[NEWS] Book an appointment at polyclinic is now like fighting for concert tickets

itedino

To be honest, alot of the medical expertise and top of range equipment still reside in public hospitals. If you develop complications, they will still refer you to public hospitals.

In private practice, most doctors just aim to do routine cases and earn your money. If there are complications that require multiple disciplinary care, they will still refer you to public hospitals.

Also for a fact, all senior consultants and above specialists in public hospitals are very well qualified and you are assured of the best professional care. Although the food and service may not be the best, at least you are assured that the most qualified Healthcare professional is available to you should you need it. Which is what counts in my opinion.
But must wait very long

Private faster

jack-320

Really jin competitve

I thought need to book at 12nn

For those who studied in NTU

STAR war is real

Not only you need to be ahead to choose your favorite module during your tine in NTU

You need to book early for appointment in polyclinic to have cheaper medical fees, or to save your life

Multiversal

If indeed you are feeling like half dying, as in cannot walk without assistance type. Don't waste time, directly go hospital liao. Don't go Polyclinic.
Absolutely right. I wonder why a person who feels like he's going to die would still go to a polyclinic...

To get a referral letter addressed to the doctor at the Acute and Critical Care (previously known as A&E) saying that Mr/Mdm/Ms so and so is half dead already, please attend to him?

Multiversal

Ironically that jhk is indeed one of yours. Imao
You can laugh your arse off for all the devil may care .

Oh wait! In another thread you had been bitterly trying to get me banned because I was WELL KNOWN to not be "one of yours" that supports Raeesah or Mun Wai.:rolleyes:

drkcynic

If indeed you are feeling like half dying, as in cannot walk without assistance type. Don't waste time, directly go hospital liao. Don't go Polyclinic.
It's just a figure of speech. How often do you go to the hospital if you have a fever of say 38.5, coughing and sneezing? And if you are poor, with no hospitalisation insurance?

Ultimately you are deemed as non emergency case.

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/high-number-of-patients-at-aes-at-cgh-and-skh

LoneTraveller

It's just a figure of speech. How often do you go hospital if you have a fever of say 38.5, coughing and sneezing? And if you are poor, with no hospitalisation insurance?
Actually u can still go to a polytechnic if u are having high fever. They have a triage where they will assess u and expedite ur queue number if u are assessed to be critical.

drkcynic

Actually u can still go to a polytechnic if u are having high fever. They have a triage where they will assess u and expedite ur queue number if u are assessed to be critical.
That's not what happened to my mum unfortunately. They asked her to come back at 2pm after she had queued for an hour while having a fever.

yesman2978

Well, at least concert tickets maybe you can still get it through scalpers. Polyclinics slots aren't even available for resale.

Polyclinics slots require you to know that you're unwell enough for tomorrow to book the day before. If you're really that unwell, not even sure how will you be able to be awake and ready to book that slot though. Unlike those that can foresee being sick the day before, I typically only know I need the doctor in the morning. By then, I check a few polyclinics nearby and most of the time, no slots one. Got slot is like miracle.

They should allow some walk-ins for polyclinics before a certain cut off timing.
And for old people, a lot don't know how to use the booking system

Many elderly kena left behind

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.