The Independent SG - Happiness over hustle: Man says he’s content with S$3K job because ‘it’s not stressful and my hours are chill’

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

Roughice

Dunno why some of you all scolding him for?
He is working and earning money and living a good life. Never rob never steal and don't owe people. He is satisfied with it and it is enough.

Why need to chiong more buy this house that house get married and get himself into debt, trouble or some sheet? All these are traps.

Why need to put all these expectations on him when this is not what he wants in life? Not every one need to follow the same path.
This shows that EDMWers are typical Singaporeans, want to keep up with the Joneses and allow lifestyle inflation to set into their lives

Then kpkb when their income is disrupted due to retrenchment, or end up being enslaved to their high pay high stress jobs due to having to service debt

That's why they jealous of people who are debt free while being able to stay in a low stress job

focus1974

This is the wrong mindset.

When young before 40 years old, you should be fighting for every promotion and pay rise to collect as much money as you can while you are in your productive and desirable years.

after 40yrs old, you then have permission to lie flat if your HDB is already paid.

The option opens up ... Rent out HDB ..and go travel overseas .... or live in JB.. up to you

come back singapore one week or few days.. go stay with your parents..

standarture

Later i always laugh because all these type of people always assume they healthy all the way till 70-80yo. Once you kenna health issue at 30-40, nobody wanna employ you.

Anyway earn 10kpm, zhuo bo lagi better.

coyote

When young before 40 years old, you should be fighting for every promotion and pay rise to collect as much money as you can while you are in your productive and desirable years.

after 40yrs old, you then have permission to lie flat if your HDB is already paid.

The option opens up ... Rent out HDB ..and go travel overseas .... or live in JB.. up to you

Exactly. This kind of news is really rubbish and teaching the young people the wrong values and ideology...

N4E.SI

Actually I am like this guy too when I was young.

In my 20 & 30s I was contended to stay in a chill job & earn $3k per mth for many yrs.

But when I got older, I realized the sharp spike in inflation and the need to save up for retirement. So now I am working extremely hard, trying to progress in my career. Unfortunately my best days seem to be over. But still I am trying my best to work for as long as possible and make some advancements so that my salary will increase.

Sometimes life is like that. When young time didn't realized the urgency of things until grow old and then regret :frown:

Wu-Han Clan

Young ok. When older, need alot more to cover expenses. Got kids, no way to just chill
with this kind of attitude i dont think he will get a gf... lmaooo... i think he will be happy with $3k forever

JonWeak

Simi job de? Doing retail/FnB?

So long as no family can le

XiaoJinLing

Last time my father sole bread winner earned much way lesser than him... still can 养老婆,养三个孩子。last time rent house then got a 4 rm later paid finished luao... now still got savings... that time 2 of us no jobs still can comfortably live off him... now we earn more but like dun get to keep...

Dunno what's happening lor

CHINAUSA

Last time my father sole bread winner earned much way lesser than him... still can 养老婆,养三个孩子。last time rent house then got a 4 rm later paid finished luao... now still got savings... that time 2 of us no jobs still can comfortably live off him... now we earn more but like dun get to keep...

let's not keep harping about the past, police wears shorts will never come back era..

look forward to 5G ,6G ,7G etc

Mzeria

At least he work leh, some ppl see 9-5, in their own mind like , nah waste of time and life

Tortoise79

“My boss is also chill. Work hours are 9 to 5, Monday to Friday, including a 1-hour lunch break, so it’s a 7-hour workday. Leaving 5 to 10 minutes early or arriving 5 to 10 minutes late is fine with the boss. Overtime is rarely needed, and while there is no OT pay, this boss allows time-off claims.”

Hmmm, I think this is quite common for people who are earning 5- 6k per month and have little desire to climb the corporate ladder too. Meaning he is enjoying what others are enjoying, but at half their income. :oops:

runny yolk

Last time people struggle for a lot of things, how many kids share 1 meal? Or parents go hungry just so their children can eat?

toolbox03

So many comments doubting his ability to buy an HDB flat, a 2-room BTO costs only around $30,000 after grants.

Introverts aren’t necessarily suited for marriage or raising kids, gaming is simply their preferred lifestyle.
Provided chiu tio good queue number, the competition for 2 room bto is intense, still need to fight with married couples and boomers

otherwise stay with parents until they uplorry then inherit provided no siblings fight with you for the house

else you might be homeless in your old age

Visor9999

Dunno why some of you all scolding him for?
He is working and earning money and living a good life. Never rob never steal and don't owe people. He is satisfied with it and it is enough.

Why need to chiong more buy this house that house get married and get himself into debt, trouble or some sheet? All these are traps.

Why need to put all these expectations on him when this is not what he wants in life? Not every one need to follow the same path.

This is sg, when he is young, he should try to earn more and invest more now. If not next time he will have to keep working way past retirement age. Trading a relax lifestyle of low pay for extreme future losses is not a good deal for youngsters. Sg education fail to teach this lesson to them early

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.