Which card offers the best cash back?

ralfale

I currently have UOB dividend card. Don't think its good. I spent like hell over 10k, divident barely $100 nia.

Any good recommendations? Standchart? Amex?

:s12:

ralfale

I asked Maybank before. No good leh. V limited options ... only certain things like petrol they offer more cashback, but i dun drive :(

I'm looking for something that offers flat rate for cash back ... is there such a card?

epigram

amex gold credit card. 2% cash back on all purchases if you spend more than $10k a year

littleprincey

ralfale said:
I asked Maybank before. No good leh. V limited options ... only certain things like petrol they offer more cashback, but i dun drive :(

I'm looking for something that offers flat rate for cash back ... is there such a card?

SMRT Visa debit

luckyboi

If u spend less -> Posb Everyday Card
If u spend more -> Citibank Dividend Mastercard

ralfale

luckyboi said:
If u spend less -> Posb Everyday Card
If u spend more -> Citibank Dividend Mastercard

I have both! Dividend have varying cashback % for different items. Same as posb card.
So got to be careful what you use the card for.
Any better cards? Amex only gold card allows 2% flat? How about their other cards?

applefreak

i check liao, amex gold not flat 2%
it's staggered i.e. $1-$5k spending at 0.5%, $5,001 to $10k at 1% and anything above at 2%
and the cashback is given to you two months after the year is over
i presume that's to prevent pple from cancelling the card when subscription fees are charged :(

ralfale

applefreak said:
i check liao, amex gold not flat 2%
it's staggered i.e. $1-$5k spending at 0.5%, $5,001 to $10k at 1% and anything above at 2%
and the cashback is given to you two months after the year is over
i presume that's to prevent pple from cancelling the card when subscription fees are charged :(

Hmm .. sian liao lor ...
Like that im sure AMEX wont waive the annual fees. They pride themselves as one of those more prestigious card, wont allow waiver so easily one.

applefreak

guess one card is the best if your credit card spending hovers around slightly-more-than-$800 every month
but not so easy esp when certain promotions requires you to use another bank's card :(

tellim

POSB Everyday
- Cash rebate to offset your bill. Can be use in Watson, SPC and others
- 5 yrs fee waiver
- 0.3% cash rebate for non-participating merchants.
- no expiry to redeem rebates.

Citibank Divdends
- Gives u back cash in cheque when reach $50 bucks.
- 1 yr expiry for cash back.
- 3 yrs fee waiver
- Up to 5% cash back.

Since u hardly use and spend, POSB Everyday will be good for you.

ironman4672

tellim said:
POSB Everyday
- Cash rebate to offset your bill. Can be use in Watson, SPC and others
- 5 yrs fee waiver
- 0.3% cash rebate for non-participating merchants.
- no expiry to redeem rebates.

Citibank Divdends
- Gives u back cash in cheque when reach $50 bucks.
- 1 yr expiry for cash back.
- 3 yrs fee waiver
- Up to 5% cash back.

Since u hardly use and spend, POSB Everyday will be good for you.
this is definitely 100% true, becos it is not easy to earn $50 bucks rebates, u need to spend few thousands to get it....

Isomatrix

To me, i will do my homework first before i need to do a purchase, and each bank has it's own good deal la....
For Carrefour, posb is the best as it has 5%.
For Guardian & GNC and some big chain market in Malaysia, Maybank has 5%.
If u not only into Cash, this DBS capitalcard also offer good rebates but in Capital$, like GNC, they have 10% capital$ rebates.
For those point systems, if u do the math, u will notice actually $5 = 1pt is like 0.5% cash exchange where Amex 2pts is close to 1% cash exchange, it just that u have to accumulate more lo.
Dun forget UOB also got UOB smart$ also, that is in other cash form.
So as you see, 0.3% cash rebate is too stingy le, i will use amex to get point instead.

Isomatrix

Oh ya.... rebate is one thing.... I will certainly look for card discount first then rebate....

ironman4672

Isomatrix said:
Oh ya.... rebate is one thing.... I will certainly look for card discount first then rebate....
no matter pt or rebates, the main thing is u must spend a lot to earn "decent" rebates or rewards(for pts) in the end....

yup i would think instant discounts for card is more practical...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.