EDMW got dietitian or nutritionist?

ninelives

We have doctor, lawyer, pilot, surgeon, scientist, doctor, politician and etc here. I need advise on simple to make moderate to high protein breakfast. I am lactose intolerance.

Please share with me good local recipe. I googled liao but many Ang moh recipes which is not quite suitable in SG.

thanks.

rosschang

here many ghost on "diet-and-become-malnutrition"ish

but hor... what unicorn r u? why Ang Moh lecipies not suptable fer SG?

Dinoboyboy

@ninelives for you my bro. :frown:

Here's a simple, nutritious breakfast recipe tailored for lactose intolerance, with a moderate to high protein content (around 30-35g per serving). I've kept it in a Singapore context by incorporating common local ingredients like firm tofu (tau kwa), bean sprouts, and a touch of sambal for that familiar Southeast Asian flavor. All items are easily available at wet markets, NTUC FairPrice, or Sheng Siong supermarkets. This is a quick stir-fry inspired by local hawker-style dishes, but lactose-free (no dairy at all) and focused on protein from plant and animal sources.

### Singapore-Style Tofu and Egg Stir-Fry (Serves 1, Prep time: 10 mins, Cook time: 10 mins)

#### Ingredients:
- 200g firm tofu (tau kwa), drained and cubed (provides about 20g protein)
- 2 large eggs (provides about 12g protein)
- 100g bean sprouts (mung bean sprouts, for crunch and a bit of fiber)
- 1 small red chili or 1 tsp sambal oelek (adjust for spice level; optional for that local kick)
- 1 clove garlic, minced
- 1 tsp light soy sauce (use tamari if gluten-free)
- 1 tsp sesame oil (for flavor, not frying)
- 1 tsp vegetable oil (for cooking)
- A handful of chopped spring onions or coriander for garnish
- Salt and pepper to taste

#### Instructions:
1. Pat the tofu dry with a paper towel to remove excess water, then cut into 1-inch cubes. This helps it crisp up without sogginess.
2. Heat the vegetable oil in a non-stick pan or wok over medium heat (common in Singaporean kitchens for quick stir-fries).
3. Add the minced garlic and chopped chili (or sambal) to the pan. Stir-fry for 30 seconds until fragrant, being careful not to burn it.
4. Add the tofu cubes and cook for 4-5 minutes, turning occasionally until golden and slightly crispy on the edges.
5. Push the tofu to one side of the pan. Crack the eggs directly into the empty space and scramble them lightly for 2-3 minutes until just set (don't overcook to keep them soft).
6. Toss in the bean sprouts and soy sauce. Stir everything together for another 1-2 minutes until the sprouts soften slightly but remain crunchy.
7. Remove from heat, drizzle with sesame oil, and season with salt and pepper. Garnish with spring onions or coriander.
8. Serve hot on its own or with a side of steamed brown rice for extra carbs if needed (keeps it balanced for a Singaporean meal).

#### Nutritional Notes (Approximate per serving):
- Protein: 30-35g (moderate-high for breakfast)
- Calories: ~350-400 (depending on exact portions)
- Why lactose-free: No dairy products used; tofu and eggs are naturally lactose-free.
- Singapore twist: This mimics a simple zi char-style dish, using affordable, everyday ingredients. If you prefer more variety, you could add ikan bilis (dried anchovies) for extra protein and umami—about 50g would add another 10g protein, but rinse them first to reduce saltiness.

RinoaX

We have doctor, lawyer, pilot, surgeon, scientist, doctor, politician and etc here. I need advise on simple to make moderate to high protein breakfast. I am lactose intolerance.

Please share with me good local recipe. I googled liao but many Ang moh recipes which is not quite suitable in SG.

thanks.
AI is pretty decent at that. You still need to know what it suggests as food though.

