News| The 5% transport fare hike is 'measured and considerate', say experts as commuters dismayed

trax06

The only experts they shld ask is right here in edmw.

Eliwood

Prof Fan said, pointing out that the average commuter may end up paying only a few dollars more each month
For me is 10¢*2 pax*2 trips*30 days=$12

Fare hike has been increasing 10¢ yearly, ever since shifting to new home in 2022
So when I turn 65, just one stop may cost as much as $3.19

Now 1 stop trip is around $1.2?

So means u took public transport (if 1 stop) for free in 2013? I dun recall free public transport in the past....

tatsit

it is always about perspective aint it.

the govt is always increasing fare in the perspective of the operators, ensuring them that they have increasing profits.

whilst the commuters suffer from endless breakdowns and overcrowding

wongkc

Of coz it is “measured and considerate”…

Measured and considerate coz announced after election so wun affect votes…

nakata97

Prof Fan said, pointing out that the average commuter may end up paying only a few dollars more each month
For me is 10¢*2 pax*2 trips*30 days=$12

Fare hike has been increasing 10¢ yearly, ever since shifting to new home in 2022
So when I turn 65, just one stop may cost as much as $3.19

$6 per pax is only a few dollars for the average commuter…

prof fan is correct

Dr Stephen Strange

"The fares are too low for operators to make profits from the fare, and today operators receive Government subsidies to cover the difference between fares and costs," said Prof Theseira.
SMRT and SBSTransit made how many millions last year?

zoossh

"Many people may not actually experience an increase. They might even register a reduction in the transport fare," Prof Fan said, pointing out that the average commuter may end up paying only a few dollars more each month.

gaslighting people as usual
We see that very often what

only the minority Beh kan think expensive, majority think dirt cheap haven’t increase enough, according to some people.

black and white can reverse

Ethan_

These experts now to justify the increase in fares, defies all logic.

Should cut his pay, then say he is actually earning more.
Think many may know something is seriously wrong, when every year need to increase, every year people kpkb, and every year so called experts need to come out justify the increase. Worse when they always like to justify that the increase is not much. That usually according to pass pattern, tend cost the people the most. :s22:

uselessbum

What they fail (or deliberately avoided) to mention is that the optics for it is very bad. Yes, there is never a good time to increase prices but right now could be considered one of the bad ones in light of the spate of breakdowns. The committee looking into the breakdowns hasn't even finalized their findings into the matter. Macam asking for pay raise before performance review or just after a major screw-up at your job.

They argue that the increases are (ostensibly) to cover the increase in maintenance. Yet the spate of breakdowns brings into question whether the price increase for it is justified. It results in cognitive dissonance because the result is contradictory. We have been continually paying increases to specifically avoid such issues.....but they still happen anway? Then what are we paying for?

It's like rubbing salt into the wound. Doesn't help either that the MOT himself gave strawmen defensive responses such as "we can't expect zero breakdowns". Or the joker who said "don't want overmaintenance".

:(

Vinda99

the fare increase is not necessarily about boosting operator profits, but about keeping the cost-sharing balance between commuters and taxpayers stable.
Many commuters are taxpayers too. Ownself share ownself?

"The money must come from somewhere, and if it doesn't come from your fares, it will definitely come from the taxpayer."

SMRT Trains reported a net profit after tax of $6.9 million for the Financial Year 2024/2025, a 8% decrease from the previous year, due to higher operating costs from a 2024 East-West Line disruption and a subsequent Land Transport Authority (LTA) financial penalty.

So increase is to pay for their financial penalty also? They cockup, we pay,and they still huat, and want us to pay more?

an increase in emphasis on quality could explain the rising cost of maintaining the transport system, with the addition of new MRT lines and bus services in recent years, while ridership has not increased by as much.
Zhun boh...

Despite the profit dip, overall revenue increased by 4% to $918.2 million due to higher average fares and increased ridership.

Prof Fan echoed this, noting that rising energy costs, wages, and retail prices all contribute to the increase in fares.

Rising wages still need to listen to your expert nonsense?

"We now have six lines instead of two. So if in the past, we only had one disruption a year, now we should expect one every two months."

Ok your expert mathematics is noted. So means if we cut down to 2 lines, we will go back to 1 disruption a year?

These dogs do not bark without their masters zapping their nuts with lightning. Where once they were satisfied with choking us with their gusai, they now want the satisfaction of us telling them it smells good too.

😢

AlchemistJ19

Every year we have budget surplus all put inside reserves. Cannot use to offset PUBLIC transport?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.