30s-50s chitchat club

jeffprobst

Finally encountered someone rude in my new role, and surprisingly it was someone from an external company that my firm engaged and is paying for their service.

I asked a clarification question related to regulatory interpretation, and instead of providing a proper response, the person replied in a condescending tone and spoke down to me. I genuinely do not see anything wrong with seeking clarity, especially given the nature of my role and the responsibilities I hold.

My friend even joked that I deserved it for asking a stupid question. When i retorted that in our line of work, especially when we are accountable to regulators, is there even such a thing as a stupid question? He had nothing to say after that.

While I have done similar work in the past, every setup is different. Just because I have seen something before does not mean it applies exactly the same way in a new environment. In this case, based on my reading of the regulation, I could tell the requirement might not apply, but only if certain conditions are met. Rather than explain that, the external party simply brushed me off, which does not help anyone.

Just sharing this because I find it disappointing when service providers forget they are here to support and collaborate, not talk down to internal stakeholders who are just trying to do their job properly.

Milo-Dino

As an internal auditor who also deals with regulatory topics, I agree with your stance. Furthermore, such unnecessary rudeness is unprofessional, irregardless of whether we are a client or not.

A while back, I had to clarify on a compliance issue. Had this short but sickening exchange with a corlick. Let's call this person ff, short for fk face:

Lwz: hi
Ff: bye ?
Lwz: we are currently checking on... who manages the access to...
Ff: i am not compliance, why would you think it is with me

Smlj bye sia, if its someone I am close to maybe still ok la, joke around and all that, but wtf, i never even spoke to this person before
This ff is stupid... It's like asking you Lwz wack him gaogao with management letter points.

For being rude to you, it's already a possible hr case liao haha

Hoot hor yi si

Milo-Dino

Finally encountered someone rude in my new role, and surprisingly it was someone from an external company that my firm engaged and is paying for their service.

I asked a clarification question related to regulatory interpretation, and instead of providing a proper response, the person replied in a condescending tone and spoke down to me. I genuinely do not see anything wrong with seeking clarity, especially given the nature of my role and the responsibilities I hold.

My friend even joked that I deserved it for asking a stupid question. When i retorted that in our line of work, especially when we are accountable to regulators, is there even such a thing as a stupid question? He had nothing to say after that.

While I have done similar work in the past, every setup is different. Just because I have seen something before does not mean it applies exactly the same way in a new environment. In this case, based on my reading of the regulation, I could tell the requirement might not apply, but only if certain conditions are met. Rather than explain that, the external party simply brushed me off, which does not help anyone.

Just sharing this because I find it disappointing when service providers forget they are here to support and collaborate, not talk down to internal stakeholders wwho are just trying to do their job properly.
No question is stupid. But for me, if I were to ask a seemingly simple question, I will always frame it on why I'm asking (ie my concern or experience that xxxx may not apply)

Milo-Dino

@Autumn. And today the next replier simply copypasta the old partially-reimbursed claim details and said I can expect payment... on 7 Jan 2025 :s13:

I decided to just submit a new claim in the app, claiming the un-reimbursed amount... :s22:
This is travel insurance?
I know my insurance agent for medical policies will go challenge claims dept one

flowerpalms

As an internal auditor who also deals with regulatory topics, I agree with your stance. Furthermore, such unnecessary rudeness is unprofessional, irregardless of whether we are a client or not.

A while back, I had to clarify on a compliance issue. Had this short but sickening exchange with a corlick. Let's call this person ff, short for fk face:

Lwz: hi
Ff: bye ?
Lwz: we are currently checking on... who manages the access to...
Ff: i am not compliance, why would you think it is with me

Smlj bye sia, if its someone I am close to maybe still ok la, joke around and all that, but wtf, i never even spoke to this person before
What's up with the hi bye 😂

singexpat

Just sharing this because I find it disappointing when service providers forget they are here to support and collaborate, not talk down to internal stakeholders who are just trying to do their job properly.

Ask them go fly kite and piak spiders

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.