News| The 5% transport fare hike is 'measured and considerate', say experts as commuters dismayed

herzberg

What the sexperts are saying ish: upz 5% you all can tao chio liao, still kpkb smlj??

zuoom

"Many people may not actually experience an increase. They might even register a reduction in the transport fare," Prof Fan said, pointing out that the average commuter may end up paying only a few dollars more each month.

gaslighting people as usual
How they calculate reduction when you increase fares? Because people take less transport ah?

weiess

SUzhazv.gif

tomsss

also they are saying, they actually can and want to increase even more, but they understanding, so they increase only this much this year

Optrex

fare increase and ppl may end up paying lesser. I think he deserves a Nobel price in math and economics. I don't think anyone dead or alive managed to achieve this in the history of mankind. this professor is our crown jewel and star player. he is grossly underpaid.....

samferguson

Slowly pushing citizens to pay a compulsory monthly transport subscription fees. Once everyone on board, mandate a compulsory 5% to 9% increase in the monthly subscription fees, wah lah more money in the national coffers. Confidence for the future.

Lchlch

Fare increase is 'measured', say experts​

Transport analyst Terence Fan from Singapore Management University told TNP that the fare increase is "measured and considerate", noting actual that the increase is well below the ceiling.

"Many people may not actually experience an increase. They might even register a reduction in the transport fare," Prof Fan said, pointing out that the average commuter may end up paying only a few dollars more each month.

In particular, he emphasised that the price of monthly travel passes will be reduced by six dollars, which has not happened before. "For those who have been using public transport very heavily, it will actually translate into a small reduction in their monthly expense," Prof Fan said.

Walter Theseira, head of the urban transportation programme at the Singapore University of Social Sciences, said that the fare increase is not necessarily about boosting operator profits, but about keeping the cost-sharing balance between commuters and taxpayers stable.

"The fares are too low for operators to make profits from the fare, and today operators receive Government subsidies to cover the difference between fares and costs," said Prof Theseira.

"The money must come from somewhere, and if it doesn't come from your fares, it will definitely come from the taxpayer."

Balancing cost and reliability​

Prof Theseira also emphasised the need to balance system costs with reliable service, pointing out that there is an inherent trade-off between the two. Ultimately, commuters and taxpayers pay for cost-ineffective increases in maintenance.

He added that an increase in emphasis on quality could explain the rising cost of maintaining the transport system, with the addition of new MRT lines and bus services in recent years, while ridership has not increased by as much.

Prof Fan echoed this, noting that rising energy costs, wages, and retail prices all contribute to the increase in fares.

He added that as the public transport network grows, service disruptions may appear more frequent: "We now have six lines instead of two. So if in the past, we only had one disruption a year, now we should expect one every two months."

Will transport fares continue to increase?​

Both experts added that prices are likely to increase in the coming years, although Prof Fan noted that fare hikes are unlikely to rise above 9 per cent.

"Can we do better? Yes, I think so. But what we have now is already very good," he added.

https://www.tnp.sg/news/5-transport...nd-considerate-say-experts-commuters-dismayed
It is yoo much.
Col rising.
Peasants are struggling.
Yet they so heartless evil people ho n raise the fare.
For their big fat bonuses.

Lchlch

The prof that said not making profits is joking right? Making millions not enough. They forget that these companies are providing public transport. Something is very wrong if focused on profits…
Reap what they sow one day.

Lchlch

Fare increase is 'measured', say experts​

Transport analyst Terence Fan from Singapore Management University told TNP that the fare increase is "measured and considerate", noting actual that the increase is well below the ceiling.

In particular, he emphasised that the price of monthly travel passes will be reduced by six dollars, which has not happened before. "For those who have been using public transport very heavily, it will actually translate into a small reduction in their monthly expense," Prof Fan said.

Walter Theseira, head of the urban transportation programme at the Singapore University of Social Sciences, said that the fare increase is not necessarily about boosting operator profits, but about keeping the cost-sharing balance between commuters and taxpayers stable.

"The fares are too low for operators to make profits from the fare, and today operators receive Government subsidies to cover the difference between fares and costs," said Prof Theseira.

"The money must come from somewhere, and if it doesn't come from your fares, it will definitely come from the taxpayer."

Balancing cost and reliability​

Prof Theseira also emphasised the need to balance system costs with reliable service, pointing out that there is an inherent trade-off between the two. Ultimately, commuters and taxpayers pay for cost-ineffective increases in maintenance.

He added that an increase in emphasis on quality could explain the rising cost of maintaining the transport system, with the addition of new MRT lines and bus services in recent years, while ridership has not increased by as much.

Prof Fan echoed this, noting that rising energy costs, wages, and retail prices all contribute to the increase in fares.

He added that as the public transport network grows, service disruptions may appear more frequent: "We now have six lines instead of two. So if in the past, we only had one disruption a year, now we should expect one every two months."

Will transport fares continue to increase?​

Both experts added that prices are likely to increase in the coming years, although Prof Fan noted that fare hikes are unlikely to rise above 9 per cent.

"Can we do better? Yes, I think so. But what we have now is already very good," he added.

https://www.tnp.sg/news/5-transport...nd-considerate-say-experts-commuters-dismayed
Look at the 2nd paragraph, reduction?
Why not he come with me n shoe me today I boarded the bus n see price reduce or not.
Dnt play with words.

iceblendedchoc

why the need to increase fare? GST 9% already get free public transport according to our retired PAP MP who said in Parliament......

rachoon

wan to up just up la... kpkb so much... end up we got no choice also... still need to take...

the problem is up liao still breakdown... say they scared over maintenance...

monitor lizards monitoring...

dxdx999

MSM completely trying to smoke bomb

If the service quality is good, I don't think people will be so upset. Now is sheet quality and get must pay more.

dxdx999

Slowly pushing citizens to pay a compulsory monthly transport subscription fees. Once everyone on board, mandate a compulsory 5% to 9% increase in the monthly subscription fees, wah lah more money in the national coffers. Confidence for the future.
Except it's not into the coffers, it's to the train operators that are ALREADY making considerable profits

yuzu28

Ah tiong prof is it? Dying hard to suck.

Can he enlighten the mass public how an increase can be even register as a reduction? If he can solve this equation '+ = -' maybe can win nobel price?

0o0cash0o0

I dont understand this logic. Price i crease but pay lesser?
Erm who is this prof? PHD in talk rubbish?

matrix05

The increase is too low lah, what is this measured and considerate (aka half baked)? Expert analyst talkinkok?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.