Elderly woman left in tears by 'angry' locksmith who demanded $80 payment despite cancelled service

kingofcaipng

I called before. At around 10pm. For a locked room door.

The bustard had the audacity to quote $200.

In the end my family just kept hammering the door knob until it give way.

I_m_limpeh

why the neighbor so kaypo so fast call the locksmith :(

When people are overly anxious to avoid becoming a cow or dog in the next life, their brain switch off. Must do good deeds regardless whether it is helpful or not. Got good intentions. So even if their good deed makes life unbearable for you, please be understanding.

grevq80o

Jul 11, 2025, 12:00pm

Elderly woman left in tears by 'angry' locksmith who demanded $80 payment despite cancelled service​

locksmithmain.jpg

1/2
PHOTO: CHERYL SEE/FACEBOOK

Ivan Lim
TNP
July 11, 2025
An elderly woman who was accidentally locked out of her home ended up in tears after a locksmith demanded $80 in payment - even though his services were ultimately not needed.
The incident occurred on the morning of July 10 after the woman realised her key had broken, and she was unable to unlock her door.

A helpful neighbour called a locksmith, but while waiting, the woman remembered she had a spare key in her bag that was inside the flat. Using a long stick, another neighbour, Cheryl See, helped retrieve it, and they managed to open the door.
Ms See, who shared the encounter in a public Facebook group, Complaint Singapore, said she called the locksmith to cancel the job. However, the elderly woman - whom she affectionately referred to as "auntie" - said she would still pay for his petrol.

Related Story​

More related stories
When the locksmith arrived, however, he demanded the full $80. According to Ms See, he "looked really angry".

When asked to be more understanding of the elderly woman's plight and feelings, he reportedly retorted: "Wouldn't you be angry if someone called you at 7am?"
Ms See responded that he was offering a 24-hour service.
The "auntie" asked if he could at least check her door's lock, but Ms See said he ignored her request.
"After he left, I saw auntie quietly wiping her tears and saying, 'It's okay, he wants it, just give it to him,'" Ms See wrote in her post. "My heart ached so much at this moment."
Her post drew over 700 reactions and more than 300 comments at press time. It was shared over 600 times.

Netizens criticise locksmith's behaviour

Many commenters criticised the locksmith's behaviour, saying he should have been more empathetic and that a smaller fee - such as $20 or $30 - would have been more reasonable.
Locksmiths in Singapore typically charge between $50 and $120 for a standard lockout service, depending on the type of lock, with digital locks potentially costing more.
"80 bucks for doing nothing? Could have written it off or given a huge discount. Angry for waking up at 7am when offering a 24-hour service? Might as well close shop!" said a user named X-lynge Lynge.
Another commenter, Bobby G Singh, said: "Thank you for sharing this, it truly broke my heart reading it. No one deserves to be treated that way, especially elders who have already given so much of their lives. Auntie showed so much grace and dignity despite being mistreated."
However, some users defended the locksmith, saying he was not completely wrong to have asked for compensation.
"I believe it's fair that someone gets paid something for their time, effort, and travel - especially if they've made the trip out," said Scott Maier.
"But charging the full $80 call-out fee without actually doing any meaningful checks or work feels unreasonable. It's not about age or income; it's about fairness and professionalism. If you're charging a fee, there should be a minimum standard of service. Sadly, some 24-hour trades can take advantage of urgency, so it's always worth asking upfront about costs and what's included."
Others, like commenter with the username Alvin Alvin, urged for empathy from both sides.
He felt that the auntie and her neighbours had to put themselves in the shoes of the locksmith, who would have been frustrated to have made the trip for nothing.
"Just let him vent his frustration (and) remove this post. It is unfair to the locksmith," he added.
Another, Ros Foo, said: "Already prepared to engage his services and he makes the effort to come - should pay…he is just making a living....both also poor thing."
Some netizens even offered to donate money to the woman, but Ms See said the auntie declined.
"She just hopes to use this platform to remind everyone to stay cautious and vigilant - let's help prevent this from happening to someone else," she said.
Auntie called 90999099? this number is everywhere in SG.. see you lift area.. the sticker is everywhere in HDB

ceestudent

I'm wiping my tears after reading the edmwer comment here, who doesn't mind people wasting their time and can accept small token sum of 10-20$.

My faith in humanity has been restored!

Lance321

This is why I always never forget to take my keys whenever I leave the house. It is number 1 priority no matter how busy or distracted I am.

drkcynic

Every fibre in his body must be asking him not to go. He went only for 1 thing, the $80.

He almost reached liao then cancel cannot lah. But he never do anything to fulfill his side of the bargain too.

I think negotiate down to $50 will be fair.

