Amoy Street de fish soup jin ho jiak~

keewee0415

You go tell the auntie she humji see what happen.:crazy:
Maybe better than you tell her that you did not patronise her stall the day before because you kena jio-ed by your corlicks to go piao ji...

Spectre007

the cameraman sibeh cok man, tiao ti walk those tight tight spaces to hip video. :s34:

justln

I think Han Kee, Mr Batang and Piao Ji are the gold standard for fish soup in Singapore. Tried other hawker center fish soup, all lose to Amoy.

The queue might look long but it moves quite fast. Auntie got amazing memory, can remember all the orders she takes without writing down. Just remember to bring cash cause they don't accept digital payments. :s22:

RSKeisuke

i suppose this is taken on 2nd friday?
probably many still on leave and not back at work, exacerbating the regular lunch hour queue situation

justln

The auntie still same one anot!?
Same pattern lo, super savage.

Google review:
I have been eating from this stall for at least 5 years. Over the years whenever I hear people complaining about their attitude, I always help them to explain - they are kind at heart, only easy to get annoyed, too eager to move the Q quickly etc. I have always smiled at them, made my orders quick and listened to them when they make their occasional nagging of other customers. However, that will be history, after what happened during my last week's visit.

When I was at the front of the Q, I swear only half of my foot was beyond the red line. And when I noticed 1 of the ladies seemingly wanting to walk towards the table beside me, I immediately moved back (she hasn't even moved from her spot). However, the other lady preparing my food turned around (she had her back facing us all these while), and asked if I watched Chinese drama, to which I answered no. Then she added " when she watches chinese dramas, there's this phrase that they use -好狗不档道 (good dog doesn't block the way)".

I will leave it to you to interpret this incident. I have interpreted it as she calling me or her other customers "dogs". I think other hawker owners have worked equally hard (if not harder, since they do not have a long Q of customers), maintained their service attitude and are more deserving of my spending. Their fish soup is really nice and most value for money in Singapore, but I'm sorry I will not be returning.

I suggest to try the Steam fish bee hoon with blue signboard right opposite, or Mr. Batang Fish @96 about 3 rows to the middle instead. No anger and grievances will be added to our food :)

Dear ladies of Han Kee, if you are reading this, I think you have rights to get frustrated or annoyed everyday, but u cant simply call ur customers dogs.

deathan9el

Honorary Mentor
wow
seriously?!

almost everyone having the same crave? :s22:
snaking Q until likdat
me dun even have such patience, tbh

then the last one in the Q, is he/she still there now?

:spin:

standarture

You can easily find equal or better fish soup elsewhere. The fun part about SG is all the recipes are very similar one. Most of them know each other or worked together at one point. You think all these hawkers so clever develop their own recipes ah? Some stalls got more kickass sambal chilli. If the fish soup is too tasty means too much salt or soya sauce.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.