[NEWS] Book an appointment at polyclinic is now like fighting for concert tickets

Jeremy1

Very weird don't know why it's always fully booked whenever I wanted to make appointments even when I tried booking early 🤔

Don't know is there really a problem with the system or not 🤔

drkcynic

I know there are loads of poor people, but i also know beggar can’t be chooser, so if you are poor just know that you will not be able to get what you want most or even all the time
I am not sure if I agree. Polyclinic in it's essence was created to cater to the POOR, to provide them basic healthcare.

But if even the poor cannot get access to it then something is obviously wrong.

mummynew

Exactly. It happened I had appendicitis done at Ng Teng Fong. In the follow up, they just included colonoscopy as a follow up. I asked is there any special reason they included that, they said no. They said since I'm over 50, it's just standard follow up.

So your 'auto' scope was not really auto per se as it was a follow up after a surgery.

For people who don't have any surgery and need a scope, they have to go polyclinic to get a referral letter if they want to have the subsidised rate.

Linguist

i think you're right about the walk in before noon or 11am.
but i've heard that the walk-in slots are so limited, you basically have to start camping at 7am at the door to at least secure a slot. even so, like what you say, need to wait very long.
Shouldn't have a "limit" to secure a spot.
Just that if u came late might ended up only seeing the doctor till after lunch or in late afternoon (close to closing).

Unless really a lot people so sick and went in the morning to queue till they had to reject people? Cannot expect sick patients to keep waiting while standing... if any of the patient is actually in dire conditions and wasn't discovered early by the admin staff and etc the backlash will be on the polyclinic...

coyote

So your 'auto' scope was not really auto per se as it was a follow up after a surgery.

For people who don't have any surgery and need a scope, they have to go polyclinic to get a referral letter if they want to have the subsidised rate.

I think so. For subsidized rates, it will do well to request to speak to their "care cost consultants" first before proceeding. These consultants have ways to help us optimize our "care cost" like being admitted... Talk to them.

Monstruo^

Keep increasing population by inviting and accepting foreigners to come in… of course lah. Over population leh. Can’t cope at 6M, still want to target 10M?

Government’s direction totally ruins Singapore infrastructure be it hospital beds, polyclinics, or housing. Hospital beds so lacking liao still keep importing foreigners to come in *******. (Coming from someone who visits hospital a lot due to taking care of family member. B1 B2 ward beds also must wait damn long. Buy insurance to cover ward A also like useless tiagong also no beds.)

Pappy policies totally failed its people.

matrix05

Maybe intentionally to divert ppl to go GP as Govt said yr long term care shld be from nearest GP.

Could be. This is why ppl dare to bid $53K clinic. TikTok Ong still say dismayed when he is indirectly feeding the sharks.

Monstruo^

Everytime got such thread, one particular JHK will come in to defend about government policies and kong ranjiaowei. Damn funny. 🤣

Monstruo^

Why expand to 6m population when there is not enough polyclinic and hospitals? Is PAP going to build more hospitals? Then? Citizens cant get medical care how?
Exactly. Just leave us to die only.

These ministers they have all the means to see private clinics and surgeons and stay at private hospitals with their multi fat wallets. They don’t care about its citizens.

Monstruo^

the killing process is like this.

poly refer to hospital to see specialist. this needs to wait 3-4mths typically. that's only SEEING.

if u need any scan, need to make appt for like 1-2mths wait.

then yet another wait for the next appt to SEE the specialist AGAIN for reviewing of scan results.
This is correct. Only people who go through the process will know. With all the waiting and delays, people’s cancer stage 2 could become stage 3 liao.

Monstruo^

when younger i dont know. Until i seen it personally from relatives and friends. Hopefully the younger people will buy private insurance, if not wait for scan gg. Got many examples i can quote...

Private can scan within the week, public hosptial at least 2months.
Then they jacked up the private insurance premium to be super expensive. :o

Next time even if more people buy hospital insurance that covers private care, those private hospitals also no space if the government keeps importing people nonstop. So the root cause is still over population.

coyote

Very weird don't know why it's always fully booked whenever I wanted to make appointments even when I tried booking early 🤔

Don't know is there really a problem with the system or not 🤔

Sometimes i wonder EDMW is what we called the complaints master race? I have been using Healthhub and NUHS to book appointments for my kids since they are born 8 years ago... We make do with the system we have.

1, they are super popular because they are indeed the cheapest. Within same day appointment and < $10 many times over for small little issues like flu or fever.
2, indeed nobody can time the 10pm booking always, in occasions, we could not get a slot and my kids really needed to see a doctor, I go to GP. This is level 2 protection. Those who are eligible for chas cards, go get them. GP charges will be higher than polyclinics but it's somewhat subsidized if you are eligible to those different colors chas cards. If you are not eligible, means you are rich enough, no need to complain also.
3, if you really think you are in an emergency, go A&E, that's level 3 protection for our healthcare. Charges will not be cheap given the nature of emergency.
4, if you still want cheaper treatment at emergency, talk to the doctor and admin staffs to consider getting yourself admitted to the wards. That is level 4 protection for our healthcare. And before you proceed further, do help yourself by choosing B2 subsidized ward. That will lower the cost significantly. The cost at the wards will be complicated subjected to your insurance coverage, subsidy amount is also dependent on your income. At times, a subsidized in-patient treatment can be much cheaper than A&E outpatient plus medisave claimable. They have set policies in place, maybe hard for layman to understand, just follow the advice of the doctors and "care cost consultants" and we should be in good hands.

So, please understand well how our healthcare system works.🙏 I dare say we have one of the most comprehensive healthcare system in the world.🙏

Monstruo^

I find polyclinic actually faster than seeing a GP. Once you get an appointment time go on the time, get your consultation medication and leave. GP you go there without knowing it’s queue status and have to go through the usual registration process and wait…

of course for referral probably thats a longer wait but not urgent issues should be fine.
Even with Polyclinic booking, let’s say you choose 9am, or 2pm, even if go earlier, you still need to wait until your number is called. The wait ish not just 10mins hor…

Somehow they don’t process according to the timeslot you choose… To me, not much difference than walk in.

Source: personal experiences

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.