At his mother's behest, he married a 26-year-old Chinese national within weeks of being introduced. He was 53 and never intended to get married

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

Monstruo^

To have to marry a 53 year old 遭老头, the 26 y.o. also quite poor thing.
Yah lor. I also think so. Maybe her family background really bky one and her family also force her to get married. If not who will do that unless they are both attracted to each other.

crimsontactics

Edited with more details.

Not about his marriage status sia. He can actually stay as BBFA and even if got prostate cancer stage 2, he only needs to manage himself.

Now? Walau eh needs to care for special kid and his cancer and he is getting old also at 60+. And I wonder if his mom ish still alive, need to care for her also? And no income liao still need to spend money on his own cancer and his son.

I feel sorry for him. Mybfd!
That's why I said he deviated from fate's path for his life and ish not suffering the karmic effects Bro Monstruo^! :(

Cannot fight fate de, have to go with the flow! :(

Just like I was fated to hit CPF FRS at 31, but cannot find a GF! :(

That's why I go JB massage instead of finding a partner! :(

Monstruo^

I remember that thread on trusting own kids for medication over helper or nursing home. But ehhh the kids don't need to work one meh?
Lol. If his kids also don’t bother about him, what can he do?

I think his logic ish the more the better. If 2 are char siews, still got third child, fourth child as backup.

His logic totally failed and ish strange. If go by his logic, then he shouldn’t have to worry if his kids will go to nursing home to see him in the future. He should be sibei confident mah. “Got kids = confirm take care of him” :s13:

Monstruo^

That's why I said he deviated from fate's path for his life and ish not suffering the karmic effects Bro Monstruo^! :(

Cannot fight fate de, have to go with the flow! :(

Just like I was fated to hit CPF FRS at 31, but cannot find a GF! :(

That's why I go JB massage instead of finding a partner! :(
Bro CT, just eat cai png, go JB massage, chat on edmw, and see see chiobu online can riaos! If fate with gf comes then come. If not then mybfd.

gravity_infinity

the more i read the more i dont feel sorry for him

1. he is the one who decided it is ok for him to marry someone almost 30 years his junior. at age 53

2. he is the one who thinks it is ok to raise a kid at age 55. is he expecting he can work till 75? does he have savings to have a kid? he never thinks about what happen if retrenched or unable to work due to health?

totally irresponsible and putting the reason why he marry was the result of his mother command.

if u read, u also realise he sacked his maid so he can put the blame of not working is because he need to take care of the child.

sunnyisandsingapore

The article said “doctor had not alerted them to any abnormalities”. Do or should doctors have a legal obligation to inform expecting parents about potential genetic defects of their unborn child?
Sure doctors have legal obligations to inform the parents about the potential issues with their unborn child. But apart from down syndrome, other conditions like autism, ADHD etc, cannot be tested in the womb.

With his age at 53, when he had his first child, I suspect it was his advanced age, not his young wife, that results in the birth of a special needs baby.

Redberries

I saw the pic that he display at his living room. The pre-wedding photo shoot, this uncle still display it and didn't throw it away out of anger or whatever reason...:cry:
The irony

gravity_infinity

Sure doctors have legal obligations to inform the parents about the potential issues with their unborn child. But apart from down syndrome, other conditions like autism, ADHD etc, cannot be tested in the womb.

With his age at 53, when he had his first child, I suspect it was his advanced age, not his young wife, that results in the birth of a special needs baby.
he is 69, the boy is 14. he had the child at age 55.

he married at age 53.

touchring1

Many such cases around. Old parents, special needs kid. When parents pass on, kid unable to sustain nor live independently.

I don't think the numbers are insignificant. It's a growing societal issue that needs to be looked into. :(

This is actually very common.

pwillie

why the world would he want to have a son at such a late stage?
So irresponsible

gravity_infinity

why the world would he want to have a son at such a late stage?
So irresponsible
if he got savings or rich can see kid through adulthood still ok. totally irresponsible and now create a whole mess and feeling sorry for himself

sunnyisandsingapore

he is 69, the boy is 14. he had the child at age 55.

he married at age 53.
53 is considered advanced age for a man to be passing off his aging genes.

I used to work in a special education school, not in SG, and on the first day, I was instructed to be familiar with the students medical conditions. One thing stood out very clearly on their medical notes: Many autistic students were born to middle age fathers, while their mothers were young.

pwillie

if he got savings or rich can see kid through adulthood still ok. totally irresponsible and now create a whole mess and feeling sorry for himself
If he is Peter Lim, then no problem, can have trust fund, have nanny, have all sorts of medical help needed to take care of kid even if he himself KO in a few years time
ownself already struggling at 53yo, still want to bring an innocent life to suffer.

Laguna123

This case WC didn’t ask the mother to pay maintenance to the son?

WoollyMammoth

The mother may be bad to ditch her son and family but the reason for her leaving is the son's condition.
He can only blame his luck that his son is sick.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.