Mothership - AIA denies S$100,000 payout to S'pore man with benign brain tumour, said condition 'not life-threatening' at time of surgery & not includ

0bserver

The strange thing is why hospitalisation claims rejected.

CI I can understand.

In fact I got my CI payout . No questions asked.

But I'm lucky to be alive

kevinlaikf

Aging loal population with growing population made up of incoming FT wary of spending in a temporary country of residence.

gnoes85

That's why just get hospitalization one, and maybe accident or life ones. Avoid CI

Whimsica

Sinkies very funny.

On one hand want to stir insurance companies for being strict on claims on the other hand kpkb about rising premiums.

Don't they know level of premiums is a function of payouts, and the more others claim the more the rest will pay?

kuti-kuti

Sinkies very funny.

On one hand want to stir insurance companies for being strict on claims on the other hand kpkb about rising premiums.

Don't they know level of premiums is a function of payouts, and the more others claim the more the rest will pay?
Allow me to ask lah, then we still see premiums keep rising but they still so strict on payouts?

David Lai

but all surgery in hospital are covered by shield plan right?
shield plan is one thing, but privately purchased policies may include very different clauses…
even policies with similar names offered by different insurance companies may potentially have differences in their coverage…

so read carefully, and ask whenever there is any query, before making that the first premium payment…

megaweb

Such a large sum to claim usually needs Letter of Guarantee (LOG).

mummynew

Reading page 26 about benign brain tumour:

"Benign Brain Tumour

Benign brain tumour means a non-malignant tumour located in the cranial vault and limited to the brain, meninges or cranial nerves where all of the following conditions are met:

• It has undergone surgical removal or, if inoperable, has caused a permanent neurological deficit and

• Its presence must be confirmed by a neurologist or neurosurgeon and supported by findings on Magnetic Resonance Imaging, Computerised Tomography, or other reliable imaging techniques.

The following are excluded:

• Cysts;
• Abscess;
• Angioma;
• Granulomas;
• Vascular Malformations;
• Haematomas; and
• Tumours of the pituitary gland, spinal cord and skull base."

---------------------

*judging from even his ISP got rejected = high chance of his is a pre-existing condition after AIA investigated (then he has to get his surgeon to 'dispute' etc).

sAVaGEmP5

Aia doing a great job, its just a business afterall.

Afew lives no claim dun really doesn't really matter, but 1 company employ thousands give them job opportunities ok.

Whimsica

Allow me to ask lah, then we still see premiums keep rising but they still so strict on payouts?

Current issue on premium is combo of high claims and high hospital costs.

If insurers suka suka pay out critical illness benefits for benign tumour then premiums will skyrocket, many insured will opt out/ downgrade and then insurers will go bankrupt servicing those who keep going for expensive but may not be necessary treatments that their doctors push.

dezzo69

thats why read black and white yourself

agents paint u a pretty picture where u can claim most conditions and in poor health, u can profit and cover gaogao

nope

if everybody read insurance policies, nobody would sign them liao.

and the good ones that actually cover properly would be those that are like 10k/annum type.

ghregular

i only voluntarily buy travel ins when needed.
but i m Forced to buy medishield! ×|€¢~%®!

the other day saw a bone doctor they ltr deducted fr my medisave which i'd used once. i told them to refund which they did.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.