[GLGT] Late Singapore Nippon Paint tycoon’s fortune makes six grandchildren billionaires

Akky85

Painting is serious business. Especially HDB painting. My house there got 2 rounds of voting for paint colour scheme. First round not enough, ppl kpkb ask for 2nd round voting. Then end up people choose the dullest scheme.
Not just HDB, Singapore is a busy trading hub and time to time due to regulations and such, ship need to be repainted and touched up also, i think NP also jiak most if not all of the business here.

icebleue

Errr lol. Lazy to dress doesnt mean humble hor. I think they have 10 mega yachts.
Dress to impress. They are rich so they don’t have to dress up. Mark Zuckerberg is one example.

only the poor need to dress up, the poorer you are, the better clothes you wear.

I recall one guy wearing suit out. Stays in rental flat.

icebleue

Lol I like this paragraph from straits time

Over a decade ago, Mr Martin Lavoo helped co-found Sustenir Agriculture, a super-foods vertical farms start-up that has been backed by Temasek. He had worked before in finance and sales.

“I’m just a regular guy that has decided to risk it all on trying something completely new,” he said in an interview published on the website Empirics Asia in 2015.
Now got 28 genders.
Hes just a regular guy with a penis

Itsthatguy

shiok! :D

They earned it..

The billionaire can choose to donate all to charity
but like all billionaires, they will give a lot of money to their offsprings they think deserved the money.

only daft people really think billionaires really donate all their fortune to charity.
Most are under charity trusts run by their offsprings

but i see so many middle class ..doing that.. lol

Why do charities deserve it? :(

CyberTan

Dress to impress. They are rich so they don’t have to dress up. Mark Zuckerberg is one example.

only the poor need to dress up, the poorer you are, the better clothes you wear.

You sure Zucks don’t dress to impress? That sounds very naive. Have you heard of this brand called Brunello Cucinelli.

Smarty22

Unlike some billionaires who are prudent in their spending and lifestyle, the NP founder lived life to the fullest and luxuriously , enjoyed good food, owned an expensive yacht, lived in big GCB . Whatever money not spent (too enormous a sum to spend in his lifetime) is now left for his offspring

Kiwi8

https://www.straitstimes.com/busine...-fortune-makes-six-grandchildren-billionaires

HONG KONG – An academic in New York and the founder of a Bali charity are among six people who inherited stakes in the paint empire built by Singapore’s second-richest man.

The six are grandchildren of the late

tycoon Goh Cheng Liang, who died in August aged 98,

and who have each inherited stakes worth more than US$1 billion (S$1.3 billion) per person in a publicly traded firm.

The handover of the fortune marks an unusual transfer of assets for an ultra-rich Asian family that has skipped one generation.

:s14:
Song song sia....

ahnyaahnya

shiok! :D

They earned it..

The billionaire can choose to donate all to charity
but like all billionaires, they will give a lot of money to their offsprings they think deserved the money.

only daft people really think billionaires really donate all their fortune to charity.
Most are under charity trusts run by their offsprings

but i see so many middle class ..doing that.. lol
Only daft people will really donate ALL their fortune to charity.

ahnyaahnya

Actually not easy to donate whole fortune out unlike Ang Mo
In case you're thinking of Buffet ...Warren Buffet leaving his children " enough for them to do anything, but not enough to do nothing "
Similarly, Gates children will inherit a teeny tiny % of his wealth , "a chance for them to achieve their own success and identity without the burden of wealth "

Taloona

I read that Mark Zuckerberg's Tshirt cost a few hundred dollars.

shodan99

Zuck now into expensive watches already

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.