[Serious] What is the purpose of encouraging birth rate when there is not much opportunity for the local?

krikering

In the past, the peasants give birth to many so that their children can take care of them when they old.
Last time, people generally stop school after Sec 4 or at most Poly/J.C, etc. to either help out their parents' shops or go and perform manual jobs/clerical and administrative-related work, etc.

Now people generally prefer Corporate jobs, even Engineering-graduates try to hop into Banking and Finance/IT sectors, etc. after few years.

Plus, SG close to no Agricultural scene since no Rural areas (except for Pulau Ubin. Lim Chu Kang areas, etc. still too small).
Thus no need to raise so much children to help out with and pass on farm land, etc.

Honestly, the Population Ponzi scheme with Mass immigration really make the scene ultra competitive and push up Housing and other COLs, etc. People too stressed to have kids now. Some just 躺平, because see no end in sight.

Unic0rn

Our current generation really has problem. Procreate is built into our DNA. Not being asked by so and so.... You see a girl, you are attracted to her, ask her out for dates, get married, have some babies...it's all natural... Why would you need to be told by somebody? Even if they tell you, you can choose to disobey. Why blame the government?
Suggest to Google or ask AI about the experiment 🔬 in labs 🥼 by F Sensini · 2020 · Cited by 90 — Here, we show that technique and frequency of handling influence affective behaviour and stress hormone release of subjects in a sex- the mice 🐁 will procreate less when environment is very hard and hash.

grevq80o

In all serious matter, What is the purpose of encouraging birth rate when there is really no opportunity or much privileges for the local here? Anyone can just come in here to get a job and buy a resale HDB if they earn high enough here. We have already find a solution to this shortage position by importing as much foreign talent as possible , among all sector , close to 55% to 60% of the average position is already filled by FT or PR.

So local is really not needed other than serving Mandatory NS. There is already a massive number of people , be it the fresh grad or jobless PMET who are unable to find any opportunity other than driving grab or food panda. The previous generation of leaders did the right things by limiting birth rate and imposing fine on large family back than , can't imagine if there is no restriction on this , there will be even a larger population of people who are jobless here and fighting for a small pool of resource and opportunity amid the fierce competition.

So why is the government still trying to push for local birthrate and incentive those maternity leave despite that they have already found a solution to this problem by just importing when needed.
Because PAP is not on same page as you.

PAP thinks that enough support is available to all new borns. Like givign them lots of baby bonus, giving them "lots" of subsidy for BTO purchase, like safety nets like COMCARE etc to help financially challenged families, like School pocketmoney Fund to help with children from poor families.

So how to bridge the gap? There is no opposition party powerful enough to challenge PAP. Now WP only agree or disagree with PAP, because that is the only thing they can do within their power.

And yet Ho CHing is telling sinkies to "live within their means" and take public transport if car is unattainable - i.e. let the rich drive, poor should find their own place in this society.

Capitalist

Honestly, the Population Ponzi scheme with Mass immigration really make the scene ultra competitive and push up Housing and other COLs, etc. People too stressed to have kids now. Some just 躺平, because see no end in sight.
Wanna 躺平 also need adequate means ... to be able to do so, sustainably .. basic necessities, healthcare, etc ... until one uplorries ....

Capitalist

Because PAP is not on same page as you.

PAP thinks that enough support is available to all new borns. Like givign them lots of baby bonus, giving them "lots" of subsidy for BTO purchase, like safety nets like COMCARE etc to help financially challenged families, like School pocketmoney Fund to help with children from poor families.

So how to bridge the gap? There is no opposition party powerful enough to challenge PAP. Now WP only agree or disagree with PAP, because that is the only thing they can do within their power.

And yet Ho CHing is telling sinkies to live within their means and take public transport if car is unattainable - i.e. let the rich drive, poor should find their own place in this society.
Ain't it prudent to "live within one's means"?

Mai leverage excessively hor .... else tio 1 X pain pain, ... can be irrecoverable ... :s13:

dxdx999

The whole encourage birth rate thing is not their real priority. If it was, it wouldn't be headed by someone unmarried and who had no children of her own.

It was announced pre-election so that sinkies can feel good that the gov cares, but in truth they are more concerned about importing for pop growth.

Just look at their actions

FireEmblem

Need fresh young males to do NS protect FT and elite to earn big money in safe place

Eliwood

Haha good theory. Same as

if you owe the bank 10k it’s your problem.
If you owe the bank 10m it’s their problem

Yet when miw solve their problem, edmwers kbkp machiam like it becomes edmwers' problem hahaha.

106gunner

Our uniform group need sinkie to serve ns, especially during the current situation happening in Russia, Ukraine, Israel

They also come in handy to managed the crowd since more foreigners and new citizen here and the population is increasing

Though your child might not be a director in a govt agency or a CEO in a bank but your child can sign on and sacrifice for SG 😥

coyote

Suggest to Google or ask AI about the experiment 🔬 in labs 🥼 by F Sensini · 2020 · Cited by 90 — Here, we show that technique and frequency of handling influence affective behaviour and stress hormone release of subjects in a sex- the mice 🐁 will procreate less when environment is very hard and hash.

Some guys really spend so much time justifying your life staying single...

grevq80o

In today's era ... like it or not, ... Jobs are being globalized, it's how employment opportunities, roles, and labor markets are increasingly shaped by global economic integration, technology, and cross-border collaboration.

The world is a much bigger place than we imagine and/or know.
agree. This PAP die die say need to globalize otherwise SG is gone case.

That means pitting you - who need to buy Million $ HDB, pay 9% GST on everything, pay gov fees and endure endless inflation - with some kampung kid who went to school in the city gotch degree in AI and now doing your job at fraction of your cost.

So, if you don't like it, you already voted for it. So have to suck it up and do as you are told.

evilsun

SG still need males to do NS to provide sense of security for FT and NC and their assets, so that more FT and NC will come and put assets here. After can be security guards and food delivery for the FT and NC.
Why do so many people still assume that security guards job are still reserved for local. Big Companies like certis cisco or aetos have already tapped into FT for manpower. They no longer need sinkie for this job.

Let say even if a NTU or NUS local uni grad would to start his career as a security guard , he or she might not get the job also.

nasilemak100

with rise of AI, there will be lesser stuff for humans to do

if u think wow that's good. humans now have time to do other stuff and what they like. u might be wrong

those AI will be owned by the billionaires and big companies. the gap between the elite ultra rich and the middle class and the lower class will be even greater.

eventually it might only be the top 1% ultra rich and the 99% poverty class with no middleclass

unless u r the top 1% ultra rich....don't bring another live to suffer.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.