Is it a must for billionaires to share their wealth with the world?

daveteo88

Capitalism is the best system we have so far. But the downside is rich ppl gets even richer and it has nothing to do with whether they are smarter or work harder.
It’s the head start, connection and resource they have.
Hence 1 of governments job is to redistribute income which is why there is tax :(
Rich ppl spend more on luxury item and drink wine then hv to pay 9% GST. Daveteo88 eat cai png get CDC voucher. The 35% say VTO.

orpisia

This kind of small chit chat conversation with your MIL also trigger u ar

Akky85

Capitalism is unsustainable for the long run. Yes, the so call rich ppl create company which then create job (ironically now reducing job due to taking over of AI slowly).

But when more and more resources get suck up to the top at ever increasing rate, when the bottom of society cannot tahan, will collapse.

So rich ppl think they very smart, they maint a buffer zone for the bottom so the bottom will never need to complain about ''not enough'' but will cheer them on for ''just enough''. When the buffer zone is depleted, a recession for example becomes their reset tactics, becuz after recession is growth right?

Right?

Yeah so ppl hold on to that hope that post recession, they will somehow be in the new lead.

They hold the carrot and we are the donkey. Literally.

But the scary fact is, most of us is not even aware of that.

Collectivism is the only way forward. I stress NOT communism but collectivism.

Visor9999

No such thing, billionaires will always want to increase their wealth to make more money due to greed and extreme capitalism measures. Their goals is to catch up to Elon musk wealth and increase their ranking of billionaires for prestige club

LoUsyGamER

So I recently changed job and is now in the entertainment/ tourism industry.

I told my MIL that our operations run 24/7 and that I do not share the same off days as other anymore.

I do not have weekends and public holidays anymore.

Instead, my off days can be on any two days in the week and that all my public holidays will be converted into off-in-lieu for me to apply after the PH itself.

Then I really don't know what kind of link there is, my MIL went about telling me that all these corporations are run by billionaires and that they get too rich profiteering off others. They should give some of what they earn back to the people.

I replied, "Billionaires create jobs and one of such job is what I'm doing to earn my living."

🤦🤦🤦
Nope.

People use brains, use their luck, use their guts to make money.

The idea to distribute wealth is close to lie flat theory. You work and distribute your wealth to me while I lie flat.

joshua182

"The world is a college of corporations, inexorably determined by the immutable bylaws of business. The world is a business, Mr. Beale. It has been since man crawled out of the slime. And our children will live, Mr. Beale, to see that perfect world in which there's no war or famine, oppression or brutality -- one vast and ecumenical holding company, for whom all men will work to serve a common profit, in which all men will hold a share of stock, all necessities provided, all anxieties tranquilized, all boredom amused."

Network 1976!

fly1111

Rich ppl spend more on luxury item and drink wine then hv to pay 9% GST. Daveteo88 eat cai png get CDC voucher. The 35% say VTO.
Question here is the CDC can cover the 2% + inflation side effect created anot :(
Rich ppl buy thing via their GST registered company how to tax :(
Tourist can get GST refund hence taxing will be limited :(
Rich ppl very hard to tax but normal folks very easy :(

That’s why sinkieland is high daft society they believe everything ppl tell them :(

daveteo88

Question here is the CDC can cover the 2% + inflation side effect created anot :(
Rich ppl buy thing via their GST registered company how to tax :(
Tourist can get GST refund hence taxing will be limited :(
Rich ppl very hard to tax but normal folks very easy :(

That’s why sinkieland is high daft society they believe everything ppl tell them :(
You boomer recently got $800 hard cash so fast forget already? :(

transac

Gini coefficient, Monopoly, Wealth inquality, Market failure, free market is not Pareto efficient, public goods, antitrust laws, etc. It aren't a fair game.

think_too_much

TS assumes the world is a fair and true Market of productivity vs rewards. That's not the reality.

Billionaires don't have to give back. True.
But if you think they didn't earn disproportionately high rewards due to their unique positions. Then you must be kidding yourself.
What are you going to do about them earning "disproportionately high rewards due to their unique positions"?

think_too_much

I will find it weird to have this conversation with my mother in law :s13:

Like just watch the taiwan drama and don't think so much.
She is eDuCaTeD one leh.

Went to study U at Canada back in the late 70s. Now she is a global affairs expert through watching CNA everyday.

Phen8210

I told my MIL that our operations run 24/7 and that I do not share the same off days as other anymore.

Instead, my off days can be on any two days in the week and that all my public holidays will be converted into off-in-lieu for me to apply after the PH itself.

Then I really don't know what kind of link there is, my MIL went about telling me that all these corporations are run by billionaires and that they get too rich profiteering off others. They should give some of what they earn back to the people.

I replied, "Billionaires create jobs and one of such job is what I'm doing to earn my living."

🤦🤦🤦

because its the only thing they have..

everyone go to them for their money only..

junlove

What are you going to do about them earning "disproportionately high rewards due to their unique positions"?
what can you do? The selfish ones will strives towards being like them and continue to squeeze dry their employees. The selfless ones will strives towards being like them and contribute back to society.

fly1111

You boomer recently got $800 hard cash so fast forget already? :(
I think I paid more than the 800 CDC due to the inflation cause by the GST increase :(
The only benefit I heard after GST increase was a ST article that said civil servant get 15% pay increase :(
I also see news of garhment reduce medical subsidy :(

Emperor_Hippo

🤦🤦🤦
This kind is 贱到骨头里了。

Other ppl's money, on what basis they must share it with others?

daveteo88

I think I paid more than the 800 CDC due to the inflation cause by the GST increase :(
The only benefit I heard after GST increase was a ST article that said civil servant get 15% pay increase :(
I also see news of garhment reduce medical subsidy :(
GST dun cost price increase except for the GST increase. If the thing cost $10, after GST the price is $10.70. If GST become 9% the price is now $10.90.

If the thing increase to more that $10.90 is because greedy sellers try to cheat daft sinkies by bluffing is GST. Sinkies pwn sinkies is not govt fault. If $800 still not enough to cover that extra 2% my advice is you stop eating Michelin lunch and wearing Rolex. We taxpayer dun want our tax monies use to feed your self entitlement where you expect govt to completely cover all 9% and you end up no need to pay a single cent GST.

brandatics

🤦🤦🤦
Your MIL is AOC supporter? She said billionaires don't make billions but they took billions

Shion

Senior Mentor
rich getting richer
poor getting poorer
welcome to the capitalist world

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.