent Investment:
    In February 2022, Temasek added stakes in Grab, Robinhood Markets, and other consumer-focused companies.

• Future Potential:
    Grab's expansion into new markets and its digital financial services platform, GrabFin, demonstrate its commitment to becoming a leading player in the Southeast Asian digital economy.

TiedInsurer

And what u expect gahmen to do out of people who just insist on living in a gig economy because "its my dream." Who is the gahm

Use gun force companies to offer full time contracts? Gahmen dun run the companies. Companies bid for and gun for whoever has the best voice, lowest quote, best antics. This is real life private sector competition and it's always a race to the bottom.

wanna live hand to mouth being a satki emcee, then better start thinking how to value add ur portfolio during the days when you are not hosting!
Just close leg, and companies will start offering the contracts. Why you want to complicate such simple things?

endo5x5

but they are their own boss, they are in total control of how much work they want to put in.....

want family, want kids, all these are also conscious choices, alongside number of work hours

PikaPika33

alot of them last time haolian
say drive 10 to 12 hours a day can earn big big

moi beng classmates rast time keep suan us stupid, study so much
he drive cats earn more

Emperor_Hippo

Just close leg, and companies will start offering the contracts. Why you want to complicate such simple things?
Even close leg, spiralling costs in international marketplace, what makes u think companies wun offer contract? :s11:

and in the first place, why would i wanna offer perm contract and a monthly pay/stipend to an emcee who just runs my company d&d once a year on that one day? :s11:

is like sometimes i ask myself, "can i dun pay for those 3wks of school holidays for my kid's school bus?".

Lifetime warranty

Over work? If he drive 15 hours.. mean he have 9 hours of time to rest... I doubt is the driving that cause him this..

I see alot of hawker wake up 2 3 am to prepare close shop about 3 4pm.. then they ok?

I don't want to say things I don't know.. but 15 hours drive.. I doubt he don't rest in between..

Mclairs83

i ever drive for 12hrs from singapore to genting.. took breaks in between..

sibei kan shagged. don't know how PHV drivers do it...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.