yesterday singapore Custom take action and caught 60 malaysia illegal 霸王车

Bam25th

What’s there to kid? Looks like you ran out of arguments.

You said there are no licensed options but there are. You said the G should have regulations and there are.

You and ribena just don’t like those options and regulations.
Are there MPVs available to book? You can argue 2 cars.
Are there taxi options for those staying North? You can argue taxi at Bugis, so a 30 mins trip become 1.5 hours.

If lousy legal options are considered options, then sure. But to me, those lousy options aren’t even options worth considering.

If there are legal options that fulfil my requirement, which is an MPV that doesn’t require me to travel from north to south and back north, I will happily pay for it, even if it is more expensive.

the_dog

ICA ask a few questions. Most sinkies will kowtow and admit they hire service liao. Who want to risk lying to authority for such thing?
anyway at the moment there is no penalty for passengers, only the driver.

which kiasee kia chenghu sinkie would want to risk lying to the authorities just to cover up for the driver

Tyeehee

so far the ones who seem to be complaining the most about the crackdown are, in descending order

1. jhk 霸王车 drivers themselves
2. jhk PR in SG who balik kampong often using this service
3. sinkie simps who married jhb and kena arm twisted to accompany wife back to her kampong regularly
4. sinkie boomers who must go Genting monthly

:cool:
haha all spot on.. so is this a "tic for tat" for catching Sinkies car without VEP?

the_dog

haha all spot on.. so is this a "tic for tat" for catching Sinkies car without VEP?

i highly doubt this is related to that, as our govt generally doesn't give half a f about sinkie peasants getting tekan outside.

I think more likely this issue has been brewing for too long and the govt knows if this is not resolved, it will reach boiling point among our taxi and PHV drivers. As it is, a lot of them are already displaced from jobs by FT competition ending up driving taxi and PHV, so better not 逼人太甚

Chalkycliffs

Don't come and say only pay the driver in Malaysia, so it is not illegal.

In a taxi you also pay the driver at the destination end right (be it paying in cash or electronic means)?

He is your driver the moment you step into the vehicle and instruct him to leave the pick-up location and to proceed to the destination point.

You cross borders, he is still your driver. You are paying him to transport you from Point A to Point B, whether Point A originates in Malaysia or not, he is WORKING by ferrying you in a vehicle.

If he entered Singapore on a social visit pass - HE CANNOT WORK.

Shinning_Wolf

i highly doubt this is related to that, as our govt generally doesn't give half a f about sinkie peasants getting tekan outside.

I think more likely this issue has been brewing for too long and the govt knows if this is not resolved, it will reach boiling point among our taxi and PHV drivers. As it is, a lot of them are already displaced from jobs by FT competition ending up driving taxi and PHV, so better not 逼人太甚
I still see many at orchard rd hotels.

boyinhersense

Are there taxi options for those staying North? You can argue taxi at Bugis, so a 30 mins trip become 1.5 hours.

If lousy legal options are considered options, then sure. But to me, those lousy options aren’t even options worth considering.

If there are legal options that fulfil my requirement, which is an MPV that doesn’t require me to travel from north to south and back north, I will happily pay for it, even if it is more expensive.

Lol. So I was right. The regulated options are there. You just don’t like it.

So you prefer to take these unlicensed JB options.

Well if the government crackdown continues, your unlicensed options narrows and costs probably goes up because the risk/reward equation has changed. You can continue taking them (at least until they are stamped out). After that, you have the choice of train, bus, hot-footing across or go for the licensed options.

See? The options are there. Or you can just stay at home lor 🤭

pattanispirit

There'r syndicate operating these MPVs, same Hyundai model, same colour (black / white), same number plate, except diff alphabet.

Saw online, some VVIP has share in the syndicate, hence, JB Menteri Besar come out to talk for them.

In Msia now, it's no diff from Lee Rock era of colonial HK.

the_dog

I still see many at orchard rd hotels.

well you know what jhk always say about Sinkies - that Sinkies kiasee kiasu kia chenghu so cannot achieve anything. So let them show us what bravado they have and continue running this service

:cool:

lousydk

There'r syndicate operating these MPVs, same Hyundai model, same colour (black / white), same number plate, except diff alphabet.

Saw online, some VVIP has share in the syndicate, hence, JB Menteri Besar come out to talk for them.

In Msia now, it's no diff from Lee Rock era of colonial HK.
the funny thing is this kind of ba wang che, even in their own country soil is also kind of a grey area and might be considered illegal as well if im not wrong

drkcynic

Wow the passion is so intense towards this life and death topic.

If ONLY the patriotic sinkies here are so united towards things that are actually productive.

Littledragonpapertiger

Maybe Singapore foresee that with the upcoming Johore-Singapore Special Economic Zone, there will be high demand for cross border transport services. But if talk to Malaysia government, they will either reject or ask Singapore for concession. So must think of a way to make them request Singapore to collaborate on cross border transport.

Singapore government is doing Malaysians a service too. Likely from big data, they notice more MPV coming into Singapore, on a regular basis, nowadays. This lucrative business is now very hot. If number of tourist drop, these Malaysian 霸王车 owners will part time illegal grab service in Singapore. Investment made must have returns, and definitely will lose money if doing this service in Malaysia.

Very easy for private arrangements to be made via WeChat or WhatsApp. So better show hand. Better these 60 get into financial difficulties than 600 somewhere down the road.

长痛不如短痛

prudie

Exactly

people who don’t need it don’t understand why

people who have young kids & elderly and used before will understand what a great service & need it fulfils

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.