[BREAKING] Trump announces 100% tariff on branded or patented pharmaceutical imports from Oct 1

GreatPumpkin

This is why i don't dare to buy health stonks.

You have one nutjob rfk jr as health secretary.

Then their potus is an all round nutter who already said he was gonna target pharma.

iosnewbie

Trump really can and will do anything he wishes. If there’s another global pandemic that strikes during his midterms, maybe he will demand big pharma to prioritize USA while leaving others nations to die.

jericho75

This is why i don't dare to buy health stonks.

You have one nutjob rfk jr as health secretary.

Then their potus is an all round nutter who already said he was gonna target pharma.

sinkapore 60 years liao still haven got own mncs. always depending on handouts from other countries to open companies here.

AlmightyOnes

See here got many King dumb trump supporters.. See how he hurt us now.. happy liao :(
It’s like being given two types of poison, and you’re forced to choose one. The hard truth is, with the previous choice they voted for, everything went downhill, the cost of living went up, and so on. So now they’ve decided to give Trump a chance, since they don’t really have a better alternative either.

testerjp

If you think about it, the actual dollars and cents impacted.

For pharmaceutical, the cost of production is likely very low and margin very thick. It's the R&D that is expensive. A levy of 100 pct on a few cents won't be great to the producers. They can't tax on R&D and R&D cost can still be used to reduce taxes.

Those pharmaceutical choose to produce here is likely due to other political, operation or trading reasons rather than lowering production cost. If that's the purpose, they could have done it in other cheaper places, to run. :o

The greatest loser will be the American residents, because the pharmaceutical will pass the cost and they will use the opportunity to jack up the price higher. It won't be few cents of increase, they will use the opportunity to increase by a bigger margin.

Even if the pharmaceutical wanna entertain Donald trump and pull operations back. They probably still produce it in the other countries, send the processed material to USA to do packaging. Produced in USA has a broad definition, it can be just semi produced or packaged there. :o

Tldr: Likely nothing to worry but I'm more worried that PAP, like those pharmaceutical companies, use the opportunity to jack up prices or create some indirect taxes. :(

jericho75

Let s put it this way. I dun like the miw. But there needs to be a viable alternative for you to jump ship to, even a temporary lifeboat may do.

I am sure a majority of locals think this way too.

they dun have alternatives one. the ppl they hired only knows how to study hard and become scholars. dun have critical thinking one. all going straight road only.

pushtopen

For them he will do no wrong lah, even if they were to literally die because of his policies, they will just push the blame to wokes the miws and everyone else.

I don't understand how these people can believe otherwise despite the whole world telling them that the world will go to shiat if he's elected

give them properly vetted media sources they say oh the traditional media has been infiltrated by the woke and I only believe Facebook

give them the election manifesto of project 2025 and the very fact that the author of the manifesto Stephen miller has close ties with Peter thiel, one of the largest donor in the campaign, they say because the orange pancake say no such thing means no such thing

https://www.project2025.observer/en

I don't see them believing the pap or any other politician with such ease

the world is really doomed with idiots like these

kennysme

Call me pessimist. I m not very hopeful he will kuai kuai handover power 3 years later. Let's see anyway.
He did say he has a plan when someone asked how he would stay in office beyond his term.
But i think the siao langs there will exercise their second amendment right ; "A well regulated Militia, being necessary to the security of a free State, the right of the people to keep and bear Arms shall not be infringed".
The amendment was included in the Bill of Rights to ensure an armed populace as a safeguard against government oppression and to support state militias.

Milodrink

Serious qns.

Can coy just dont export or import to USA Lor?

Just go to Asia countries or other 638489595 regions also can right

GreatPumpkin

where all the orange pancake supporters

where my boys at

come and marvel at the intellect and amount of winning they are doing

giphy.gif
Not a maga.

I would say trump is a weird president.

At face value his ideas are not totally illogical, just that the execution is badly thought out.

For example he wants to bring manufacturing back to usa but at the same time chase away all those undocumented migrants willing to do low wage stuff.

So basically used car salesman.

lifezard

they dun have alternatives one. the ppl they hired only knows how to study hard and become scholars. dun have critical thinking one. all going straight road only.

Well that makes us on a sinking ship, and the only other alternative is jumping into to the sea. I am sure there will be some who fancy that alternative.

Hopefully things are not so dire, yet.

ghregular

actually trump target is american companies who went abroad to go back is it?

tmkedmw

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/wor...s-us-trucks-furniture-home-renovation-5370396

Trump announces 100% tariff on branded or patented pharmaceutical imports from Oct 1​

The US president also announced new tariffs on trucks, home renovation fixtures and furniture.

WASHINGTON: United States President Donald Trump announced on Thursday (Sep 25) new tariffs on pharmaceuticals, big-rig trucks, home renovation fixtures and furniture.

Starting Oct 1 "we will be imposing a 100 per cent Tariff on any branded or patented Pharmaceutical Product, unless a Company IS BUILDING their Pharmaceutical Manufacturing Plant in America," the Republican wrote on his Truth Social platform.

In a separate post, he wrote of a 25 per cent tariff on "all 'Heavy (Big) Trucks' made in other parts of the world" to support US manufacturers such as "Peterbilt, Kenworth, Freightliner, Mack Trucks and others".

He said the truck tariffs were "for many reasons, but above all else, for National Security purposes!"

Earlier this year, the Trump administration launched a probe into imports of trucks to "determine the effects of national security".

The real estate tycoon also targeted home renovation materials, writing "We will be imposing a 50 per cent Tariff on all Kitchen Cabinets, Bathroom Vanities and associated products" as of Oct 1.

"Additionally, we will be charging a 30 per cent Tariff on Upholstered Furniture," he added.
Might as well tariff everything including the proverbial kitchen sink.

Really sinking to new depths.

jericho75

I don't understand how these people can believe otherwise despite the whole world telling them that the world will go to shiat if he's elected

give them properly vetted media sources they say oh the traditional media has been infiltrated by the woke and I only believe Facebook

give them the election manifesto of project 2025 and the very fact that the author of the manifesto Stephen miller has close ties with Peter thiel, one of the largest donor in the campaign, they say because the orange pancake say no such thing means no such thing

https://www.project2025.observer/en

I don't see them believing the pap or any other politician with such ease

the world is really doomed with idiots like these

sinkies cannot do anything if ppl wants to vote him in.

like 35% sinkies cannot do nuts if 65% wanna vote for pap.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.