NintendoSwitch

thanks.
Dun trust dietitian. Moi prediabeties take dietitian shyat advice becum uncontrolled diabetes and kenna operations many many. Dey gib u all the advice dat will unalive chiu.

rogze79

thanks.
Sunny side ups/hard boiled eggs.
Air fry pork chops/minced beef.
Salt to taste.

Can Or Not

Got it 👍 Thanks for sharing that you’re lactose intolerant — I’ll suggest simple, protein-rich breakfasts that are dairy-free and also easy to find ingredients in Singapore.

🔹 Simple → Moderate → Higher Protein Options​

✅ Simple & Quick (5–10 min prep)​

1. Soy milk + oats + chia seeds + nuts
    • Use unsweetened soy milk (high in protein).
    • Add oats, chia seeds, almonds or walnuts.
    • Optional: add banana or berries.
  2. Peanut butter or almond butter on wholemeal bread
    • High in protein & filling.
    • Choose natural nut butters (no added sugar).
  3. Boiled eggs / Soft-boiled eggs (Singapore-style half-boiled)
    • Easy, protein-packed.
    • Pair with wholemeal toast.

✅ Moderate Effort (10–20 min prep)​

1. Egg + avocado + wholegrain wrap
    • Scramble or fry eggs.
    • Add avocado slices, spinach, and wrap in tortilla.
  2. Tuna sandwich / wrap
    • Use canned tuna in water/olive oil.
    • Mix with avocado or hummus (instead of mayo for lighter option).
  3. Tofu scramble (egg alternative)
    • Crumble firm tofu, sauté with turmeric, onions, and vegetables.
    • Serve with wholemeal bread.

✅ Higher Protein (Meal Prep style)​

1. Chicken breast or salmon rice bowl
    • Grill chicken/salmon the night before.
    • In the morning, serve with brown rice or quinoa + veggies.
  2. Chickpea salad with egg / tofu
    • Mix boiled chickpeas, cherry tomatoes, cucumber, olive oil, lemon.
    • Add hard-boiled egg or grilled tofu for extra protein.
  3. Protein smoothie (dairy-free)
    • Blend soy milk / oat milk, banana, peanut butter, and plant-based protein powder (many are available in SG like MyProtein, Nuzest, etc.).

🔹 Tips for Singapore​

• Soy milk (NutriSoy, Vitasoy, or unsweetened options from supermarkets) is widely available and high in protein.
  • Eggs, tofu, tempeh, chickpeas, and lentils are inexpensive and lactose-free protein sources.
  • Plant-based protein powders are easy to add if you want to boost protein quickly.

Ahemahem

got
EDMW got many sexperts who will come out to share their views when something happen

Dj_SkyE

My breakfast:
- 4 slices of Sunshine Wholemeal Ultrafine
- 2 med eggs + 80g of egg white
- 2 new multi chicken breast
- 2 tbsp of PB2 peanut butter powder + 2 tbsp of water
- 50g of lettuce

Total: 644 kcals (73.7g of protein, 54.2g of carbs, 17.2g of fats)

Big Chicken

EDMW is the worst place to come for any advice.

Whenever there's a thread about someone getting cancer, always will have one joker say drink bitter gourd juice can cure.

NintendoSwitch

That's terrible.

My neighbor s helper, from pre diabetic to diabetic in 1 years. Her doctor told her to cut rice, noodles, bread.

She's still eating those carbs.
In my case I cut those carbs but their dietitian told me to eat plenty plenty becos of their simi sai food pyramid. More Rons.
-Ronald-Weasley-ronald-weasley-32476896-1024-768.jpg

rarenick

My breakfast sets

Set A: oats, soy milk, chia seed, pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds, manuka honey.

Set B: oats, soy milk, chia seeds, avocado.

Set C: oats, soy milk, various seeds, peanut butter.

Set D oats, soy milk, chocolate protein powder.

Sometimes add prunes, banana or mixed nuts. Every morning is like eating a dessert. Only occasionally is bread with olive oil, peanut butter or egg.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.