2. Colorectal (colon & rectum) – ≈ 6,697
  3. Lung – ≈ 5,567
  4. Lymphoid neoplasms (lymphoma) – ≈ 2,986
  5. Liver (primary) – ≈ 2,984
  6. Non‑melanoma skin – ≈ 2,136
  7. Kidney – ≈ 1,734
  8. Stomach (gastric) – ≈ 1,684
  9. Myeloid neoplasms (e.g. leukemia) – ≈ 1,430
  10. Pancreas – ≈ 1,417 Wikipedia+15singaporecancersociety.org.sg+15HealthXchange+15

Women (2017–2021) – estimated average annual cases

1. Breast – ≈ 12,735 cases
  2. Colorectal (colon & rectum) – ≈ 5,542
  3. Lung – ≈ 3,388
  4. Corpus uteri (uterus) – ≈ 3,133
  5. Lymphoid neoplasms (lymphoma) – ≈ 2,221
  6. Ovary & fallopian tube – ≈ 1,855
  7. Non‑melanoma skin – ≈ 1,713
  8. Thyroid – ≈ 1,666
  9. Pancreas – ≈ 1,187
  10. Stomach (gastric) – ≈ 1,111
    (Cervix uteri was a close 11th with ~1,106) Ministry of Health+6singaporecancersociety.org.sg+6DBS Bank+6HealthXchange

soichiro

You got to stop straining during your bowel movements. And fibre makes it worse.you need fats like etra virgin olive for quick fix. Get a stool to prop up your legs to assume a squatting position.

Piles are enlarged blood vessels. intermittent fasting plays a huge role in shrinking it permanently.

Personal experience.
Huh? Fiber helps with the passing of stools and prevents straining leh... there's so much research out there that says fiber helps with piles.

athulican

Top 10 Cancers by Gender (2017–2021 average annual cases)​

Men (2017–2021) – estimated average annual cases

1. Prostate – ≈ 6,912 cases
  2. Colorectal (colon & rectum) – ≈ 6,697
  3. Lung – ≈ 5,567
  4. Lymphoid neoplasms (lymphoma) – ≈ 2,986
  5. Liver (primary) – ≈ 2,984
  6. Non‑melanoma skin – ≈ 2,136
  7. Kidney – ≈ 1,734
  8. Stomach (gastric) – ≈ 1,684
  9. Myeloid neoplasms (e.g. leukemia) – ≈ 1,430
  10. Pancreas – ≈ 1,417 Wikipedia+15singaporecancersociety.org.sg+15HealthXchange+15

Women (2017–2021) – estimated average annual cases

1. Breast – ≈ 12,735 cases
  2. Colorectal (colon & rectum) – ≈ 5,542
  3. Lung – ≈ 3,388
  4. Corpus uteri (uterus) – ≈ 3,133
  5. Lymphoid neoplasms (lymphoma) – ≈ 2,221
  6. Ovary & fallopian tube – ≈ 1,855
  7. Non‑melanoma skin – ≈ 1,713
  8. Thyroid – ≈ 1,666
  9. Pancreas – ≈ 1,187
  10. Stomach (gastric) – ≈ 1,111
    (Cervix uteri was a close 11th with ~1,106) Ministry of Health+6singaporecancersociety.org.sg+6DBS Bank+6HealthXchange
Eat more meat lah.

rrr2015

Huh? Fiber helps with the passing of stools and prevents straining leh... there's so much research out there that says fiber helps with piles.
too much fiber is not good cuz may irritate intestines lining, create blockage or adhesions

soichiro

too much fiber is not good cuz may irritate intestines lining, create blockage or adhesions
It's very rare for local/hawker food to be very high in fiber. And most people who have piles in the first place have it because they don't consume enough fiber. Piles is not a new thing, it's very well researched.

rrr2015

It's very rare for local/hawker food to be very high in fiber. And most people who have piles in the first place have it because they don't consume enough fiber. Piles is not a new thing, it's very well researched.
those vegetarians must be careful
not saying fiber is bad just need to consume in moderation as with all food
knew someone who consumed too fiber that cause some blockages

yuzu28

Currently not needed. When I have blood in my stool they usually go away after a few days with no pain. My worse was sharp pain in rectum when passing out and burning sensation but that was very long ago. Think I’m gg for gastroscopy and colonoscopy
Pay more attention if rectum does get painful again. Cos rectum cancer side effects is more jialat than colon cancer.

If lower rectum affected and needed a removal, the patient will most likely be on stoma bag forever. Colon removal normally not as bad although there might be some side effects which need time to recover.

yuzu28

There's a type of fibre that can cause constipation. I think is the insoluble type.

Eating more red meat and drinking alcohol are also one of the main causes for colorectal cancer.

Itsthatguy

Fiber does not work that way for everyone. Some do get constipation with too much fiber. How much is too much depends on different individuals also.

Scarlet Tea

Pay more attention if rectum does get painful again. Cos rectum cancer side effects is more jialat than colon cancer.

If lower rectum affected and needed a removal, the patient will most likely be on stoma bag forever. Colon removal normally not as bad although there might be some side effects which need time to recover.
I used to think no pain then scary cos inside anything wrong has no nerve that serves as pain signal to the brain as pain usually comes from external piles. Either way I better get it check for a peace of mind. Living with stoma bag is a slow torture

soichiro

Conclusion: fiber is generally very beneficial for the digestive system. Don't try to win the argument by going against all the medical research lol. Extreme side effects of too much fiber? Those are very rare cases.

rogze79

I tot fibre is good for ppl with piles? My toilet bowl is squat one wor. Maybe that’s why it doesn’t occur very often
Great. You got one part of the equation solved. Would it be better to completely solve it?

Fasting regularly and eating within a short window (4hr) induces greater degree of autophagy. (Cellular clean up, regeneration, reuse)

15 years ago, I was taught so too about fibre. Well, I realised it's nonsense a year ago. Stopped eating fruits and veg since. No issue with no 2.

Maybe you wish to read this sg study about locals with regards to fibre.

https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC3435786/

Stopping or reducing dietary fiber intake reduces constipation and its associated symptoms​

mummynew

more than 90% of the people around me are not having enough fibre and so I am not so concerned about fibre over consumption in a regular Singaporean diet.

Not easy to hit 'target' with below or other equivalent food daily:

tellyphone007

Agreed. Too much prebiotics or probiotics (i also dunno the differences) but it gives me LS many times... can last for few days.

Means the gut need to rest. Overbacteria liao

tellyphone007

Great. You got one part of the equation solved. Would it be better to completely solve it?

Fasting regularly and eating within a short window (4hr) induces greater degree of autophagy. (Cellular clean up, regeneration, reuse)

15 years ago, I was taught so too about fibre. Well, I realised it's nonsense a year ago. Stopped eating fruits and veg since. No issue with no 2.

Maybe you wish to read this sg study about locals with regards to fibre.

https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC3435786/

Stopping or reducing dietary fiber intake reduces constipation and its associated symptoms​

Are you on meat only diet?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.