About 80 workers affected by Twelve Cupcakes’ closure; union says sudden notice ‘unacceptable and unfair’

divineone

If govt was serious about employee rights, then just implement into law. What for all these worthless wayang and sharp elbows.

uselessbum

The pertinent point is whether those workers and their union had a collective bargaining agreement with the company. Based on what MOM says, it seems like if the workers are not part of a collective bargaining agreement negotiated via the union, then no notice needs to be given to the union.

https://www.mom.gov.sg/faq/retrench...should-it-give-the-union-and-affected-workers

The company should contact the union as soon as the retrenchment date has been decided, and no later than the notice period specified in the collective agreement with the union.

Notice to union aside, the company should at least serve the notice period as stated in the contract with the employee. It's not clear whether the company is still paying them for the notice period (but no need go work) or in lieu of the notice period.

:(

dezzo69

got one famous ex-employee who was at the Parkway branch . Famous for his insta cooking videos . His s-pass didn't get approved a few months ago, so he went back India to start a dry food distribution business, doing pretty well.

he made enough money in sg for capital to start business back home.

pwongkk

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/sin...-workers-affected-sudden-notice-union-5434856

"The union strongly objects to the business owner’s complete lack of prior consultation and advance notice of their decision," said FDAWA, adding that despite being a unionised company, the business owner did not engage the union early to discuss alternatives or support measures for its workers.

Means wat? Nowadays must tell union my biz failing. U arrange new jobs for my current employees now?
See what ncm will do.

Joseph12

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/sin...-workers-affected-sudden-notice-union-5434856

"The union strongly objects to the business owner’s complete lack of prior consultation and advance notice of their decision," said FDAWA, adding that despite being a unionised company, the business owner did not engage the union early to discuss alternatives or support measures for its workers.

Means wat? Nowadays must tell union my biz failing. U arrange new jobs for my current employees now?
Ha

Going bust already still must think so much for others

fortunehunter

Blacklist the business owner.

Ban him/her from
- stepping into Fairprice supermarket,
- buying any insurance policies from Income
- engaging e2i to help hire staff

Ntuc? Don't think they are in Singapore.

The current owner of Twelve Cupcakes is the India-based Dhunseri Group,

TrueB1ue

The union very funny say unhappy that the company never inform them and close down.

If people close down mean no business and own people alot of money lah. If they inform you you want them to carry on and own even more money? Inform you already, you will help them is it?
Rubbish leh....

pwongkk

Cannot like that lah, please!
Now COL so damn bloody high still exposed their workers to such distress
If the worKers are pure sinkies, they need help. MOM should not issue or renew the work passes of economic refugees in this industry. For every 1 sinkie retrenched, MOM have to reduce 300 applications.

If the workers are economic refugees, just send them back their motherland. Sg should not be solving the unemployment problems of other countries at sinkies expense.

daylight

ppl run business until no more $$$ need to close shop.
gone case like that how to be acceptable to union i fail to understand

jericho75

Blacklist the business owner.

Ban him/her from
- stepping into Fairprice supermarket,
- buying any insurance policies from Income
- engaging e2i to help hire staff

Tell the business owner no jab no kopitiam footcourt

daylight

so companies must inform mr NTUC first next time they going out of business and need to retrench all the staff

Wu-Han Clan

lmaooo.... i dont want to be zek ah... bt after the first owners sold the business.. the crowd oso died... last time ppl still buy 12 cupcakes for parties leh... nw who buy sia...

if you working such fnb job is like front office one... you see the cashier hw bz can agar agar tell if your company can tong or nt... walaueh still stay and then say sudden notice nt fair... wapiangs clouds turn grey liao still dont bring umbrella????

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.