Come to think of it, it has been years since I have brought a key out.

coyote

Jul 11, 2025, 12:00pm

Elderly woman left in tears by 'angry' locksmith who demanded $80 payment despite cancelled service​

locksmithmain.jpg

1/2
PHOTO: CHERYL SEE/FACEBOOK

Ivan Lim
TNP
July 11, 2025
An elderly woman who was accidentally locked out of her home ended up in tears after a locksmith demanded $80 in payment - even though his services were ultimately not needed.
The incident occurred on the morning of July 10 after the woman realised her key had broken, and she was unable to unlock her door.

A helpful neighbour called a locksmith, but while waiting, the woman remembered she had a spare key in her bag that was inside the flat. Using a long stick, another neighbour, Cheryl See, helped retrieve it, and they managed to open the door.
Ms See, who shared the encounter in a public Facebook group, Complaint Singapore, said she called the locksmith to cancel the job. However, the elderly woman - whom she affectionately referred to as "auntie" - said she would still pay for his petrol.

Related Story​

More related stories
When the locksmith arrived, however, he demanded the full $80. According to Ms See, he "looked really angry".

When asked to be more understanding of the elderly woman's plight and feelings, he reportedly retorted: "Wouldn't you be angry if someone called you at 7am?"
Ms See responded that he was offering a 24-hour service.
The "auntie" asked if he could at least check her door's lock, but Ms See said he ignored her request.
"After he left, I saw auntie quietly wiping her tears and saying, 'It's okay, he wants it, just give it to him,'" Ms See wrote in her post. "My heart ached so much at this moment."
Her post drew over 700 reactions and more than 300 comments at press time. It was shared over 600 times.

Netizens criticise locksmith's behaviour

Many commenters criticised the locksmith's behaviour, saying he should have been more empathetic and that a smaller fee - such as $20 or $30 - would have been more reasonable.
Locksmiths in Singapore typically charge between $50 and $120 for a standard lockout service, depending on the type of lock, with digital locks potentially costing more.
"80 bucks for doing nothing? Could have written it off or given a huge discount. Angry for waking up at 7am when offering a 24-hour service? Might as well close shop!" said a user named X-lynge Lynge.
Another commenter, Bobby G Singh, said: "Thank you for sharing this, it truly broke my heart reading it. No one deserves to be treated that way, especially elders who have already given so much of their lives. Auntie showed so much grace and dignity despite being mistreated."
However, some users defended the locksmith, saying he was not completely wrong to have asked for compensation.
"I believe it's fair that someone gets paid something for their time, effort, and travel - especially if they've made the trip out," said Scott Maier.
"But charging the full $80 call-out fee without actually doing any meaningful checks or work feels unreasonable. It's not about age or income; it's about fairness and professionalism. If you're charging a fee, there should be a minimum standard of service. Sadly, some 24-hour trades can take advantage of urgency, so it's always worth asking upfront about costs and what's included."
Others, like commenter with the username Alvin Alvin, urged for empathy from both sides.
He felt that the auntie and her neighbours had to put themselves in the shoes of the locksmith, who would have been frustrated to have made the trip for nothing.
"Just let him vent his frustration (and) remove this post. It is unfair to the locksmith," he added.
Another, Ros Foo, said: "Already prepared to engage his services and he makes the effort to come - should pay…he is just making a living....both also poor thing."
Some netizens even offered to donate money to the woman, but Ms See said the auntie declined.
"She just hopes to use this platform to remind everyone to stay cautious and vigilant - let's help prevent this from happening to someone else," she said.

Where are the children? Why the children not helping her? Oh wait. Some people in the forum said, single in the best.

Lchlch

Auntie called 90999099? this number is everywhere in SG.. see you lift area.. the sticker is everywhere in HDB
Thanks for the info.
Gonna check the locksmith number illegally paste on my metal gate.

icebleue

They Should try calling police and ambulance then when they come say no need already. See if they will charge them in court.

Laneige

Ppl don’t understand one
They think no services = ppl owe them
The fellow need salary
Travel need car n petrol or diesel
How can just because no services = no services
He didn’t just appear out of thin air

Laneige

I called before. At around 10pm. For a locked room door.

The bustard had the audacity to quote $200.

In the end my family just kept hammering the door knob until it give way.
10pm u call taxi also got surcharge la
If no open to prices then ask prices first
Don’t ask then come n say ppl has the audacity to charge high

Sometimes ppl really think they ok to pay until they hear the prices n can’t take it

Jeremy1

The neighbour never asked any transportation fee boh ?

Laneige

We lack of compassionate and empathy.

Where is it
U mean the old lady just because she’s old = the man lack compassionate n empathy or

Because the man made the trip down and the lady don’t see it as a thing n cry because she has to fork out $80 to settle it?

So no empathy? Then the man feed family who empathize with him?

Who no empathy?

Meteor84

Ppl don’t understand one
They think no services = ppl owe them
The fellow need salary
Travel need car n petrol or diesel
How can just because no services = no services
He didn’t just appear out of thin air
i think $30 - $50 is more than enough to cover his petrol and then some. singapore is exp but its not that exp (yet)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.