50s and unwanted. How?

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

Reborn

I met a group of old classmates recently. They are in their mid 50s

1 say jod too stress. He thought can take a break find another jod. Quit already now cannot find jod. 6 months ady.

1 say he find very long. A few years liao. Steel no jod.

Both got begree. Both got kids to feed. Now struggling to make ends meet. I am discovering more of such friends in EVERY social circle.

Last time work till 55 can retire. Garment say we are living longer and thus need to work longer.

Ok we listen to garment. Now 55, want to continue to work. BUT employers dun want us. Hiam our age. Want FT. No jods for older sinkies.

Seriously, something is very wrong with our system.

Is this a new emerging crisis?

(Dun laugh at me. You will reach 50s one day and this will be your fate too)
you reach, 50, employers start worrying if the have to pay more for your MC. Younger workers better. Lower chances of MC.

Spike

I lost my sale to a young promoter today. The customer originally wanted to buy my product but later saw a younger person selling same product but different brand. 🫤
Sales is a number game.. if you can find enough people, sure can make a sale. 😞

Medicated Oil

TS, it is a depressing thing when you hear your friends ranting about unemployment.
It is something that one may have to face if the company want to get rid of the oldies.

titusilvering

1 say jod too stress. He thought can take a break find another jod. Quit already now cannot find jod. 6 months ady.

Both got begree. Both got kids to feed. Now struggling to make ends meet. I am discovering more of such friends in EVERY social circle.

Last time work till 55 can retire. Garment say we are living longer and thus need to work longer.

Ok we listen to garment. Now 55, want to continue to work. BUT employers dun want us. Hiam our age. Want FT. No jods for older sinkies.

Tiagong find foreign wife ok

TheApathetic

That's why young people not having kids.
Live until 50 still need to worry about job stability... No kids then nothing much to worry.

SBC

Why people don’t like to hire older people? Thought retirement age is 63. I 48 already find it difficult to get a good and stable job. I hate doing part time job because no job benefits. But no work no money.
Retirement age cannot be enforced by gov.
what’s the point of setting this?
Think think think. Think b4 any election, not post election.

neutralph

Not many bbfa are fated today hit pass 50.

Mecisteus

TS didn't say what's their last drawn salaries.

Could be some jlb but drawing big salaries.

If I'm the boss, I will also find younger employees who are more hungry.

PaprikaSG

Why people don’t like to hire older people? Thought retirement age is 63. I 48 already find it difficult to get a good and stable job. I hate doing part time job because no job benefits. But no work no money.
MCD hiring ar

mcdonalds_job_part_time_1663324357_f04f3d8b.jpg

highsulphur

Retirement age cannot be enforced by gov.
what’s the point of setting this?
Think think think. Think b4 any election, not post election.
Why cannot enforce? They cannot use age as a reason to terminate your employment. Yes they still can retrench based on other reasons but that usually comes with retrenchment package

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.