Anyone here do cash top-up CPF?

Lao_Tiko

Balance over the 400k in SRS?
Buy an annuity which will pay till your 80s (if not uplorry).
Supplement CPF Life payouts.
If one's objective is guaranteed annuity payments, the order would be to:
(1) Withdraw $40k or equivalent from year 1 to 9.
(2) Use the 10th year balance minus $40k to buy a qualifying annuity before the SRS account is closed
(3) Use the liquidated money from year 1 to 9 to buy annuities outside the SRS wrapper after topping up CPF Life to 4x BRS

That way you will be annuity "heavy". CPF Life funded to 4x BRS levels plus more private annuities.

jywy2005

If you have topped up to ERS to max for the prevailing year, the interest earned at the beginning of the following year, will result in hitting the prevailing ERS for that year. Is this correct or the interest is excluded in the computation,?

weng0202

If you have topped up to ERS to max for the prevailing year, the interest earned at the beginning of the following year, will result in hitting the prevailing ERS for that year. Is this correct or the interest is excluded in the computation,?
Apparently it is not included but not sure how it works.

WWH123

ERS Amount (2026): $440,800 (up from $426,000 in 2025).
Simple interest on 426k at 4% is 17k.
More than 440k.
But CPF would not stop you from topping up more.
It might go to OA.
And anything above 8k would not get more tax relief.
Best time to do top-up is 29-30 of Jan.
Interest is always based on the lowest balance of the month.

Edit (from CPF): If you have already hit the ERS in 2025, you can top up an additional $14,800 in 2026 to reach the new ceiling.

KnyghtRyder

Supposedly excluded but I've not reached that age yet. Can't verify personally.

inmyopinion

Not included. You can top up to next year's prevailing ERS $440,800

TVaddict

I do cash top up to my SA almost every month. These are from my side gig incomes which I divided into 25% SA top up, 25% discretionary spending and 50% investments.

Moving forward this ratio might change as I have maxed out my SA.

fandango

I do cash top up to my SA almost every month. These are from my side gig incomes which I divided into 25% SA top up, 25% discretionary spending and 50% investments.

Moving forward this ratio might change as I have maxed out my SA.
How much in your SA now?

GuiGuZi

FYI for those are interested.
Cpf interest is calculated every month base on the lowest value in the month.
Cpf interest is added yearly
Cpf interest is compounded yearly
When I bought my resale, they deduct on the last day of the month, so interest for that month gone, and at the same time hdb loan interest already started calculating for that month…. Don’t know purposely or not.

blankies

When I bought my resale, they deduct on the last day of the month, so interest for that month gone, and at the same time hdb loan interest already started calculating for that month…. Don’t know purposely or not.
Prob not. Big money to us. Peanuts to them.

compro_1975

of cos la, a cent is a cent to them that can buy a mountain of gold... else why not give us daily interest like the banks

compro_1975

ERS Amount (2026): $440,800 (up from $426,000 in 2025).
Simple interest on 426k at 4% is 17k.
More than 440k.
But CPF would not stop you from topping up more.
It might go to OA.
And anything above 8k would not get more tax relief.
Best time to do top-up is 29-30 of Jan.
Interest is always based on the lowest balance of the month.

Edit (from CPF): If you have already hit the ERS in 2025, you can top up an additional $14,800 in 2026 to reach the new ceiling.
how so? the system dun allow topup once frs is met liao ma isnt it?

compro_1975

FYI for those are interested.
Cpf interest is calculated every month base on the lowest value in the month.
Cpf interest is added yearly
Cpf interest is compounded yearly
i wonder right, my monthly CFP contribution usually come in about 3pm on the 1st day of the month if it is on a weekday. as such, it will take the end day balance or the amount before the contribution as the lowest value?

blankies

i wonder right, my monthly CFP contribution usually come in about 3pm on the 1st day of the month if it is on a weekday. as such, it will take the end day balance or the amount before the contribution as the lowest value?
My dollar is that the board will take the conservative approach. Start of month 0001 value or any other lower value..

Run it like a biz....

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.