[NEWS] Book an appointment at polyclinic is now like fighting for concert tickets

coyote

Hope you wont encounter any high fever above 37.5 and still need to work at site.

If you have high fever, you should seek treatment expeditiously instead of working at site. If you are being treated that badly at work, report your boss to MOM. 🙏

power_range

I personally find the polyclinic doctors less rushed, more professional and kinder… note it’s based on MY personal experiences.

mummynew

I don't 'waste time' to see doctors in polyclinic. Only go there if I need referral letters to see specialists in public hospitals.

*I hardly fall sick before 55 yo (maybe once every 2 years see a GP). After 55 yo, tend to quite easily catch flu bugs that take average about 1 week to recover.

kimsix

I personally find the polyclinic doctors less rushed, more professional and kinder… note it’s based on MY personal experiences.

yes my experience, poly doctors are chio and younger and more locals.

no choice have to visit for referals. then those hospitals doctors less locals and more rushed and more stuck up.

kevinlaikf

Polyclinic no longer as cheap as before. I remembered in 2019 to 2023, my 90 days dosage of 4 pills for BP, cholesterol, reflux cost me less than $30, last week's, same set of pills cost me $85, I don't think last year there was any steep increase in price for meds.

Booking for appointment for future doc consultation was difficult, I believe thos to book specialist docs, perhaps, GP generally easy, can even use apps.

Sent from my friend's mobile phone.

jimmy

Alot of blue collars, the companies only recognises MCs from govt hospitals or polyclinics. Add to the mass of patients both genuine or gengsters.
Ask our Labour Minister to question why these companies do not provide their own panel doctor. Isn’t this illegal for not providing medical benefits?

Kiwi8

One thing I dun like is the way they list the dental appointment available dates.

Now one needs to click a date and see the available times on that date.

All the available dates and times should be listed without the user having to click on each individual date and waste time.

jimmy

Faster yes, better it depends on luck also bah. If you get senior consultant, pretty sure they are the same or even better for some case. As public hospitial seen more cases, so they are more experienced. Just sometimes they are bounded by gov hospitial SOP, cannot anyhow scan and test

It's just the diagnostic part and specialist appoitnment, the waiting time is stupidly long. I understand also as the public have limited resources and limited fundings. That's why i always educate younger people to get private ISP. If want downgrade, wait till 70+ when you really yolo mode.
If government insists private are charging absurdly high and forcing everybody to downgrade to public hospitals, they must be prepared to handle the surge.

IMO, they should let people and insurance decide what is the balance point that insurance vs government should borne.

Buying private insurance should not mean government stop their subsidies which is the current case. Why people need to be penalised eventually for not using tax-payer money?

Has the private insurers threaten to throw the towel? Or is just Income losing money as an isolated case?

priore

Not surprising, give that population keep increasing but number of polyclinic does not keep up.

That and an ageing population where polyclinic offers far cheaper medical consult + meds for elderly

kuti-kuti

Book an appointment at polyclinic is now like fighting for concert tickets​

Gov still want 6.9 million by 2030, 2025 only hit 5.8 million... And people started complaining already for several years liao

Monstruo^

They will squeeze in appointment if urgent. I did colonscopy in mid feb then the dr sure know sth wrong, so ct scan and specialist in a week. Then in late mar already went surgery for my cancer.
What stage is your cancer? Rectal or ?

dambio

Polyclinic no longer as cheap as before. I remembered in 2019 to 2023, my 90 days dosage of 4 pills for BP, cholesterol, reflux cost me less than $30, last week's, same set of pills cost me $85, I don't think last year there was any steep increase in price for meds.

Booking for appointment for future doc consultation was difficult, I believe thos to book specialist docs, perhaps, GP generally easy, can even use apps.

It's all abt making money. Then they'll tell u got subsidy n can pay by medisave.

N so many ppl will be so happy becos no need come out with cash 😂

Whimsica

Book an appointment at polyclinic is now like fighting for concert tickets​

Gov still want 6.9 million by 2030, 2025 only hit 5.8 million... And people started complaining already for several years liao

We already crossed the 6 million mark last year.

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/s-pore-population-crosses-6-million-mark

And we are not that far from 6.9 million if the authorities really go check on illegal overstayers and foreigners packed like sardines illegally in condos and HDB.

oldchanggold

This kind can go JB buy? Just curious

Joe Maya

I prefer the old style, queue from 7am first come first serve...

shodan99

To be honest, alot of the medical expertise and top of range equipment still reside in public hospitals. If you develop complications, they will still refer you to public hospitals.

In private practice, most doctors just aim to do routine cases and earn your money. If there are complications that require multiple disciplinary care, they will still refer you to public hospitals.

Also for a fact, all senior consultants and above specialists in public hospitals are very well qualified and you are assured of the best professional care. Although the food and service may not be the best, at least you are assured that the most qualified Healthcare professional is available to you should you need it. Which is what counts in my opinion.

orlengtao

To be honest, alot of the medical expertise and top of range equipment still reside in public hospitals. If you develop complications, they will still refer you to public hospitals.

In private practice, most doctors just aim to do routine cases and earn your money. If there are complications that require multiple disciplinary care, they will still refer you to public hospitals.

Also for a fact, all senior consultants and above specialists in public hospitals are very well qualified and you are assured of the best professional care. Although the food and service may not be the best, at least you are assured that the most qualified Healthcare professional is available to you should you need it. Which is what counts in my opinion.
Yes I agree on this, public hospital Drs are just as good. Infact u see the private seniors are all previously head of public hospital certain department, before they got poached over. It is the diagnostic part and getting referral for such top specialist in public hospital takes months and even luck.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.