Gan Siow Huang apologises over handshaking incident at Cantonese cultural festival

testing_testing

BY5lIC.gif

BohemianSG

If red tee uncle dressed up in white shirt me believe she will extend her hand when uncle initiate the hand shake. So key ish the non-white attire wor.

Enthusiastic uncle just being helpful to open close door for her yet left being disappointed.

You are right that it was possible had he been in shirt and pants without obscuring his face with a cap, the response will be different.

He open door also do it wrongly. You wanna open door, you have to open and hold for ppl to walk out to space.. not to walk into your open arms. Some more she is female, instinct is to walk away.

Then he grabbed her hands to shake anyway. and stomp off instead of patiently waiting to walk with the entourage. RedUncle is a bit off one lah.

BohemianSG

I need tink he's showing much respect and most likely a pap supporter, yet..

He was trying to suck up and show he good frens with Minister until can open arms hug. Didnt get the limelight he wanted, he just stormed off instead of waiting and walk with the entourage.

Kinda of a boomer who thinks everything is about him.

esandwich

aiya actually nothing new la. Only during elections, they will become servants - wipe tables, bow and shake hands. After Mp, jus back to normal as elites treated as VIP and served by big group of underlings.

Dracky

I won't blame Gan Siow Huang. There's too many who wants to PLP the MP when she visits. Of course, she was trying to seek out the familiar faces to shake hand with them first.

carey

Should have wait for politicians to come and shake hand with them instead .
But many ppl really 一相情願.
Many place themselves on same bracket as elite.
Idolise mentality.
Ya lor, same like those who chase after celebrities

tarui04

90% of us are pissed at NCM but the Kayu voters still voted for him no?

They still opted for a candidate with questionable character than someone who posted a 4-letter word in his whatsapp group ;)
From now on I check if they are from jln kayu smc when I sell on carousell. That smc will get 25% tariff.

Cokacola

why is this an uproar, first day know this kind of thing with high statues people?

reality bites, this is called: know your place and shut your mouth

tarui04

assuming that's the truth and not a PR spin/damage recovery, that shows in part that she's pretty rigid.. like someone from the saf indeed.
If you watch her announcement video during ge you can see she's very rigid. I almost stood at attention.

sg-united

I won't blame Gan Siow Huang. There's too many who wants to PLP the MP when she visits. Of course, she was trying to seek out the familiar faces to shake hand with them first.
Why did she need to apologise? There were many people around, does that mean she has to shake hands with everyone? Just selective hand shake will do.

compro_1975

i saw the whole video, ah pek maybe boss of lion dance troupe that why want greet the paymaster but got ignored. can see ah pek not happy but llst
he likely would had voted for white, only to know at that moment he was deem as a trash

sgcarousell

Overwhelmed is now an excuse wor

Quite clear from the video she was trying to avoid shaking hands with the red shirt funker

She gave him the Tony Tan special
From the video she did not seem to shake hand willingly, the uncle made the move to holdher hand n shake
It's a non issue. Why apologize for what?
So silly :s13: succumb to internet comments. :s13:
Non issue for normal people but not when she is a Minister and MP of the SMC being invited to the SMC events and greeted by the people of the organiser who warmly welcome her n want to shake her hands.

doppypoppy

Please watch the video in full from start to end and in slower speed frame by frame. Even after shaking the hands of the familiar faces, she intentionally avoided shaking hands with the red shirt man, the red shirt man held her hand but she did not shake it.

Itsthatguy

Why did she need to apologise? There were many people around, does that mean she has to shake hands with everyone? Just selective hand shake will do.

Imo, must see things in context and not just make motherhood statements.

How many ppl were there in that group at that point in time wanting to shake hands with her? Add together also less than the fingers on both my hands. Many meh?:unsure:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.