anyone been to taiwan recently

Mephist0pheLes

do u notice there are alot more south east asians working there?

just had a trip there and came across lots of ppl speaking SEA languages, and they dont look like tourists. the hotel i stayed at taipei at least half the employees are foreigners.

they having some new migration/foreign worker policies?

Redberries

just had a trip there and came across lots of ppl speaking SEA languages, and they dont look like tourists. the hotel i stayed at taipei at least half the employees are foreigners.

The science park there alot of factories ma..Tech industry

Hires alot of factory workers...

amazingone

Yes there's a surge of SEA foreign workers in Taiwan after 2020. If you go to Taoyuan and Miaoli, there's even more of them too. Many are Indonesians and Vietnamese.

Acetone

Every country also have lah… these days even China also have liao… albeit not as jialat as SG.

lifezard

Its not a new phenomenon. Depending on where you go, some areas especially those near factories you will find a lot of southeast asians, more than locals. They have their version of lucky plaza and golden mile too.

I have a taiwanese journalist friend who told me some of them actually went up the mountains to stay illegally there. A few even started family and have kids.

lampano

recently no,
but one thing for sure is, even 10years no go, the place is exactly the same

Dilemma6

it has been like this for a while already, same as SG
No one wanna work those labour intensive jobs, then bring in SEA workers

Mostly is vietnamese

Mephist0pheLes

it has been like this for a while already, same as SG
No one wanna work those labour intensive jobs, then bring in SEA workers

Mostly is vietnamese
i went in 2023 and i swear it wasnt that noticeable. this time is really super obvious and they are like everywhere.

franky

They hired Viets as elder care taker and some stayed on. Taiwanese also open up lots of factories in Vietnam so their managers also marry and bring back.

Mebeater

Check out the underground shopping street of Taipei Station.

titusilvering

Their factory hire a lot asean people both male and female.

Their ktv worst. Have many except atb.

Last time our factory no more sinkies want work we hire jhkb then atb then pino. For them is cannot hire atb mah so they go for siambus etc

coldish

Pinoys, Vietnam n Burmese
Could be their 原住民 also

North Tree

Meanwhile, the Taiwanese come here to work in restaurants...

See the food chain here? (sorry pun intended)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.