Hi! Seeking some perspectives on my "exit plan." Just got retrenched from a middle-mgmt role (9k/m). Given a 10-month notice, so I’m out by Q4 2026. I intend to stop formal work to focus on volunteer work (zero income) and Buddhist studies.
Profile: 46F, single, no dependents
Expenses: ~4K/month (includes 1K living expenses, 1.6k mortgage, 500 to mum (she’s financially-independent), 900 donations)
Assets:
Cash: 150k (UOB One)
IBKR: 2M (Equities heavy)
CPF: OA 33k, SA 263k (FRS reached), MA 79k
CPFIS-OA: 360k
SRS: 500k (Equities heavy: ES3, Amundi funds, Keppel/ SembCorp/ SIA. XIRR ~9%)
Property: 15-yo HDB resale (Own stay with mum & sibling, no intention to monetise). Value ~1.3M.
Liability: Mortgage 305k @ 2% (20 years left).
Q1: SRS withdrawal optimization
I have 16 years until the penalty-free withdrawal age 62.
If I leave the 500k SRS to grow at 7% (rule of 72), it hits ~1.4M by age 62.
Drawing down 150k/year over 10 years at that point would lead to a massive tax bill, even with the 50% tax concession.
Since I’ll have zero earned income from 2027 onwards, does it make sense to start withdrawing 20k pa from age 46? I thought I’d drain the SRS slowly to avoid a 15% tax bracket later.
- Pros: Reduces the principal early to avoid a "tax bomb" at 62. Since I have no income, the 20k is effectively tax-free
- Cons: 5% penalty (1K) per year
I’m an “equities gal” and, coupled with low living expenses, I can accept some volatility. Even if the market drops 40% in my early retirement years, I have a 150K cash buffer that can last me at least 3+ years. I’ve considered moving the SRS to more bonds after 62, but on average it will still grow 5% pa. Also, it feels a bit of a waste to deliberately stunt the portfolio to save on taxes. Not sure if I’m missing some key considerations.
Q2: De-risk from IBKR
2M in a single platform is significant, and I wonder if I should move at least 30% out to FSMOne, POEMS, or one of the other local brokerages. The risks I’m considering include cybersecurity and scams. I’m really not sure whether this is something I should worry about or spend significant effort on.
Q3: Optimising SRS vs CPFIS-OA vs cash – will these points work?
Percentage wise, my portfolio is now 86% equities, 14% CPF and cash.
- I’ll keep the 150K cash in UOB One (1.9% pa) as my life needs cash.
- I intend to keep to a 80/20 portfolio after retirement, with SRS bearing the bond component increase of ~5%.
- I’m not sure if I should gradually sell down the equities in CPFIS-OA to pay my mortgage, or pay by cash (i.e. sell down cash portfolio). The opportunity cost of CPF is risk-free 2.5%, but the cash pot has done better historically due to less restrictions (XIRR: cash 15% vs CPFIS-OA 8%)
Thanks in advance, good Sir